We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #20 of 363 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
277 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in Umaid Mahal during early Dec. The place is decent but the pics posted on the website give a wrong impression that its a huge property. Its a small plface, and we felt it was priced high too! Its located in a quiet street little away from the main city.

Rooms: Room was fine and bed was fine. Cleanliness was also well maintained. The bedsheets, room decor are all in Rajasthani style and though the rooms are not very big, they look good.

Food: They have a restaurant on the terrace. Breakfast was buffet and had Indian and continental dishes. Quality was good Folk artists perform live in the restaurant in the evening and though the service was little slow, this made our evenings enjoyable.

We did not use any of the amenities (swimming pool etc) since we were out most of the time of the day so cannot comment on that.

We will look for other hotels at similar price range if we happen to go back to Jaipur again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itspriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    655
    151
    32
    12
See reviews for
441
648
104
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

An amazing place to live-in and experience the rich heritage of Jaipur at an affordable price!!! Nicely kept place, with lot of detailing on walls and roofs. Magnificently laid out rooms, each room has its own personal ouch, well maintained, courteous staff. Conveniently located. Overall had a nice stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Umaid Mahal for three nights in October 2012.
Having arrived by train in Jaipur, we got a free pickup which worked out perfectly fine.
The hotel is situated maybe 3km West of the old parts of the city. So it is a 15min drive into town BUT the surroundings of the hotel are perfectly quiet. For us this was a fair trade-off.
The rooms are extremely nicely decorated in Rajasthani style. Materials are of a very high standard - the luxurious rain shower is kept entirely in black marble with a nice glass front. Probably the nicest bathroom we had in India so far.
Chairs and furniture were nicely carved, very dark wood.
Walls and ceiling were extremely delicately painted.
Breakfast was served in a buffet form, both Indian and Continental style, egg dishes were made to order. Food and drinks were good. Service was ok.
They also have a rooftop restaurant with some nice views, but we only had tea there once, so we cannot comment on the food there.
Overall, we definitely recommend this hotel, it was one of the nicest hotels we had in India!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here as we were after a relatively cheap hotel in Jaipur. Our driver had a little difficulty locating the hotel, however I'd put this down to the chaotic streets rather than being in a poor location.

The room itself was fine. Nice bed, although quite firm, and the pillows were very thin and could do with an upgrade.

The bathroom was fine with a massive shower.

The rooftop bar / restaurant was the highlight. Great food and service. All of the dishes served were really tasty. On the down side is the beers are on the expensive side.

Overall, a good priced hotel and I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel is no doubt a good place to stay however what was lacking is the service. We as a family were going out for leisure and upon asking to clear the room at the reception, we were told that you have arrived in the afternoon and you are asking to clean the room in the evening which is not possible.
Not arguing with him, i simply asked to at least take the used utensils from the room which were inside the room after lunch. That was agreed by them however after coming back late night, i saw the utensils still in the room which we get rid of after calling at the reception again.
The above mentioned scenario is self explanatory about the service quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is very good, very clean and worth every penny of your stay.
The decoration is so wonderful. Very warmly hotel.
The staffs are wonderful and their service is excellent. Nice ppl there. I am very impressed and will definitely come again. I have not even a single complaint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vuthinands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Last month, I stayed in umaid mahal for 2 days and found it a good place to stay. Hotel and Service staff was excellent and I had no problems during my stay. I have only 1 suggestion that Internet (wifi) shouldn't be included in cost. It should be an add on in service.

Room Tip: Make the booking before atleast 2 weeks. so that you'll get discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank postatarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#11 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#4 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#13 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Property: Umaid Mahal
Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing