We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #23 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Our party had 4 rooms for 3 nights.
The staff were friendly and helpful
All of the rooms were in a colourful rajasthani style, large, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
The pool was small but ideal for a dip after a busy day of sightseeing.
The rooftop restaurant was a great place to eat and relax.
We had a great time staying there and on the basis of our experience we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torridon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2008

An amazing classic heritage hotel

Spotless room with balcony, four poster, a bathroom/dressing area bigger than some hotel rooms, the bed cover even came with bells on!

It's not the most centrally located, however friendly auto rickshaw drivers hang out at the end of the street - ps ask Salim - he's famous around there

Breakfast on the roof top restaurant is well worth getting up for...

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boro2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed there for four nights and were - especially considering the great price - very pleasently surprised. The room was absolutely clean and nicely furnished with a very modern bathroom (including a permanently warm, strong jet of water, which was not self-evident in India, as we learned the hard way). Worth mentioning is the very nice roof-top restaurant, where we had some wonderful breakfasts and dinners (nothing fancy but especially with that setting very nice).

Also, the staff was very polite and helpful. Tuc-tucs and taxis were always available with pre-fixed prices.

All in all, we can absolutely recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank logistikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Wow, the Umaid Mahal was absolutely fantastic - everything from the brightly tiled walls in the foyer to the friendly and efficient service to the charmingly decorated room was delightful. We stayed in one of the mid-priced rooms, which we booked day-of at a rate of 3,000 rupees per night, and I loved it. It was completely spotless, and the shower was hot and spacious - and separated from the toilet by a plastic curtain, a rare treat during our low-to-midrange-budget travels in the Golden Triangle. The only reason I don't rate it five out of five is because of the restaurant - the day we went, they seemed to be out of half of what we ordered, even though we were there during the designated lunch time, and the server seemed irritated that we were there at all. But aside from that, I can't recommend this place highly enough. Ran, if you read this, thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheTravelsLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

They call this a budget hotel, but that is just an insult to this lovely hotel. We stayed at a 5-star hotel in Agra and found the Umaid Mahal in Jaipur to be much nicer depsite its 3.5-star status. The number of stars really only indicates ammenities - and they had everything we needed. This is the best hotel we stayed at on our entire trip throughout India. We talked to the manager and he said that the owner had a hobby of restoring old buildings - and he did a magnificent job! You'll love the detailed artwork throughout the entire hotel and in each guest room.

The hotel was very clean which was nice after staying in dirty hotels in Delhi! The service was good, but be patient as I believe only the managers speak English. For the most part, there was a manager on duty. The location is fine too, as you can grab an auto-rickshaw and cruise to the "pink-city" central area of Jaipur very easily.

Definitely stay at this hotel when in Jaipur. They have a sister-hotel called the Umaid Bhawan which is similar - I haven't seen it, but it's the same owner and is close to the Umaid Mahal.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hearts456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

For the money, Umaid Mahal is unbeatable. The staff was superb, advice excellent, food very good and rooms much better than usual in India. Strongly recommend the hotel and would stay there again if in Jaipur.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

This was my fourth time in India and in Jaipur and I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Jaipur. The Umaid Mahal is my absolute favorite in this price category! The rooms all have a different character, the bed is comfortable, the air conditioning works and does not blow on the bed directly, the bathroom is functional and everything is clean. The staff is really nice and the two computers with internet connection really do have the fastest and best internet connection I have experienced in India.

All in all a great experience and I will stay in this hotel again on my next visit to this amazing, beautiful Jaipur.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loveIndia2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 393 in Jaipur
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#22 of 393 in Jaipur
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 393 in Jaipur
1,629 reviews
1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli - A Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 393 in Jaipur
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $54 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing