We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Great Staff”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #21 of 412 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A friend recommended this hotel. It was a bit on the expensive side but it was definitely a beautiful hotel. The room was really nice with beautiful mosaic art on the ceiling which was very nice, as there was a lot of art related to the region. We got laundry done at the property which was very good and affordable. The breakfast was great and the staff was very attentive. We also had lunch on the rooftop one afternoon. It has an amazing view. The best part was that they hooked us up with Bhati Tours, that helped us in seeing the city and giving great advice about our India trip. If you don't mind spending a bit more than staying in a guest house or hostel, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taraism72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Though I had already arranged my residential stay for five months in Jaipur, I couldn't resist returning to the Umaid Mahal where I spent three nights in January. This was an even better experience, like returning to a treasured home. Staff, most who were there when I stayed previously, greeted me warmly - I remembered them and they remembered me. I had a lovely room on another floor, large, spotlessly clean, and, once again, I felt like royalty.

With summer weather, I was able to avail myself of dining on at the rooftop terrace restaurant and that was especially lovely. The food was excellent and, as always, the service was equally so.

My only problem was with the wi-fi and that may be more the result of my internet incompetence than anything else. This is my hotel in Jaipur and I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNSANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The place looks lovely, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is not bad. The bathroom is fine, swhimming pool was not really clean at first, but they prepared afterwards. I did not like it much the taxi service of the hotel, they know ONLY the touristic attractions. We were in Jaipur for a wedding, and I almost did not arrive to the venue, since they driver didn't have a clue were the place was.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlgomez30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had driven down to Jaipur for a weekend and we stayed at Umaid Mahal for a night. The staff were decently friendly and they were helpful in arranging a cab to take us around Jaipur. We didnt want to drive around since it was extremely crowded and we had limited time. The food was decent wouldnt say it was great!

The rooms are very clean and the ambiance was very pretty... the walls were painted with the traditional Rajasthani art and they had tried to bring out the real feel of a palace and would say they were almost successful too. The prices of the rooms were very genuine with breakfast included so would say real value for the money. Food was good, they had a decent spread of both continental and Indian food in the breakfast buffet.

Overall we had a nice stay here...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harinirajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

As a family, we really enjoyed the short but comfortable stay at Umaid Mahal. Its decor and layout is truly of 'Mahal' standard and whomsoever has conceived and designed it, deserves appreciation. Except for the buffet breakfast which was a bit disappointing and the non-availability of tandoori dishes, everything else was perfect. The wade pool was enjoyed by all. The owners could think of adding a gym to the facilities the place offers. A porta cabin placed outside in the parking area could be the gym, if there is no place elsewhere.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinaymeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Umaid Mahal, has great staff, decent food and lovely rooms. everything is organised and a call away ... value for money ... perfect for a quick get away as well as a work related stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subhachauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A new but tastefully decorated Haveli that almost has an authentic feel to it. Feels historic despite a relatively boring location far from the historic city centre of Jaipur. Nice rooms, fairly good restaurant. Did not try the non-heated swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mortenpaatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#18 of 412 in Jaipur
1,625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 412 in Jaipur
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#39 of 412 in Jaipur
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 412 in Jaipur
879 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 412 in Jaipur
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $57 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing