We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunder Palace Guest House
Ranked #13 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautifully furnished hotel with amazing rooms: big, very clean, hot water, comfy bed and efficient AC.
Close to the railway station, 10 min. Tuk-Tuk ride to the pink city.
Staff was very helpful and friendly and can also arrange day trips.
Rooftop restaurant seemed lovely but was empty most of the time. Breakfast was a little bit disappointing.
Recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sway_thunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
There are newer reviews for Sunder Palace Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very close to the bus station & central area, this is wonderful place to stay for its creature comforts & amiability: great roof terrace with cafe / restaurant plus daily English language papers, cosy downstairs lounge/media station with books & magazines topped off with very friendly &helpful management.
So lots of space outside of the very clean well appointed rooms to lounge &plan and meet people both European & Indian. Only drawback was no hot water but with the temp. at 40+ outside the water in the pipes was decebt enough fot reasonable shower &shave.
Decorated in the local style with tasteful pics, it was a pleasure to return after a days touristing. We are here veggie every night.

Room Tip: Get a/c!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed quite a while ago (November 2012) when I was backpacking around India after my A-Levels. This hotel always stands out in my memory as great value but by Indian standards fairly luxurious. Very close (within walking distance) to Jaipur city centre, with an ATM and a few restaurants (KFC included for those that care, and a nice little cake shop) in the near vicinity. The hotel is decorated nicely and the rooms were of a large (more than enough for a solo traveller!). The rooftop terrace is very nice and a lovely place to have breakfast. The staff were helpful and when I stayed there was a lovely english lady living at the Hotel who was great to chat too for advice and directions etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FosterJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Good location. Staff very helpful with planning outings. Nice rooftop restaurant - a little quiet and work being done, but this tends to be the norm for out of season. Nice little alternative restaurant at pearl palace round the corner which is very similar with just as good food but a little livelier. Have been recommending Sunder to fellow travellers and will continue to do so. One tip though- they have a sister hotel in Agra which we went on to stay at - although ok don't except anything as nice as this.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank laj_graffiti_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was just a wonderful stay. All the facilities were available including free wifi and computers. The staff were really friendly and helped us to make us go to right tourist place in Jaipur. The location was good and as we had a car it was not at all hard to find it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a good view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripsAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We walked in and were greeted with smile by the person at the reception and almost immediately walked us to our room as though they were expecting us right then. We went into ground floor room and we wanted a room in the floors above. they gladly obliged and showed us the other rooms. The hotel is very well decorated and lives up to the palace in their name. The room was cosy, nice and the three days we stayed was good.

The Veg restaurant food was not that great. I would recommend only the Indian dishes to try, we tried chinese and did not like it. There are nearby hotels with better restaurants too.

The evening receptionist did not even tell me that the cab has to be paid in cash only, no cards. I had to run to a nearby ATM while settling the bill. I had asked the evening receptionist that we will go to Ajmer and he did not even tell me about the festival there and suggest an alternative day. So I think plan well your stay and travels yourselves and dont be entirely dependent on them.

We ordered cabs from the hotel through their tie up and the drivers are very learned and are a guide themselves. However, the first day we had a good guy who explained a lot and also suggested how we should cover all the places we wanted to. The second and third day we got a different guy who was discouraging us to do things a little more than i would have liked. What amazed me was that the guy was more troubled by the heat than us, we were the tourists and he kept ranting about it.

As a hotel for stay and proximity to the city, this is definitely where you can stay on a holiday to Jaipur.

Room Tip: At the Restaurant try only Indian food and if possible try the nearby ones.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irihal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel twice in the past but feel there is sufficient change in the last two years to warrant a further review. The reception area and downstairs have been much improved and our room on the second floor was even better than I remember it and had the addition of a large flat screen television. The service was, as always, first class and rail tickets and travel arrangements competently handled. The owners really care about the guests experience. Finally this guest house is tremendous value for money, we have paid three times this price for far worse rooms in India.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#26 of 383 in Jaipur
2,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 383 in Jaipur
984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#8 of 383 in Jaipur
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sarang Palace
Hotel Sarang Palace
#19 of 383 in Jaipur
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#23 of 383 in Jaipur
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunder Palace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunder Palace Guest House

Address: 46 Sunder Palace Guest House Sunder Palace Guest House Ajmer Road Sanjay Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#56 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $11 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunder Palace Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very centrally located. The rooms are spacious and clean. Run by a family providing all the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunder Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunder Palace Guest House Hotel Jaipur
Sunder Palace Hotel
Sunder Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing