We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a budget price - Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #24 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We booked this hotel for our long weekend stay in Jaipur mainly based on its amazing website and the royal feel and offcourse the surprisingly low costs.

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones as well as budget hotels, as individual or in group as well. Price-wise, as I said earlier, Umaid Mahal is surprisingly low. But it offers a luxury feel to your quick and budget holiday.

Beautiful property, heritage but equipped with almost all modern day amenities and facilities including free wi-fi and pool. It is a small but really nicely done hotel which is a heritage property and the good part is that its family-run hotel. The owner, Ranvijay is very warm and nice with guests and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. They even offered to arrange for pick-up and drop from a nearby mall for us at no extra charge.

They serve a good breakfast on the roof-top restaurant with live kitchen with quite decent choice of continental and Indian items. Another wow factor is their indoor Swimming pool with adjoining bar and restaurant which serves good Indian food. Service is bit slow both in restaurant as well as room service.

The most amazing part of the hotel is their very nicely done rooms, nice decor, and amenities as you would expect in most of the 4-5* hotels.

Udai Mahal is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
There are newer reviews for Umaid Mahal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

* We stayed in a room with a double bed and two extra single beds. The space was sufficient to accommodate the four of us.
* Big bathroom.
* The terrace was a good venue for the breakfast, although it was already getting hot in Feb; the breakfast spreads was acceptable for this class of hotel, but you can't expect a 5-star luxury spread.
* Booking was easy through email - although we had originally booked Umaid Bhavan, they requested us to shift to this one as they had made a booking error, and we didn't mind.
* Quiet neighbourhood. On one of the nights, we heard traditional drums until around 10pm - perhaps from a hotel dinner party. Just as we were getting worried, the noise mercifully stopped.
* Service - nothing to complain of.
* Laundry was somewhat expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dildilIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I travelled jaipur with my family on july 2007 , i have seen many historical places and relegious things in jaipur . In the evening we go for stay in a hotel . We saw a hotel named Umaid Mahal. We decided to go to this hotel . It was acc to the name .
Rooms with a lot of marble, nice furniture, all luxurous and a nice quiet rooftop restaurant. Absolutely nothing to complain about. No backpack pricing, but reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinesh4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Even entering this hotel will blow u away. But once inside u will just love this great comfortable & opulent hotel. For anyone that has experienced the frustration of things that don't work, the dread of checking the toilet & shower and the reluctance of tipping for not getting what u want again this hotel is a sanctuary. Rooms are not only beautiful but all appliances including many lamps, aircon, fridge, tv all fully functional. Bathroom large, modern, tasteful, and immaculately clean. Room service was efficient, accurate and quick! Meals were absolutely beautiful both for room service & at the stunning rooftop restaurant. All crockery, cutlery etc was all scrupulously clean. We truly LOVED this hotel. No 1 for cleanliness service and everything worked among more than 10 we experienced. A real sanctuary.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CartersView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Umaid Mahal is a stunningly beautiful building that has been very tastefully renovated in exceptionally-well painted local style.

Our room was comfortable with a bed that was good enough, though far away from the plush linens of a higher-class hotel. The air-conditioning worked very well in terms if ensuring a comfortable temperature, but it was quite loud. Fortunately, we always travel with very good earplugs, so this was not a problem at all and we slept very well.

Food in the restaurant is quite poor (breakfast is awful) and the service even worse. If I thought we could get breakfast easily anywhere else, we'd have done that to escape the horror that is the rooftop restaurant. I would not even recommend the restaurant as a good place for a drink. Service otherwise in the hotel is generally quite poor, though prices for cars/taxis are reasonably fair. Services basically involve bloke on reception who is a 'fixer' who can send 'boys' to do things if he can be bothered. It's a real shame that the hotel fails in this area.

The pool, when I looked was very cloudy indicating that the hotel was not paying attention to the chemical mix, so we avoided it completely. It is also the other side of a very dodgy looking bar, so I doubt we'd have gone for a dip anyway.

Given the cost of the hotel, I still think it's a good choice in Jaipur despite its poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The hotel buidlings are wonderful and the rooms were a good size and had everything you need including loads of hot water. The rooftop restaurant is charming although we found the food in the evenings not as tasty as food in town - try Copper Chimney in town it was delicious. The location may seem a little out of the way but tuk tuks are very reasonable to get to town and see all the main sights. Would definitely recommend this. Don't count on wanting to actually swin in the pool it is very pokey.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finners86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I can thoroughly ecommend this hotel. It is clean, the staff are friendly and the food is good (if unspectacular). The evening Rajesthani music and dancing in the open air roof restaurant was of a high standard (not 'cultural night' style as is so often the case).

Bedrooms are of a good size, the bed is comfortable and there is wifi access. The hotel's decor is worth a visit, Brilliantly and tastefully over the top.

Although the hotel is in a suburban location, there are large numbers of taxis and auto rickshaws who will take you into the city centre. I recommend having a taxi for half a day to visit the Amber Fort, view the Lake Palace and perhaps stop off for some shopping.
The Amber Palace is very spectacular and takes 2 to 3 hours to fully investigate,,, and it has a coffee shop!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maigemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 383 in Jaipur
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#42 of 383 in Jaipur
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing