We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #23 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Umaid Mahal is a wonderful hotel providing a relaxing and very comfortable environment in busy, but ever so beautiful, Jaipur. It is a beautiful building in a relatively quiet area and has great facilities for their guests including a nice pool, internet, yoga sessions and a really great roof terrace where you can have dinner in the evenings. They were also happy to set us a table and serve drinks during the afternoons aswell. The menu offers a wide range of food, we stuck to their Indian dishes and everything we had was super. The quality which stood out most at the Umaid was the impeccable service offered by the staff throughout the hotel. Everyone was friendly, ever so polite and couldn’t do enough for you. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as it is a really beautiful place to be.

Room Tip: There are great offers on for really nice rooms, we got our room through expedia and got a really go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    684
    161
    33
    12
See reviews for
467
681
109
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Summary
Almost as refined as the sister hotel Umaid Bhavan, we would always come back – if Umaid Bhavan is fully booked.

Location
Close to Rani Park, facing a main road in Jaipur in an otherwise residential area.

Rooms
Rooms are installed with Rajasthani furniture, some of them with tiny a balcony grouped around an atrium. Although small and stuffed with furntiure you will find a safe box, a cabinet, A/C, TV and enough space for your luggage. The bathroom is small, but functional.

Pool
Since the pool lies the whole day in the shadow of surrounding buildings, the water is cold. Almost too cold to swim. Once you cope with the temperature, it is refreshing and stimulating, making you hungry for the food in the restaurant.

Food
The restaurant serves an genuinely unpromising mix of Western, Chinese and Indian food. If you go for the Indian, you are on the safe side. Since it is a roof top restaurant, you enjoy nice views over Jaipur and a fresh breeze in the evenings

Annoyance
The pigeons. They use the hotel as their preferred breeding and shitting place. So you hear mating all the time, smell the guano in every room with a window and see the useless measures of the hotel to shudder off and fencing out the animals.Umaid Mahal could start a side business: selling Guano to visitors.

Booked through Interent at hotel site.

Are we returning? Most likely.

Stayed in March 2012, 4 rooms, 1 night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaichgesichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel was clean, rooms were well appointed with decent showers. The pool was a bit small and in a cramped courtyard. Breakfast was not very good but they made an effort once we complained. Reasonably priced and service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokaro Steel City, Jharkhand, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Umaid Mahal for two days from 15.3.2012 to 17.3.2012. Room No 501 is well decorated and spacious room. Breakfast is very good. Room Service is also very good.
Bathroom is
Only minus point is its location. Not easy to find out as it is in non commercial area. No Board outside for display makes it further difficult to locate.
Booking through Travel site is costly. I booked through goibibo.com, the hotel got this booking from travelguru.com. Rates are considerably cheaper when one deals directly with the hotel.(at least 20%)

Room Tip: Deal directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajankumar1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Atmosphere, especially interiar is superb in its decorative work and achievement, facility is nicely arranged like provision of hair dryer, must item for women after shower, with minor defect of loosen tab/faucet at washbasin, food, just breakfast though, is well arranged to referesh and encourage body city tour by coconut role, sweat with mango juice and lemonade. Of course, staff is good enough to bring us chilled mineral water quickly enough to releief throat from being thirsty. Tour manager made a excellent arrangement to assign veteran driver for taxi service which provided best guide especially wife's appeteite for jewelly. Elephant riding, though just for experience, left great memories with us. Lastly may I say and ask you to convey it all of personnel "有難う !” in Japanese. Looking forward to visiting again with my family, friend or clients. Regards,

Room Tip: Quicknes of responses to inquiry or request is to be first thing to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fu-san2012india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aups, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Umaid Mahal three times now and always look forward to my time there. The location is good, the style and decoration very beautiful and the staff extremely helpful. The price remains affordable in a rapidly expanding city/country where elsewhere prices seem to have gone up considerably. Overall it is the hotel I would choose as my favourite in all the places I have stayed in Rajastan. And of course the shopping in Jaipur is just a rickshaw ride away...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathinda, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have stayed for 4 nights and 3 days in Unaid Mehal. but unfortunatily i could'nt get the Hospitality which i was expecting, specialy in jaipur, Room service was very slow including Dinner.I have not been given the exact things which i have booked through net, in totality it was not a good experience inn Umaidh Mehal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eraishwaryagupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
9.7 mi away
Umaid Haveli Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#33 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Property: Umaid Mahal
Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing