We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a palace”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #24 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights and our flight was delayed so we arrived at midnight. We had booked two rooms as we were a family traveling together and one room was on one end of the fourth floor and the other the opposite end on the third floor which I found really ridiculous and inconvenient for us but we were all too tired and just needed a bed to stay in after the long journey. When we woke up the next morning we found the hotel to be absolutely beautiful just like a palace, it was clean and we had a nice breakfast included in our stay nothing fantastic but a good choice of English and Indian dishes and you were not left hungry. The location was prefect and the staff were friendly but just that nothing exceptional just acceptable. The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom and shower was awesome. I would have no problem recommending this hotel or staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
There are newer reviews for Umaid Mahal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a really wonderful hotel, the only truly good one I stayed in in my whole visit to India! And really fairly priced too. The staff were great and as two young girls travelling together they really looked out for us. Rooms were so comfortable, they had a great shower with instant hot water (a rarity in Indian hotels believe me!) and English language tv for a nice night in if you wanted. Restaurant was also really nice with a varied menu and decently priced. Probably the best thing about it tho was they recommended a spa to us for an Ayuvedic massage (a must in India!) and it is the best massage I've ever had in my life and was again really reasonably-priced! It was a proper recommendation too not this practice they seem to have at other places of booking it for you and taking a cut, they just told us where it was and we paid the place directly. If you come to Jaipur stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalynd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in Umaid Bhavan for one night and two days and the experience was really nice. The staff is hospitable and polite. The decor of the building is worth mentioning- it indeed is styled after a royal palace. You get the feeling of luxury in the rooms with traditional wooden beds. The resturant on the roof top provides a wonderful view of the city which you can enjoy with delicious Rajasthani dishes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

very good hotel nice viewe stayed here for two nights and the stay was superb. The rooms were so authentic and well done. Check in was smooth and all our requests for pickups, room service etc were well met without hassles. We just didn't want to leave this place. The only negative aspect was the quality of food. It was very average and

Room Tip: 204 is very best
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jone125212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was truly a memorable experience, and by far our favourite place to stay in Jaipur.Hotel staff was very cooperative.We enjoyed christmas party and dinner at roof top restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our stay in Umaid Mahal was in Mid of December 2013. The weather in Jaipur is at its best during this time. The Hotel Umaid Mahal is located in the Bani Park area which centrally positioned in Jaipur. Quick & Hassle free checkin by Mr Ajay - Manager. The Rooms were clean and the interiors have been designed well. The Hotel is located in residential area and away from highway which means you get peace. The Hotel staff is supportive enough and polite and each and every attraction. The breakfast spread is decent enough except for the boiled vegetables which i guess are preferred by foreigners. All put together it was a nice stay in the hotel with decent room tarriff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinayakNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how well maintained, decorated, clean and professional this hotel is, wow.The location is very close to the train station and a quick tuctuc ride to the centre of town. Maybe a good thing not staying inside the super busy area... The staff is so friendly and level of neatness, hygiene etc is amazing. The std bedroom has alot of luxuries you get in a 4star hotel. The restaurant is also quite cool, and they have 2 big screens showing local indian soapies and movies, very entertaining. Best value for money hotel we stayed in india. The manager was also super fantastic in organising last minute special train tickets for us, thank you so much!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessaasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 383 in Jaipur
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#41 of 383 in Jaipur
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing