We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“manage expectation, you paid what you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
340 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“manage expectation, you paid what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

this is an ok hotel, not much when comparing to the jaw dropping luxury hotel next door. however, you paid what you get. the room was spacious and you are more likely to get a free upgrade if you are white, blonde with blue eyes. the overall room needs some maintainence, all a bit tatty, wifi is available at a cost; bed was comfy, tv channels were sufficient; towels were a bit grey and stiffy; good supply of free bottled water in room; food was good in restaurant and service was very attentive, although the sign to restaurant was not obvious and there were only a few tables in a bare room; breakfast was basic but ok. the air condition was not working in one room and took hours of waiting and still did not fix, took some complaint to get a room change.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    95
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
99
64
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

What you need in a hot city like jaipur is someplace like this... lush green gardens, excellent food, huge rooms, quick in room dining and the best part is the price you pay for it.

Also it has a small swimming pool surrounded by garden full of peacocks... I just loved it.

Looking forward to stay again...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Akarshan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stay in the hotel last year b'cos of a conference there. This time too it was the same reason. I expected a change since the last time I wrote a review. But alas.. I was wrong..
This hotel is a black spot on TAJ. I fail to understand why this hotel is so bad.
Check in was smooth. Even though the check in was at 2pm they accomodated me at 11.30. But that is very the goodness ends.
My room was next to the reception Room 405. I wanted to draw the curtain but I couldn't as the clips were broken and the curtain were not moving. Housekeeping person came but couldn't do it so he had to get a ladder to do it therefore once the curtains were drawn they stayed drawn. The bed was comfortable. The sofas where run down. There was water leakage on the wall on the bathroom side.
No water was kept in the room. No coffee packets (only tea).
The bathroom was under stocked. The commode seat cover was smaller than the commode. The jet attached to the commode was short too.. the water kept clogging and hot water runs out fast
The breakfast was bad. Only 2 fruits, bread, 3 cereals, and then was told i could get paratha or dosa or eggs.Tea was okay and paratha was horrible in taste.
Check out was smooth.
I would never stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dharmesh0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

best property in terms of grand feeling, services and price. extremely spacious bedrooms with all basic amenities makes it worth staying.
only drawback was water logging in bathroom in shower area, but we didnt even complain for it, so no regrets. breakfast was not delicious.
staff- extremely courteous, willing to help in every manner they can. we had a rambagh palace tour which is adjacent to the hotel and their is a gate connecting to rambagh. all in all a very nice experience. worth staying

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparshg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was the second time i stayed in the Sms and what i like is the big spasious rooms and its good location next to the Rambagh Palace hotel. The staff was very friendly and i think it was good value for money. It could be nice if they could make the Wi fi free

Room Tip: They are quite similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Travelled to the SMS hotel in November 2013. I suggest that its value for money in the off season since the rates are really cheap. They have good rooms, but nothing much to do beyond a small pool ....Its a nice place to stay, but not the sorts where you can vegetate in the resort.
There were some billing issues as well; & this hotel is completely over shadowed by the Rambagh Palace. The pluses are very centrally located, entry into the Rambagh Palace which otherwise is not allowed. So if you intend to sight see a lot & spend about 4-5 hours in the hotel then go for it!
Should try the papad ki sabzi..it was awesome! N so was the lal maas:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkanchan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Upon arrival, at what is clearly a back entrance, low spec reception, told that there was no bar, no lounge of any sort, breakfast room, was cold & uninviting, room was Ok but nothing special wash basin had abasent drain plug ( this we found out to be quite common in Indian- must advise folks to carry a univerasal waste plug ), this is more like a motel than a hotel, would not stay here by choice

Room Tip: Carry a universal waste plug for the wash basins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
18.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
1.9 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lalit Jaipur
The Lalit Jaipur
#40 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Property: Taj SMS Hotel
Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing