We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a visit”

Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Visit to Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing Including Thaali Lunch at 1135 AD Jaipur
Ranked #23 of 232 things to do in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small textile museum dedicated to the ancient craft of hand block printing. Housed in a restored UNSECO award winning 400 year old building - well kept displays, good information, friendly staff, a printing & wood block carving craftsman demonstrating on site, clean toilets, an excellent small (fixed price) museum shop, & a cafe serving fresh organic coffee. A quiet haven - 10 min walk through the quaint old town of Amber. Please ensure that you have been taken to the correct location. We do not pay commission; some drivers or guides may try to take you elsewhere. Entry Price: rs.30 per adult | rs.15 for children below 12yrs | rs.20 for students | camera entry rs.50 | video camera entry rs.150
pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I read about the museum on tripadvisor and went there. It was quite a surprise. We enjoyed our visit there. The museum is in a beautifu old house. It is really worth a visit. The small shop in the museum has beautiful blockprinted items.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    101
    31
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Tucked away in a quiet area of Amber, this delightful museum is a treat. We are Anokhi fans so had heard of the museum and were keen to visit, and we were not disappointed! The museum is housed in a restored Haveli, which is a treat in itself. The exhibits are interesting although they are displayed over several floors - the steep steps to each floor is not for the faint hearted! We had tried to book a workshop on block printing but were not successful, which was a shame. We did get to meet the ones who were luckier than us and were very envious of the products they had made! The shop is very small but adequate. The cafe too, we had some tasty cakes and refreshing drink. If you want to participate in a workshop book early, it did look fun!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dollbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
170 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only spend about 30 min here, but especially the top floor, which shows how they carve the stamps for printing and the printing process was interesting to see.
Well worth a stop. There's a shop inside, but it's very small...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DKtoAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely little museum”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a lovely museum to visit- so interesting to see how the block printing is done. We even had our own one made for each of us and also had a go a doing some printing ourselves. The shop us quite shall, but still good and the cafe was closed but could have been out of season. It was definitely worth the visit though as the museum is also in a old Havali which was lovely.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
291 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Loved the shopping here!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Oh-the museum and demonstrations were great but I had the best time picking up wonderful cottons to wear on the trip and to bring back for such a good price. The quality is excellent and they are so comfortable. This had been suggested to me by other tourists and at our hotel --I was delighted to find such nice things to bring back home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing