We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in Time”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #22 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Travel back in Time”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What an amazing building, with most of it's original features, just like when it was a palace to the rich & famous! The rooms very good and tastefully furnished and the services were good, staff friendly and overall a great experience. I just found that it was a little bit far from all the main attractions. The breakfasts were excellent, but the overall food service left something to be desired, with the TV blaring sport & movies, and no music available. Our table cloth stayed dirty for 3 consecutive meals until I pointed it out! I would recommend this as a 'traditional' Indian experience, and will certainly return if I have the opportunity.

Room Tip: We were conveniently situated on the ground floor, but we would have loved a room with a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    694
    165
    34
    12
See reviews for
482
695
112
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in January 2014. The room was spotlessly clean, good modern bathroom. No views but the interior is interestingly decorated. The restaurant is in the basement with no outside light but the breakfast (included) was excellent.
The hotel staff were very helpful especially the front desk.
The location is slightly away from the main centre/old city in Bani Park but
its a short & cheap rickshaw ride to get there.
it would have been too noisy for us anywhere more central.
Overall it was excellent value and we enjoyed our stay there and would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tessa981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The royal rooms are nice but very different in size and finish. For example we booked one with balcony, alas our room had none. We were offered a balcony room the day after. Don't use laundry service, the clothes still smelled bad of sweat after returned. 10% discount but no refund even though they actually had not been cleaned because we had not opened our laundry until the morning after they were cleaned. (weird policy, you get the clothes late in the evening)

Other than those minor complaints the hotel is beautiful and nice with good breakfast with some live cooking going on.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphonsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights in a Royal deluxe room on 2nd floor. Location is very good. Our booking was nicely handled. The room has nice interior designs and a modern bathroom. The hotel had lots of well maintained paintings including portraits and royal functions. The corridors and lobby had exquisite lighting's, interior decorations and paintings. The food was good & optimally priced at the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was also excellent with multiple options. The staff were courteous and helpful. Overall we had an wonderful heritage experience during our visit on Jan 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhendu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silchar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights in a Royal deluxe room on 5 th floor. Location is very good. Our booking was nicely handled and we were given a upgraded room. The room was king size with a small balcony, nice interior designs and a modern bathroom. The hotel had lots of well maintained paintings including portraits and royal functions. The corridors and lobby had exquisite lighting's, interior decorations and paintings. The food was good at rooftop restaurant. The breakfast buffet was average. The only complain i have is regarding the huge no of foreign guests and undue importance given to them by most of the staffs, at times causing inconvenience to Indian guests. Also the quality of the water in the pool was poor. Overall we had a nice heritage experience in March 2012.

Room Tip: Take a room on south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosenjit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

All in all a good palce to stay . Special thanks to Mr Ranvijay the GM, who went out of the way to adjust my bookings thos its a pity i could not meet him. Positives- great rooms with all facilities, ok buffet at breakfast. Negatives- as the hotel is very popular with foreigners due to the great reviews on tripadvisor, the service staff tend to ignore Indians especially at the restaurant. But leaving that aside a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Joshyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The rooms are the best thing about the hotel. Very impressive. Nice large comfortable bed. Room had a balcony which was nice.

The hotel has so much detail which is great, so much to look in every room.

The roof top resturant was closed unfortunately so didn't get to go eat there but went up and the view was amazing so would recommend giving the restaurant a go for the view.

The restaurant downstair was really nice however didn't find the staff here to be very friendly, in fact one guy who served us drinks on several occasions didn't actually speak to us once.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 380 in Jaipur
1,550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 380 in Jaipur
835 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 380 in Jaipur
2,000 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Property: Umaid Mahal
Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing