We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was pleasant,Service needs to be improved”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #23 of 392 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The architecture is mind blowing .Tariff rates are very good.Needs to improve upon service .Overall nice hotel to stay in Jaipur. Ranvijay is a great person.He helped us to get room in Peak season which is rare thing from any hotel .

Ranvijay looking forward to come to your hotel .This time umiad Bhavan..

Please work on Hotel staff.they need to more quick

Thanks and Regards
Sahil Pahwa
9654545697
Delhi

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sahil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

we had a nice experience at the umaid. Beautiful architectecture, nice staff, green environnement in the big city of jaipur.
The rooms are well decorated with noble tools.

We had had a probleme in the bathroom !!!!, quiet funny, water everywhere, but the staff reacted quickly with kindness
Good address

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This beautiful hotel in a quite area is clean and well appointed. The friendly staff and great food on the roof top restaurant helped made our stay enjoyable and relaxed. We recommend the Umaid Mahal to all travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at umaid mahal for 1 night for new years eve. As with most heritage hotels we were required to participate in the compulsory gala dinner. The hotel put in a lot of effort to help celebrate the new years, with there event being quite enjoyable. The fireworks were a nice touch.

The hotel is a beautifully decorated heritage hotel. Our room was a royal deluxe room, which had nice artwork and a beautiful bathroom. There balcony was a plus.

Breakfast was OK. The buffet had a lot of variety however I have had much nicer and cleaner breakfast buffets in India. The food at the gala dinner was nice however again for the price we paid didn't really represent great value.

My main complaint with the hotel is the service which I felt was a little overbearing. When we checked in the staff members seemed to want to stick around the room for longer than required and repeatedly showing us room features in an effort to get a tip, when all we wanted was to check in to our room and rest up not have a staff member hanging around for around 5 minutes.

There are quite a few taxi touts outside. Given the location in the quieter part of jaipur this is expected.

Overall, reasonably happy with our stay. The hotel is very nicely furnished and the gala dinner very enjoyable. Service needs a little improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alui47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Goodies:
1. Beautiful rajasthani traditional decor,lovely paintings.
2. amicable and assisting staff
3. Breakfast served was awesum.
4. Worth wat charged.

Overall experience was pleasant.

Cud have been better:
4. Roof top dining .
5. Swimming pool was chlorinated with excessive bleach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First of all, the hotel is very well decorated and clean. The staff was very helpful in finding drivers for us for whatever we needed to do. We also arrived very early from a long flight, and we were able to check in early.

We did not find the restaurant scene in Jaipur so inviting - so we ate at the rooftop restaurant, which is actually pretty good. Nice, friendly staff in hotel and restaurant.

Also , additionally, I had booked a driver with them to drop us off in Agra, and I ended up leaving my camera in the car. They were honest and nice enough to retrieve the camera and forward it to a hotel I was staying later in Delhi. I did not expect that!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monde6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel, looks really pretty and the rooms are lovely. Loved the rooftop restaurant. One of the best of our Indian trip and would definitely recommend. The staff are very helpful, we had some problems with train tickets and they were more than happy to sort that out for us. We also asked them to find us a guide and driver and we got a great one, although sadly his name escapes me!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORRAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#8 of 392 in Jaipur
1,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 392 in Jaipur
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 392 in Jaipur
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alsisar Haveli - A Heritage Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#24 of 392 in Jaipur
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $67 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing