We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”
Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #14 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed with family at SMS Hotel for a day on 29th July. Initially, i was hesitant as this was a budget hotel operated by TAJ Group, but its spacious, clean, well located with courteous staff.
The rooms are very spacious and the outdoors are lush green, spotted some peacocks on the lawn as well, Its worth the price.

Room Tip: While booking rooms, opt for complimentary breakfast packages, they have a good breakfast spread.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank G0Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    98
    29
    15
    2
See reviews for
106
71
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I put up at the well located Taj Sawai Man Singh Hotel in Jaipur for the night of the 4th of July, 2013 with two of my friends.

At first it looked like a very shady and one of the cast aside properties of the Taj group, but my perception changed once I entered the big room that awaited us! The room was pretty good in all aspects. It was quite spacious, had a fully operational television and mini bar, a small balcony with just the right garden view. The bathroom too was totally armed.

We had to change our room, done without a hitch by the staff there, after a short while as a very pungent smell of paint was ever-present in there.

The breakfast next day was a la carte as very few guests were persent. It was good enough for us though.

Only minus, no twenty-four hour room service.

Out and out, I'd say that this property is worth every penny that you may have spent on it. It has nice gardens surrounding it and a swimming pool as well which unfortunately I couldn't use because of the shortage of time.

If you are on a business visit to Jaipur or are one of those who just prefer sleeping at the hotel when on a holiday, this pocket friendly hotel should certainly make it your list!

God bless! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PranayBhageria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was fine too.
Most of the bad points centre on the service (or lack of it) in the dining room. It would have got another star if the food had been served quicker and the staff had been a bit friendlier. I gather they had just started with VJV (our tour company) recently, so perhaps the feedback from our group will make them pull their socks up a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This property of Taj Hotels is a great place to stay in. Behind the flagship hotel Rambagh Palace, opposite SMS hoispital, is not advertised or know well. They keep low profile. But the rooms are great, luxurious and comfortable. The small pool and garden is a great pleasure. Lots of birds to see. all in the heart of city. The staff are very courteous, as if you were the Royalty. Food was not great. Stick to India cuisine or better to eat out. Great value for money. Very clean.
The airconditioning was a little noisy.

Room Tip: try taking the pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pankajiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

They call it part of Taj group of hotel but I find it utter lie.. Yes it was built as accommodation for staff members..
Apart from big good rooms there is nothing in this hotel. Very small dirty pool and only 6 sun beds.. There was a group staying there so all sunbeds was occupied.. Even though we asked hotel
Staff if incase they can provide 2 more sunbeds ? We got reply in NO as they only had 6 sunbeds Which was very strange specially when they call it Taj hotel.. My 2 days stay in Jaipur was spoiled.. Very strange management .. I can only say it is advisable to ignore this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel adjoins the Rambagh palace. It has large and comfortable rooms. The staff is very courteous. I stayed with my family for two nights and it was a thoroughly delightful experience. It is not very expensive. The food options are a bit limited though.

Room Tip: Do not select annex rooms. Rooms overlooking the garden and the pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here in May for 2 nights on business.
Very little information is given on check in and there is very little information provided in the room.
I had room 417 which has a beautiful view over the gardens but only had single beds. The bed was very uncomfortable. The air conditioning was very noisy. The mini bar was poorly stocked. The room was overall a little grubby, there was a pile of dead ants in the corner which never got cleaned up while I was there.
The bathroom was tired and shabby although the water pressure in the shower was very good. I had a leaking ceiling which meant that there was dripping water on the floor, towels and toilet. This was however fixed after I mentioned it to the reception staff.
The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, with a limited selection most of which looked unappealing, however the breakfast staff were very nice and friendly.
The pool area and gardens are lovely and peaceful although once again the pool seemed dirty and the lounger cushions were tatty and not too clean.
The hotel has wifi at a cost of 670 rupees per day and which functions OK.
All in all this hotel is no more than a 3* at best and not really suited to the business traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens have a great view but only single beds. Rooms with double beds have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroCorrespondant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
1.9 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
1.7 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#32 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Property: Taj SMS Hotel
Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing