We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Rich Rajasthani Culture in the midst of the City !”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #25 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A piece of Rich Rajasthani Culture in the midst of the City !”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Umaid Mahal is a piece of Rich Rajasthani Culture in the midst of the City ! A jewel of art in the midst of the regular hustle bustle of jaipur City. A truely remarkable hotel with good ambience delicious food and good service. A must stay if you are on a short holiday.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms no 302 or 402 if you need a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivinePrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    697
    165
    34
    12
See reviews for
488
699
113
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

the rich heritage of Jaipur at an affordable price Nicely kept place, with lot of detailing on walls and roofs. good rooms, each room has its own personal ouch, well maintained, staff was good. Conveniently located. Overall had a nice stay. Would definitely...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohammad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in Umaid Mahal during early November 2012. The hotel rooms are very nice, clean & hygenic. Food was good. The hotel Manager was very helpful, cordial and courteous. Only disappointing fact is that the pictures on website raise your expectation, whereas in actual, the hotel is a small hotel and not as grand as it looks in the picture. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The stay in Umaid Mahal was really memorable for my entire family. The interiors of the hotel are beautiful. The service prompt. The location is perfect - though away from the hustle bustle its still closer to the tourist places. And lastly, my family truly enjoyed having dinner at the rooftop restaurant. All in all everything was above expectation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zafar_sk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel offers good facilities for the price and has a nice decoration (although not as good as on the pictures). However, it is a bit noisy (road on one side; train on the other, but the rails are quite far) and the service is bad (the employees are not smiling and seem unhappy to work there).

Hotel would deserve 3/5, but we give it 1/5 because the tour booked on the hotel website (the hotel directed us to Welcome Rajasthan, an entity owned by the hotel) was our worst travel experience ever (see separate review and be very careful with any tour offered by Umaid Mahal or Welcome Rajasthan: tourist guide in Jaipur involved in a tourist scam with a shop called Rajahstan Textile Development Corporation, guide in Pushkar forcing to make donations, guide speaking almost no English).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Floran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in Umaid Mahal during early Dec. The place is decent but the pics posted on the website give a wrong impression that its a huge property. Its a small plface, and we felt it was priced high too! Its located in a quiet street little away from the main city.

Rooms: Room was fine and bed was fine. Cleanliness was also well maintained. The bedsheets, room decor are all in Rajasthani style and though the rooms are not very big, they look good.

Food: They have a restaurant on the terrace. Breakfast was buffet and had Indian and continental dishes. Quality was good Folk artists perform live in the restaurant in the evening and though the service was little slow, this made our evenings enjoyable.

We did not use any of the amenities (swimming pool etc) since we were out most of the time of the day so cannot comment on that.

We will look for other hotels at similar price range if we happen to go back to Jaipur again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itspriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

An amazing place to live-in and experience the rich heritage of Jaipur at an affordable price!!! Nicely kept place, with lot of detailing on walls and roofs. Magnificently laid out rooms, each room has its own personal ouch, well maintained, courteous staff. Conveniently located. Overall had a nice stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 381 in Jaipur
1,564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 381 in Jaipur
836 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#19 of 381 in Jaipur
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Property: Umaid Mahal
Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing