We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place of Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunder Palace Guest House
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

One of the best hotel stay in India. Clean and welcoming and good hospitality...Reasonablly cheap because may be due to off season. My room was quiet big and clean ,AC was very good. Staff Mr.sunder at the reception were most helpful. lunch at Roof terrace gives a good feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANILJHA3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
There are newer reviews for Sunder Palace Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

It has been the best hotel of my stay in India. Clean and welcoming...and it was even cheap because of the season. My room was big and clean with working ventilation and a/c. AND QUIET. Staff at the reception were most helpful. Roof terrasse very nice.

The highlight for me was the feeling I could trust the management not to be charged extra items and I could receive appropriate advice on how not to be tricked (once again) by the local drivers, shopkeepers etc.

I will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cloe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Sunder Palace is a wonderful place in Jaipur with an excelent staff, rooms and areas to eat and relax.
Seriously, the food was EXTREMELY good, we even went every day with a cap from wherever we were just to eat there.
One of the best hostels by far I've seen in the whole India!!!

The downside is that is pretty far from the nice places to visit in jaipur, but the trafic in Jaipur is not as bad as in other cities and you can get there more or lest fast with a rickshaw

Room Tip: Book in Advance!!!!! I will get full very fast for sure!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belen_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We loved our stay in the Sunder Palace in Jaipur. The rooms were large, clean and very cheap (we paid 900 rupees a night, some rooms were considerably less, and others were a fair bit more); the rooftop restaurant was very atmospheric and good value; the staff were exceptionally helpful - they even gave us advice on how much we should be paying for things in a city where tourists are generally charged through the roof. They also told us the pricing of all the rooms they had available straight away when we got there - many places will refrain from telling you their cheapest rooms until you tell them it's more than you wanted to pay and try to leave. It's not right in the centre of the old city but its location just off MI Road means it isn't too noisy, but well situated for getting into the city and to the station quickly. Definitely the best place we stayed in India.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkNixson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Came across this by chance as Hotel Pearl Palace was full, and we sure were glad with the results.

Clean, organised and professional at a fair price. The staff remained very helpful throughout our trip and the entire operation felt like it really nailed it when it came to providing a great service for the customer.

The entire place is well lit and spacious, security is top-notch, and staff are happy to provide any manner of services such as tour bookings, flight bookings and train bookings without any hassles at all.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I didn't like this Hotel. Lots of muck ups. They organised our driver for Rajasthan tour which ended at this hotel. I asked if I was able to pay for everything at the end of the stay with Visa, Yes was the answer. We were leaving at 5.30 am Friday morning so I went down to pay the bill up at 7.45 pm Thursday night only to be told that I could pay the Hotel Bill with Visa but the driver must be paid in cash. At this late stage, we had to drain our cash reserves with no way to replenish for at least two days. When we left at 5.30 am ish, we had to carry all our luggage down ourselves, there was no coffee or breakfast and the reception guy yawned and didn't even open the door for us let alone hold it open whilst we dragged our cases out to the taxi. The restaurant on the roof is a shemozle with staff running around like mad (it was like Fawlty Towers). The food was poor and came out in bits with long gaps between. Our door didn't even shut properly and had to be bolted even if we were in the room during the day. I would not stay here again and certainly not book a driver with them, the muck up with Pushkar is another story.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaipurTravelbug, Owner at Sunder Palace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Barry,
Thank you for putting up the review and heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I totally believe that this is just a case of misunderstanding regarding the payment through credit card as if you check your mail where you asked about making the payment of hotel by credit card and the answer was yes and there was no mention of taxi payment but maybe we should have been more specific and we didn’t discuss it, and if you remember we took your hotel payment by card. We also suggested you to go to the nearby ATM just 200mtrs from the hotel, which you did not consider.
Sunder Palace is a guest house not a 5 star hotel where you’ll find 24 hrs cafeteria and room boys,our kitchen timings are clearly mentioned at our reception desk in your room in menu and in our restaurant, it’s difficult to understand, that you missed the timings everywhere.
For your luggage at 5.00 am no staff was available, but if you would have asked the man at the desk he would have definitely helped.
May be the service in the restaurant was not satisfactory as you stayed during holi festival when most of the staff is on leave and most of the restaurants are closed, but we were still managing our restaurant with 2 or 3 persons only so that guests can get some food as the market and other places were closed.
When people are overloaded with work they may seem like “mad” as you’ve mentioned but still they were trying their best.
We don’t know why you were not happy with the taxi services as you looked very pleased when you arrived and you asked for the same driver for the next destination.
We wonder ,If everything changed with the payment perceptions.
We would definitely like to see you in future and hopefully be more specific in payment terms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We short listed Sunder Palace Guest house as our stay hotel by reading reviews at TripAdvisor site. Right from the start - advance booking of the hotel till we checked out from our hotel everything was handled by the hotel staff so efficiently and professionally. The rooms are clean, spacious and well decorated with traditional Rajasthani style. Room service is quick. The roof top restaurant serves excellent vegetarian food. I was accompanied by my husband and parent-in-laws and booked two super delux rooms.
We are basically a big fan of non-veg food but we liked the veg cusine served by hotel so much that we had non veg lunch only once during our entire trip. Food was freshly prepared and less oily and very tasty.
On the second floor of hotel theres nice sit out area where there are beds, cushions, pillows and a small swing to relax.
The best thing about this hotel it is centrally located all sight seeing points, palaces, bazars are within close proximity... all major places are within 3 - 4kms. Airport is also close..it took only 30 mins for us to reach airport.
We all enjoyed staying at Sunder Palace and i would recommend this hotel to everyone! In future whenever i travel to Jaipur I'll be definitely staying at Sunder Palace!

Room Tip: Room No. 207 is a good room and very spacious. Prefer room on second floor as there is nice sit out...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#26 of 383 in Jaipur
2,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 383 in Jaipur
984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#8 of 383 in Jaipur
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sarang Palace
Hotel Sarang Palace
#19 of 383 in Jaipur
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#23 of 383 in Jaipur
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunder Palace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunder Palace Guest House

Address: 46 Sunder Palace Guest House Sunder Palace Guest House Ajmer Road Sanjay Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#16 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#56 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $11 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunder Palace Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very centrally located. The rooms are spacious and clean. Run by a family providing all the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sunder Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunder Palace Guest House Hotel Jaipur
Sunder Palace Hotel
Sunder Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing