We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #24 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

To say that Umaid Mahal is the best budget hotel in Jaipur is the least I can say. Beautiful decor and very helpful staff along with excellent food at the rooftop restaurant. There's a second restaurant by the pool side. Rooms are clean and the service is great. To top it all the tarrif is very affordable . Range is from Rs 1800 onwards for a doble bed room. Mighty pleased to have chosen this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaxdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
There are newer reviews for Umaid Mahal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked a room in Umaid Mahal for some decent stay while in India - in general we mostly used more basic options:) Umaid Mahal was up to our expectations - the place was well-kept and pleasant.

The hotel provided a free transfer from the train-station and the driver waited for us although the train was more then hour late. The service was very friendly and nice.

The exterior of the hotel looks like some kind of old-time Indian palace. Nice! The front-desk staff was efficient and friendly.

Our room was on the first floor - and that was the part we didn´t enjoy. The windows of our room opened into garage for hotel´s vehicles. That mean there were noise and smell every morning (early in the morning) and evening (late in the evening when we got back from tiring city-walks). That was disturbing - both the noise and maybe even more the smell. We couldn´t keep our windows or curtains open. Another disturbance was the fact, that the door was quite thick - or maybe there´s another reason - and every sound from outside the room (from foyer and reception) was completely audible.

The room itself was very clean and kindly decorated - and spacious. The bed was little bit hard - but sleep was quite good despite that. There was a safety-box in the room and we used it - nothing happened. Bathroom was clean with hot water and nice shower.

They served breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. The variety of food was sufficient and served the purpose. Breakfast was good and delicious.

They proved all usual services and we tried their laundry. The quality was OK but there was small misunderstanding with our laundry bag - we just didn´t receive it in time. At first they gave us wrong bag back. And finally it appeared they couldn´t figure out where our stuff was. Luckily they didn´t lose - just the paper with the room number was missing.

The location is not central. Hotel is in mainly residential part of the city. We walked from Umaid Mahal right to the train station - it was quite a long walk but was nice to see the city apart from the centre. The area we walked through seemed safe - at least we (2 young women) felt safe and comfortable.

They have a swimming-pool as well - but we didn´t try one.

In general the place was very nice - except for the inconveniences related to the location of our room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Hotel Categorization and Location:
Umaid Mahal is not a heritage property and is located in a residential area of Jaipur. The hotel is located well in the interiors but I guess is reasonably well known. You may not have a problem reaching it.
The hotel interiors and exteriors are done well to give it a palatial look.

Room:
The room (Royal Deluxe) we got was small than what we expected going by the pictures on the site. When asked we were told that all the 30 odd rooms they have are different in size and layout. So be careful when you opt for rooms. All the rooms have balconies but again one has to be sure what is in front of the balcony. Our room had a dirty wall of the neighbors staring at us. When we asked them for a change, they refused saying all other rooms were occupied. However, as I walked around, I found most of the rooms unoccupied. Some of the rooms were bigger and more spacious that what we were provided.
However, the rooms are all artistically done. Once in the room you feel nice about the stay.

Basic Facilities:
The bath linen they provided was dirty and we had to actually make a couple of calls to get even them in the first place. Laundry service is available though I felt the prices were a tad on the higher side.
The TV was not working when we switched it on. It got fixed only after 7-8 calls and three technician visits. There is a DTH connection available so you will get most of the popular channels.

Food:
The food we ordered for lunch was not up to the mark. Thereafter the remaining meals we had outside the hotel. But the breakfast spread was excellent. Taste wise again, I may not give very high rating to it but the choice was there (Continental and Indian).

I am a simple eater and i get easily pleased with anything that is palatable. The food here failed to do that. In case you love food, and seek perfection then there are better eating options in the city.

Service:
This is one area the hotel needs to improve a lot. You do not find a smile on their face. And nothing comes to you without making an effort. You have to demand for service they do not offer any on their own.

Final Remark:
It is not among the cheaper hotels in the city. You can stay there but eat out. Don’t go to it assuming it to be a heritage building. It is new but built in the old style. Expect basic minimum service. No one is going to delight you.

Room Tip: Pick your room, dont just go by what they give you.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vamsi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

It was a nice stay, although we arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning and thus had no time to fully enjoy it.

Rooms were very nice and the ambience was very cosy. Overall it was a nice experience and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights during a long weekend in August 2011. While the rooms were clean and well furnished, the front office experience from the begining was bad and deteriorated over the duration of our stay.

They gave us a poorly maintained vehicle with a driver who was bent on taking us to places where he could get commission. on the second day when we decided not to use their travel services, the manager and the staff became very cold and unresponsive and 10 mins before we were to leave for our airport drop they said that this drop is chargeable and not part of the package.

In addition, there were a number of hidden costs that came up during our stay. A big suggestion - ensure that you talk about all the minute details before hand and have them on paper. Their reservation manager was quite rude and told us that this is the policy take it or leave it !

All this was so stressful that we were wondering if it was even worth staying there. Take precaution if you are travelling with kids especially!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Srini055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvijay, Manager at Umaid Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Greetings from Umaid mahal hotel in jaipur india and i do not agree with the above review by the guest as the guest did not use our travel desk for touring jaipur they had picked up a driver standing near the hotel who told the guest that they are part of the hotel and also we only offer free pick up from train and bus station but charge for dropping and from airport we charge for pick up as well as dropping and all this is well informed on our home page and also on all confirmed reservation vouchers so pls check with regards Ajay singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We found this lovely spot through MakeMyTrip.com, and we liked this place so much that (although the other hotels we stayed in in Rajasthan were plenty clean and nice), we came back for an extra day. Though the location is a little away from the city center, the Indian breakfast was perfect, the decor adorable, the rooms and public areas clean, and the staff attentive and friendly. If you are looking for a place that is authentic yet affordable, but with a touch of luxury, this is a best bet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIquidLIvingEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were in India for just over 4 weeks this was one of the good hotels we stayed in. The staff were very friendly and we did not have any problen at all. Considering the tariff this was best value for money .I would certainly recomment this to any visitor .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 383 in Jaipur
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#42 of 383 in Jaipur
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing