We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great!”
Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Travelled to the SMS hotel in November 2013. I suggest that its value for money in the off season since the rates are really cheap. They have good rooms, but nothing much to do beyond a small pool ....Its a nice place to stay, but not the sorts where you can vegetate in the resort.
There were some billing issues as well; & this hotel is completely over shadowed by the Rambagh Palace. The pluses are very centrally located, entry into the Rambagh Palace which otherwise is not allowed. So if you intend to sight see a lot & spend about 4-5 hours in the hotel then go for it!
Should try the papad ki sabzi..it was awesome! N so was the lal maas:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkanchan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Taj SMS Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 332 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Upon arrival, at what is clearly a back entrance, low spec reception, told that there was no bar, no lounge of any sort, breakfast room, was cold & uninviting, room was Ok but nothing special wash basin had abasent drain plug ( this we found out to be quite common in Indian- must advise folks to carry a univerasal waste plug ), this is more like a motel than a hotel, would not stay here by choice

Room Tip: Carry a universal waste plug for the wash basins
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We last came to this place on 4th October 2012 . Then itself we felt we would come again. And we did it. Actually its so different from others because you get the royal touch from the word go. The Hotel staff are almost all from the Royal days . They served the royals and carry the same flavor. The front office gentleman revealed while checking out hesitatingly .. he remembered our last visit and a small story-telling session we had with him about the royal family . Please try this place . It is a part of earlier Royal Guest House . Excellent surroundings, away from the madding crowd. Just right food, excellent service. And ... very competitive tariff.

Room Tip: Just any room.. you won't regret
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SantanuB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great place, large rooms, just next to the ragbag palace.had a walk,to the ragbag palace, the gates were opened for me, had a small walk through the gardens...wow, so many peacoks , first time a saw a peacock dancing.there were around 50 peacoks.this place is good for a rest.

Room Tip: Good place,stay here if you want to go into ragbag palace.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haryasees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here on a family trip. Hotel rooms are nice and absolutely Taj standard. Property is decent but it is overshadowed by Ramgarh Palace. Staff and service is not in line with the regular Taj property. Food options are limited but its tasty thanks to an enterprising chef. Staff at the reception were inefficient and took 30 minutes to settle my bill.If shopping and sightseeing is in your plans then it is not a bad option but if you are looking for a good property to just relax and enjoy, then this may not meet expectations you would have from Taj.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celebrate-Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is an annexe to the main Taj hotel (Rambagh Palace) in Jaipur. It also inherits the opulence and grandeur of Taj. Rooms are large and beautifully done. It also has large convention centers. Though its in the heart of city, the inside is quite silent and pristine. The only downside is that it has very few rooms.

Room Tip: Garden Facing
Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Aksmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. This is the annexe to the main hotel and it showed As we walked through the main hotel on the way to the Steam Room Restaurant, we could see how splendid it was. Back in the annexe, despite the welcome with marigold garlands, the rooms while comfortable, desperately needed refurbishment. There was plaster coming of the walls and a general air of neglect. Again there was no free wifi! How can supposedly upmarket hotels justify this?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
1.9 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 383 in Jaipur
1,729 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 383 in Jaipur
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#18 of 383 in Jaipur
2,922 reviews
2.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#17 of 383 in Jaipur
3,679 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range: $76 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing