We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming introduction to Rajasthan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Generals Retreat
Ranked #54 of 502 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Buntingford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and welcoming introduction to Rajasthan!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After a gruelling 6 hour journey from Delhi to Jaipur, the General's Retreat certainly lived up to it's name!
I stayed three nights, and the General's was a relaxed and comfortable beginning to my stay in India during my gap year. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and made me feel completely at ease despite everything being very new and different. I was given fantastic recommendations for sight-seeing in Jaipur, and met some interesting fellow travellers. I didn't have to lift a finger in arranging any future travel plans; the staff sorted everything out for me. The food was delicious, and of a standard much higher than one might expect from a small guest house.
I just run out of superlatives to describe my stay at the General's Retreat, and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    42
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
30
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I doubt this place is very well known. It is a small old banglow or haveli. Very well kept clean and in the heart of the city. Food is very good and very well served. Quality of food is excellent almost like home made. I would suggest take the corner room with 2 sides open and it is large with lot of natural lights coming in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I felt more at home than I have over the course of several months so far in India. Friendly, peaceful and nearby all the action of jaipur.
I stayed here for a night and felt instantly (within in the first 5 minutes) that i wish I had booked a month... a cozy english-indian fuzion of hospitality.
the food is great and the staff's recommendations for things to do are worth following.
enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHPusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had a very comfortable stay in Generals Retreat. Very clean and bright rooms.This place has beautiful garden and terrac.Staff were professional and friendly.Excellent food .The owners are always available to give guidence for sightseeing,shopping etc.
Excellent place to stay for your holidays.Would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshwari158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is a Jaipur must! As with the first time I stayed here the rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained. More importantly there is a real homely feel to it and yet you can go and do your own thing without being disturbed. The food was as delicious as I remember it, a real authentic taste. I am surprised at the comments by IowaCityGlobeTrotter as other guests I have spokent to both this time and last time have had upmost praise for the hotel. When in Jaipur there is only once place I would want to stay at and that is the Generals Retreat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Councillor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The General's Retreat is a calm and beautiful oasis, set amongst a manicured lawn and pretty garden area.Spacious and comfortable rooms in a villa.Every room has a unique look and there's a nice garden in front of the house. The stuff is super friendly and attentive.They greet you with good food and warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did the Golden Triangle tourist route and booked it with a travel agent. We told our travel agent to book "three to four star hotels" not a "one to two star b and b" which is what we got. We got two rooms, and when we went into one the heater was broken-and it is cold in Jaipur. So we simply told the man at the desk to please put a heater in the room by the time we get back from dinner. Well we come back to find the bell boys and three random kids in the room laughing and talking-not professional at all. Well it took them two hours to tell us that there was something wrong with the outlet. And nobody wanted to sleep in a cold room-so all four of us (me my husband a 13 y.o. and a 10 y.o.) slept in the other room that had one queen sized bed. My 10 yo got up in the middle of the night and said she had to go to the bathroom. Well we ran out of toliet paper, so we called the front desk. Nobody picked up-I mean seriously someone should be at the desk at night. The next morning we went to the breakfast which was a joke-the omlet took the "chef" an hour to make. We were glad to check out the following day. Not a pleasant stay at all.

Room Tip: Here is a tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaCityGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.7 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 381 in Jaipur
3,440 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 381 in Jaipur
1,817 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#39 of 381 in Jaipur
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 4 in Amer
350 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tree House Resort
The Tree House Resort
#6 of 411 in Jaipur
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Property: The Generals Retreat
Address: C Scheme Sardar Patel Marg | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Generals Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing