We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #12 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We went to Jaipur in May 2011 with Family and stayed at SMS Hotel, which is a Taj Group Property. It was a best deal we got and the facilities were amazing. We stayed for 3 Nights and 4 days.
Overall it was a nice experience. We'll definitely come back and stay in SMS for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nehakhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 353 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

My friends and I stayed at SMS Jaipur recently, and we were very pleased with the location, facility and especially the staff. Munshi Ram and his co-workers were extremely accommodating when we dined, when we requested help with transportation or suggestions as to what to do in Jaipur, and when we wanted to extend our stay on short notice. The room was very clean and beautiful, the beds were comfortable and the food and service were fantastic!

We visited the Rambagh Palace extensively, and unlike previous reviewers, we did not feel like we were treated differently because we were staying at the SMS. We had drinks and appetizers at the Polo Club, took a free ride in the hotel's 1937 Plymouth, and used the services of the on-site travel agent.

We very much enjoyed our stay at SMS Jaipur, and I will definitely stay there again when I return to Jaipur. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEJ980305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The location is the plus - right in the center of the city next to the Rambagh Palace hotel. But this is a very small hotel with hardly any service capability - the restaurant has hardly any food choice and not very good cooking. The rooms are very big but with not very good facilities - stinks a bit as well. Service staff is very few and there is no service available at night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibyanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

So it was a very quick leisure trip over a long weekend I decided to make last minute with some friends from New York. Since my friends were from USA, I thought booking a Taj would make the whole experience comfortable for them at a reasonable budget (I paid Rs 4800 + Taxes per night for a twin sharing room), it was far from a comfortable experience. The hotel looks like a convert of an old time servants quarter the Kings used when they lived at the Rambaug Palace. We reached at 10pm after a long and delayed flight. The hotel staff were mostly trainees not really upto the mark. The rooms were cold (without central heating), there was no hot water for 2 days (we had a bath in cold freezing water) and the resturant is grossly overpriced for the quality of food served. For Rs5k a night, I'm sure there are lot many better hotels and one can easily give this a miss

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anandberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We reached there after our out of the world experience @ Ramgarh lake lodge ,which is also a Taj property.
We had high expectations from this hotel specially after our pleasant stay at Ramgarh lodge ,that was one grand place to stay BUT.....
SMS hotel
This was one of the worst hospitality experiences ever on the day of you anniversary.
The room had absolutely nothing in it to be called a five star property.
The matteresses were pathetic.We all have better mattresses @ our homes
A simple 25 inch old samsung TV was placed.
Bathroom was not great.No mineral water.
The worst part came when were were rudely deined by the guards @ the RAMBAGH palace to even roam around the palace as they said..that guests at SMS are not allowed to even come to the adjoining property.
That was very unpleasant and discriminating...
what is someone wants to go and have a look at the palace,and get something to eat from the restaurant.
What a sham!!
dissapointed.....this is more of a wedding venue with guest houses and deserves to be stripped of its 5 star tag,a 3 star will do.
and yes the silver lining was the guard at the main gate who greeted us with a nice royal namaste every time we passed by

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanjaraFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Reached Jaipur at 7 30 in the morning and to my delight the staff let me check in as soon as I arrived at the hotel. A buisness hotel run by the Taj Group, nothing really fancy but true value for money. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The staff was super efficient but in true Rajasthan tradition went out of the way to make our stay comfortable to a point of making a "customised breakfast" to filling the swimming pool as my daughters wanted to swim. Peacocks running in the garden, the hotel is well located in the buisness district and very accessible. Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merchant1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed at SMS for two nights last year in Oct. The location is nice, right next to Ram Bagh and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was decent and the charges were OK too. Overall, a nice place to stay, if u dont want to be in the heart of the PINK city all the time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varuniaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.9 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 393 in Jaipur
2,068 reviews
2 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 393 in Jaipur
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 393 in Jaipur
1,798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#34 of 393 in Jaipur
1,524 reviews
4.6 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#15 of 393 in Jaipur
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range: $136 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing