We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Explorer's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Explorer's Nest
Ranked #54 of 507 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This small family run guesthouse is perfectly located in heart of Jaipur, yet nicely tucked away from the busy streets. Great breakfast and comfy rooms. The owner is very friendly and he went out if his way to help us. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola5064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are extremely thankful for your appretiation of our small humble place. We are so glad that you liked it. We also want you to know that it was a delight to be your host and share all those fantastic travel stories. We wish you all the best and many happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    37
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
50
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of days at this small hotel in Jaipur. Really enjoyed the calm location in a residential neighbourhood but still close to restaurants and old town. It felt like a calm haven in the chaotic Jaipur. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated, especially the big room in the front with door to the terrace.

The owners live in the house which gives it a warm atmosphere. The staff was also very friendly. We felt welcomed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heiduli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We are so very happy that you liked and appreciate our small place. Its very kind of you. It was a great pleasure hosting you both, such fine polished people. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again some day. Wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is a haven in Jaipur. The location can't be beat. Right off MI road and only about a 10-15 min walk to the bazzar's and train station. The manager Arvid is a wonderful host. Our plane arrived very late at night and our pre-paid taxi from the airport refused to take us to the explorers nest and tried to drop us off at his brothers hotel. When we refused he became angry and drove off. Now well past midnight we called Arvid and told him our sitation and he came and picked us up! Free of Charge. We loved this guesthouse so much that we stayed here again on our way back through Jaipur, this time organized a pickup from the train station. The lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy the evening after a day in the markets. We love the Explorers Nest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your so many kind words about our place. It makes us happy and raises our spirits. Its always such a pleasure to host such pleasant people like you. Makes our B&B experience all the more fruitful and fulfilling. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

So happy to find Explorer's Nest reviewed on TripAdvisor and wish to add my bit. Me & my nephew stayed here couple of nites and Mr.Arvind arranged our tour of all the major sites in and around the Pink city.
His wife Shoba was very helpful giving us tips about shopping and we made some good bargains of sarees for our womenfolk back home in Sri Lanka. She was also a mine of information and I had very informative discussions about many subjects. The antique amourry in the house was very impressive. We also had nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asoka_una
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
thank you for all the so very kind worlds about our place. Its always such a satisfying pleasure to know that the guests who selected us as their hosts have gone back with good memories of our place. It also energizes us to go ahead with fresh zeal to welcome our next guest to our B&B. We are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stay at Explores Nest during 6 days in April 2013. We stay in a room with double bed and with bathroom, without air-conditioned but with a silent fan (essential in this time of the year) and pay 650 rupies per night. The initial price was 750 rupies, but as we stay for a long time Mr Arvind make us a discount. It was given sheets, and toilet paper, but no towels.
Mr Arvind, the owner of the house is very gentle and helpful, given us lots of information about the tourist sites around, transportations, prices, etc…
The afternoons spent in the balcony to avoid the heat where really relaxing and the company of Mr Arvind and his wife was very nice.
They serve breakfast and dinner if you order. The food is good but really soft compared the traditional Indian “spicy” style.
The location is good, in a quit street far from the confusion of the MI Road, and a walking distance from the Pink City.
We recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpiedade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Arvin (owner) was a great host. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. He has a great balcony for sitting in the shade and relaxing. Staff is very helpful with service and even running out to get us a few things from the shop. In house food and drink are good value. Had a many good chats with him if you're looking for something a bit more authentic than your normal guesthouse/hostel.

10 minute walk to old city gates so no need for Tuk tuks. Near to many good street food vendors and sit down restaurants if you want to splurge.

Room Tip: He does free pickups from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We didn't check other places. So we have nothing to compare with in Jaipur. But after two months of travels in India we realized that it was overpriced. Real price for this kind of room shall not be over 400Rp. Because room is tiny, cold (at least in february))). It was problem with the shower, the flow was very veak. At least they have a boiler)))

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.4 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 386 in Jaipur
1,881 reviews
1.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,526 reviews
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#39 of 386 in Jaipur
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,881 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 4 in Amer
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer's Nest

Property: Explorer's Nest
Address: 3 Gopinath Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a small bed and breakfast traveler's hostel of 5 rooms for the travelers visiting Jaipur. Our Aim is to provide personalized and homey feel to our services. It is a bed and breakfast set up with the comforts and warmth of a family home, where we sit together, eat, drink and share our travel experiences, discuss the next days program and places to see, laugh and sing and create our bonds for life. We are very centrally located, just between the old Pink City and the main MI Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Explorer's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing