We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look behind the scenes”
Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #16 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Flitwick
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Look behind the scenes”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. This is the annexe to the main hotel and it showed As we walked through the main hotel on the way to the Steam Room Restaurant, we could see how splendid it was. Back in the annexe, despite the welcome with marigold garlands, the rooms while comfortable, desperately needed refurbishment. There was plaster coming of the walls and a general air of neglect. Again there was no free wifi! How can supposedly upmarket hotels justify this?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    31
    16
    2
See reviews for
115
72
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEWDELHI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Recommended for opting for 2 nts package from Taj website as family getaway.Everything nice and suitable.Most suitable for people travelling via or from Delhi by Volvo bus walking distance from Narayan Singh Crossing,which has Volvo bus booking office by RSRTC a govt. of Rajasthan entity.Volvo buses operate between Delhi and Jaipur every 30 minutes.
About hotel no complains.Warm welcome with folded hands and sweet words of NAMASKAR in traditional Rajasthani style.Reception staff was busy with other clients,hence handed over room keys without any hitch and came to our room to complete check-in formalities.Nice gesture !!!!!
Excellent big room,bathroom and toiletries ,plenty of day light,nice and sumptuous breakfast and excellent and friendly staff prepares main course on your arrival only so that you get hot food without expecting nay tips.Overall good experience and strongly recommended as family getaway with 2 nts package.

Room Tip: Opt for left side room which faces greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIRENDRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it really comfortable. Very nice welcome with a marigold garlands. The room was very big and had all of the facilities we needed. We didn't get to eat in the restaurant at dinner time but breakfast was good - plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burghheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was planning to book for Jai Mahal Palace while on a weekend trip with my family as I had stayed there before. Unfortunately the rooms available at the time were a bit costly and i started looking for other Hotels. Saw this property on the Taj Website and initially i was a little skeptical. There isn't much details or pictures on the web. We got a good deal for 2 rooms and we booked.

When we reached the hotel, i was amazed. It is in the heart of the city, within the Rambagh complex and excellently maintained. The staff was good and overall hospitality was as per the Taj standard. Rooms that we got were not in the main block and were towards the the Main Rambagh Hotel. We only had breakfast from the hotel and it was wonderful. The staff at the restaurant was very helpful and really cater to your requests.

Overall a small hotel (as compared to other Taj Hotels) but still a decent choice.

Room Tip: When you stay here please do not compare with the main property (Taj Rambagh) its has a different l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Excellent service by all the staff from reception and room service. House keeping was a slight disappontment as they had to be reminded to clean the rooms and change towels. Restaurant food was excellent and highly recomended.Restaurant staff were also friendly and made no mistakes. Rooms and bathroom were clean and well equiped. WI-Fi is not available at the hotel even if you are ready to pay for it. Lots of daily needs shops nearby. If you are a pure vegetarian, there is a veg Dhaba 1 minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Aashish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Taj recently - Sept 18th to 21st.
We got an excellent rate as well 1.7k per room for double occupancy per night.

The hotel is basic, there is a small swimming pool, which is the only recreational facility. A decent lawn in the front - it is more a part of the convention centre, a little lawn at the back adjoining the pool which was quite pretty.

It was kind of magical to be greeted by peacocks early in the morning in the hotel. There were plenty of them roaming around.

The room was HUGE, a comfortable double bed, a sofa-cum bed and a work table all fitted comfortable in the room and there was room to spare. Very decent wardrobe and a decent sized bathroom as well.

There was a nice balcony to the room, but it was too warm to be used.

The staff were courteous and did not refuse any request. On the last night we needed to weigh our baggage and they were kind enough to cart our bags to the Rambaug hotel and get them weighed for us.

The location of the hotel is excellent too, if you want to access the market then it is ideal - 3.5 kms from johari bazaar. A local auto charges about fifty bucks to get you there. The hotel were also kind enough to call us an auto from the main road whenever we needed one.

For dinner and breakfast we actually ordered food from a restaurant chain called Kanha, they delivered to the hotel. That worked very well for us. We did not experience the food at the Taj hotel.

Overall I would say this was a very good experience and would definitely recommend this hotel to the budget traveller.

Room Tip: We were in 104 which was big and spacious, the A/c was quite effective too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been visiting this place for years and I had very personalised experience in this guest rooms surrounded by greenery and beautiful and peaceful ambience. You can hear peacocks and quails all day long. Recent addition of the swimming pool is a star in this property. The large room and huge beds have been very comfortable, which has been enjoyed by my four year son. The food is also good specially the 'thali'. This property is excellent for value for money. We love going there often and love to stay in this home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solanmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
1.9 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#5 of 381 in Jaipur
1,698 reviews
2.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 381 in Jaipur
3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 381 in Jaipur
2,853 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 381 in Jaipur
1,817 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Property: Taj SMS Hotel
Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing