We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunder Palace Guest House
Ranked #13 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We LOVED this place!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is one gorgeous hotel! The rooms are large and spacious. The shower was nice and hot, which was a rare find for us in the 7 hotels we stayed in throughout Rajasthan.

The highlight of this hotel was the rooftop deck/restaurant. Great food, an amazing view and comfortable seating. We couldn't get enough!

Another nice thing about this hotel is that there is a sign in the lobby telling you not to tip individual staff but instead put a group tip in the tip box at the end of your stay. It was nice not to have every employee who you passed by looking for a way to get a tip from you.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CStevens218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    240
    51
    16
    9
See reviews for
175
393
137
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised by this guest house. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was not bad and terribly convenient (always adding the charge to the room so I could eat without worrying about money), but the real charm was the room! I had to take more expensive double room because of a late reservation, but i was so happy! Clean, bright, and it had a great little nook for meditation/ eating/ yoga.

It was also within walking distance of all the sites I wanted to see in Jaipur. That was a real gift after getting tired if haggling with rickshaws all day.

The only drawback was having to pay for Internet. But that is pretty standard all over the area. I just wanted to write about this place because I didn't see it in any of the guidebooks I researched, but iBook a chance anyway and was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sunder Palace Guest House is located close to the train station, and the well hyped Hotel Pearl Palace, so if you take a very short walk you can enjoy their roof-top restaurant, but the view of the Fort is better from Sunder Palace's roof top. The only downside is that the restaurant is pure veg, so if you want eggs for breakfast forget it.

Sunder Palace has a nice tipping policy, "Please Do Not Tip One Person to Be Fair to ALL the Staff. As all the staff works as a team. If you would like to leave a tip. Please Drop it in the tip box at the reception. This tip is equally distributed twice in a month. If you are happy with the service of any individual. You can let us know. Thanks you." I found this out when I was picked up at the train station and tried to tip the driver. Sunder Palace arranged a pick-up via auto-rickshaw. Jaipur is one of the worst places for touts just after Agra, so having someone to pick you up from the train is a nice touch. They waited just outside the station. The guest house gave directions on where to find him.

The room was beautifully decorated. There was a small sitting area on the floor as well as two chairs. The bathroom was clean and bright. There was internet for a small price, but it was the fastest I have experienced in India.

The roof top restaurant was lovely. I wish I spent more time up there. The view of the Fort was beautiful.

Reception has a great brochure/map of the area with all the sites around Jaipur as well as contact numbers. They have a luggage room and held our bags as we left on a late train.

Staff and management were great the room and the whole property was beautiful. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBHealingJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the guest house is very clean and the room is big and decorated, especially the bathroom. the price is reasonable and valuable. With a lovely rooftop restaurant which has a nice view to the city and a warmly lobby. The food is also good.

Room Tip: chose the non-ac room in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameschen0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I and our 27 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012 on a 9 week trip around Asia and India. Apologies for the late review. Beautifully decorated hotel and a wonderful rooftop restaurant. Peaceful location away from the hubbub. Staff very attentive and helpful. Rooms clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Most of plugs didnt work, towels and bedding were a bit dirty, toilet wasnt cleaned properly and tv + some lights were broken. And the persons staying before us obviously smoked because the room smelled. We tried asking for another room, but they said there wasnt any and that they would fix ours, but they never did. We came here because of good reviews on this site, but its highly overrated and even though it is not bad in comparison with other hostels the prices of the rooms (without breakfast or wifi(had to pay 100 rs extra a day) for 800 rupees a night...) was definetily not worth it. We were planning to stay for 4 nights but left after one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReizigJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We organised to stay here for 3 nights, but came back for another night later in our trip because we loved it so much. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to help us in every way they could. The rooftop restaurant was nice and relaxing, the waitors/restaurant staff were brilliant too! (Special mention to the main waitor who frequently wears a knitted sweater and was so kind and friendly to us). The food in the restaurant is cheap and good quality, and their masala chai was some of the best i have tasted in india. The rooms are great for a budget hotel, beds were clean and comfortable (we didnt need inner sheets), rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, and toilet/shower was clean also. Wifi is Rs. 100 for 24 hours and never falters, clothes washing is reasonably priced also.
The staff help travellers new to jaipur or india avoid being tricked into overpaying by hasslers and rickshaw drivers.
if i were in Jaipur, id have to be at Sunder Palace!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizak777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 376 in Jaipur
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#22 of 376 in Jaipur
2,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 376 in Jaipur
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#7 of 376 in Jaipur
1,924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#19 of 376 in Jaipur
1,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunder Palace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunder Palace Guest House

Property: Sunder Palace Guest House
Address: 46 Sunder Palace Guest House Sunder Palace Guest House Ajmer Road Sanjay Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#56 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunder Palace Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very centrally located. The rooms are spacious and clean. Run by a family providing all the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunder Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunder Palace Guest House Hotel Jaipur
Sunder Palace Hotel
Sunder Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing