We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #69 of 535 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Recommended by a colleague, I made a booking on the phone. The warmth of the staff is unbeatable. spacious, comfortable rooms as well as great food. All for a very reasonable price!

Beyond all my expectations, really enjoyed my stay here. I look fwd to staying here on my next trip to Jaipur.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urvi787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found that the secret of travelling through India is to know some good retreats to be able to escape the chaos every once in a while.
The Generals Retreat is exactly such a place, with nice balconies, a terrace, garden and patio, good food and very friendly staff.


Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TrvlngC and D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were completely taken in with this place and the warmth and hospitality shown by the staff. The meals were excellent and sitting outside in the evening and enjoying the atmosphere of Jaipur was the perfect end to our hectic sightseeing days. The meals were excellent and the staff went out of their way to make sure we got what we wanted. The inn is centrally located and we enjoyed short walking trips to the pink city, Anokhi for shopping and some restaurants. Surendra was more than helpful to arrange out transportation to Pushkar and a taxi back to Delhi via Agra. Can't say enough for his help during our stay there. The rooms are large and comfortable and we will certainly make a return trip to them at some point in the future if Jaipur is included in our trip. Thanks to all for making it a wonderful stay in Jaipur.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderfully warm welcome, and two delicious vegetarian meals. Mrs Singh found us a pleasant and helpful driver who took us wherever we wanted to go in Jaipur. The General's Retreat has charm and individuality, and isn't far from the centre of Jaipur.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was one of our most favorite places to stay in all of India! Very comfortable and clean...and quiet...yet very conveniently located. The decor is charming, the restaurant had delicious food...the owner and staff were so kind and helpful, (thank you Surendra!) We arrived after a harrowing car ride from Delhi; hungry, travel weary and exhausted to this lovely guest house...where they made us a pot of tea and grilled cheese sandwiches, we showered and enjoyed WIFI while we rested. We will be back,
truly a retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Since many years I have staid at this Hotel. It was always comfortable and nice. Bathrooms have improved over the years and are now very good indeed. Service has always been good and friendly. The late owner, Mr. Bist , was a very good host. His daughter, Mrs Ketaki Singh, maintains this standard admirably. It is more like being in a private home than in a hotel .
Mostly I have stayed there alone, but also with my sons. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a friendly and quite place at good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187334Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a few days on our honeymoon in October 2010, and it was a highlight.

We loved the homely atmosphere, and the on-site owner was super-friendly and welcoming. It was lovely to meet his dachshund dog and cat, who lived there too.

The room was comfortable, and well appointed with gorgeous furniture. The garden and grounds were fabulous, and had a Rajasthani Great Gatsby feel. It was nice to get away from the chaos outside by sitting in the garden.

The part we loved most was the upstairs dining area. The interior design was the best we'd seen in India, and beyond. Retro, art deco and so tasteful—there were original oil paintings on the wall, and many photos of the General himself. The furniture was just gorgeous, bright and stylish. We'd recommend this hotel for anyone who appreciates retro design. Very cool. Sweet little balcony on either side that had a great feel and we loved hanging out up there.

The food was delicious and the service staff were very attentive. It had more of a home-stay feel than a hotel. Like we were being welcomed into their lives, while still being given all the privacy we wanted.

We recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
10.4 mi away
Chokhi Dhani Resort
Chokhi Dhani Resort
#50 of 412 in Jaipur
861 reviews
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#41 of 412 in Jaipur
1,559 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#13 of 412 in Jaipur
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 6 in Amer
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#18 of 412 in Jaipur
1,625 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 412 in Jaipur
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $29 - $1,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Generals Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing