We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #23 of 393 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Superb value for money.....

Clean and well decorated rooms, you get the feel of the Rajasthani tradition in a modern way. Polite and courteous Staff
The owner cares for his customer and their needs
The swimming pool is small, but generally one would not have time to spend time in pool after full day's sight seeing and shopping, atleast we didn't.
Good food, decent bar restaurant, nice rood top restuarant. overall A*
The hotel is in quiet location.

Overall, A+

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is an excellent place to live up a luxurious feel along with a traditional atmosphere. Every person including the crew plus the manager plus the drivers were there at their best assistance and information. Very friendly surrounding. Also people visiting Umaid Mahal must definately go have a look at their Roof Top Restaurant & Taikhana :) Resemblemce to a traditional surrounding was amazing :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel which is bright, colourful and beautifully fitted out. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was decent. Taxis are just outside hotel but hotel doesn't recommend using them. Tuktuks are easily found either passing or on the main road which is not far up the road. Highly recommended but not within walking distance of the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

this hotel with its old fashioned style is a very good and plaisant place to stay in Jaipur. NIce staff and clean room. The roof top restaurant provides a good quality food it a nice environment. A very nice view on the fort !
To sum up a the Umaid Mahal has a good value for money. The rooms are big enough for 2.
We only find the pool a bit small compared to other hotels!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s44c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Umaid Mahal is one of the most enjoyable hotels I have ever stayed in with amazing character and charm for a three star hotel.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, I had no problems booking a car tour from reception, dinner is served on the roof with a wonderful view over Jaipur. The food is also exceptional, better than the restaurants I went to in Jaipur.
This is a heritage hotel so you will need to be patient with a few minor inconveniences, but this is more than made up for by the wonderful decor, excellent service and food.
Although I went alone this time, I would love to bring my family back to this hotel when next visiting Jaipur.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on the second or third levels and check the air conditioning is working. Also, bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Love the Pool! Great little pool on the sub-ground floor, next to the breakfast service area. Nice, peaceful, great for a dip in the hot Indian sunshine. This is not a hotel, it is a palace! So much marble, gorgeous fixtures, elegant designs and beautiful interior architecture, you could spend hours wandering the hotel and gazing upon the artwork on the walls, the pictures that line the stairwells and the Indian culture all around you. Very slick, very clean, just the most wonderful stay! English-speaking receptionist, free wi-fi, and PC's available for a fee, if you need to get on-line without a mobile device. You really are treated like royalty here, and you might spend all your time taking pictures of the hotel (ha)! Ohh, and the rooftop restaurant is a gem as well! Awesome food, great atmosphere, especially during the evening and amazing views of Jaipur. Wow! The only drawback to the hotel was how the peacocks next door woke me up with their incredibly loud screeching. Peacocks. Who knew such a beautiful bird could make such an awful noise (ha). That's okay, taking pictures of them from the gorgeous balcony made up for the inconvenience. What A Hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: Ha, I doubt this hotel has a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingHoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days , Overall a awesome experience
Initially there was some issues With Television and WIFI , but Staff fixed it Afterwards .

Great Interior ,Great Room And Royal Feel .. Breakfast was Great , Staff was also helpful
Food is also good in Roof top restaurent

Swimming pool is Small .. do not exepect Much from it ... overall a great Deal

Room Tip: Donot expect Much from Swiming Pool , Check all ameneties like TV and WIFI is working before check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansh2485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 393 in Jaipur
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#22 of 393 in Jaipur
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#8 of 393 in Jaipur
1,630 reviews
1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli - A Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 393 in Jaipur
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $54 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing