We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located with right pricing”
Review of Hari Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hari Mahal Palace
Ranked #133 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Centrally located with right pricing”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The property is located in the posh Civil Lines area of Jaipur. As with many properties in Jaipur, as also in Rajasthan, the main residence of the property is 'Heritage'. To make it more appealing to the travellers, it could do with a coat of paint!!

Having said that, the accommodations are wonderful, well maintained. Being a budget category heritage property, one should not expect the moon. I stayed for a night and stayed at the serviced apartments behind the main hotel. Unfortunately for me, the room allotted to me was facing the railway tracks running behind the property, and the frequent train whistles and chugging was indeed disturbing. Wish the management consider double glazing the rear facing rooms, for greater guest comfort. The beds were almost period furniture, so the feeling was great indeed...one doesn't get that stuff in the 5 star hotels of today. the wall paintings added to the sense of being in a heritage property. the large sitout at Level One in the serviced apartments, with comfortable seating options, was indeed refreshing, especially in the morning! The bathrooms were clean, but the floor tiles were slippery. Maybe that's another area the property owners need to look at- from a safety aspect.

Since I was with a group of colleagues, the buffet layouts in the lawns were adequate. I didn't enquire of any restaurant in the property, so cannot comment on those. The staff has basic training, and one must understand the 'tourist mindset' engrained in them. by that I specifically mean that they will take you more casually than may be the need of the hour. To reinforce my point, a colleague's baggage was misplaced, and incorrectly delivered to another room...we had booked about 15 rooms... But search as they did over 4-5 hours, it could not be located. It was only after we ourselves sat down with their security and saw CCTV footage that we were able to locate it! So I guess some more training is required on this front.

Do I fault this hotel overall? No. Far from it. I like the idea of a former royalty of Rajasthan converting its property to commercial use in order to share & celebrate its heritage with those who value it. My suggestions of improvements in service and quality are in that context and to be taken in that spirit.

Would I recommend this property to others? Yes! And wish for improvements to happen...

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shilendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us . We were delighted to go through your positive review which we have shared with our staff as such reviews encourage them to improve on their performances &thus making it easier for us to keep our guests and visitors happy and comfortable.
First of all please accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the passing trains. I am sure that you will appreciate the fact that there is nothing we can do about this.As suggested by you we shall consider afixing double glazed sound proof glass panes on our windows,during our next renovation schedule.Your sincerity is amazing Sir , and I assure you that all your comments have been soaked in by us ,and accordingly, we assure you upgradation and improvement of our services and facilities . Please do revisit our hotel and give us the opportunity of looking after you
once again.
Yours Sincerely,
Andrew H Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    23
    19
    15
See reviews for
93
38
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

First, as mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is next to the train station, with terrible noise throughout day and night.
The stunning pictures are just a few suites in the main building. The rest of the rooms (superior rooms) are situated in an apartment building at the back and are truly not up to standard. This is false advertising. (see my pictures) There is nothing "heritage" here.
There is no lounge area. the dining room is a tiny cold pavilion in the garden. Breakfast 7 to 10 was not ready well after 7 so I decided to leave.
Reception staff is poorly mannered.
Avoid absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for posting your views and opinion about Harimahal on tripadviser . Firstly, please accept our unconditional apologies for the disturbance caused by the passing trains,and behavior of our personnel . The F&B department has also been reprimanded regarding the delay in B/Fast Buffet lay out .Further,we were quite concerned on going through your comments regarding false advertising on our part and your view.... " there is nothing Heritage about Harimahal ". .For your information dear guest, we are a genuine Heritage property and the royal family of Achrol ,a small town close to Jaipur, still lives in the ground floor of the property and has been doing so since 1930 . The Hotel portion consists of 11 well appointed Suites on the top floors. Our website is very clear that we also have another set of rooms in the service apartments adjoining the main building and we have never advertised that these rooms are Heritage .We ensure that our guests are alotted rooms according to their selection of the accomodation they require at the time of booking. Our Hotel is very centrally located in the posh and much acclaimed Civil lines area of Jaipur, close to the chief Minister's residence and has always fetched top marks , locationwise.. Maybe the heavy construction work of the prestigeous Metro Project close to our perimeters prompted your negative opinion of our location.
Please be assured that should you revisit us your opinion of the facilities and services at harimahal will most definately prompt a positive review .
Yours sincerely ,
Andrew Alexander
.









furnished
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is good hotel for staying in jaipur on budgeted rates, first welcoming on the reception then move into the good rooms.
just little noise of train, otherwise good service and nice rooms and at a nice location in town center .... excellent!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_ghanshyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your excellent review on tripadvisor . We have shared this review with our entire team at Hari mahal . We appreciate the fact that such positive reviews encourage us to constantly upgrade our facilities and services so as to ensure, that each and every guest carries home happy memories of their stay with us....... we look forward to your next visit ,when we shall be delighted to look after you once again.
Yours Sincerely ,
Andrew Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hari Mahal is a Heritage Property in central Jaipur. A large palace with large rooms and a very large garden in front. An oasis in the city. The rooms have picqturesque charm and the staff is most friendly and alert. If you enjoy staying in a living legend this is definitly a place to used. The main rail road runs just behind the property,but once you have understood that it is only the trains that roar by and not an earth quake, you do not notice it much. Hari Mahal is to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,
We were happy to read your positive review about Harimahal,its ambience in general, and the freindliness and alertness of our staff. Please accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the trains passing by on the railway lines located close to our premises . We assure you that our staff is totally committed to providing the best possible services to all guests and visitors, so much so that they remember us long after they have checked out . Thank you dear guest.
for sparing some of your precious time for posting this review.
yours sincerely ,
Andrew Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days, we had a huge room in the main palace with a dressing room and large bathroom. There was also a nice long balcony to sit on. The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was taken outside on the lawn and had a good selection and there was traditional entertainment in the evening. The only issue was with their plumbing, we had no water in the hot water tap one morning but they did sort it. Of course the train noise cannot be sorted, the location is good as not far from the shopping area by auto rickshaw. Pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinChimneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your excellent review of our facilities ,our cuisine and the services that we provide to our Guests . .We have shared your views with our entire team since such positive comments encourage all of us do our utmost to keep our guests so happy and comfortable, that they recommend our hotel to all their acquaintances . We really do appreciate the fact that you realize that we cannot do anything about the railway tracks close to our perimeter .
Thanks once again for your sincere comments and understanding.
Yours sincerely,
Andrew Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Reviews only about Deluxe room

Pros:-
Nice & clean room
Great food
Lawns

Cons:-
Next to railway track
Two single beds joined to make a double bed causing a big gap between the mattresses
Dressing space

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank INDERDEEP SINGH N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sparing precious minutes to review your stay with us. We were glad to learn that you were happy with the services that we provide and the quality of our cuisine.Please do accept our unconditional apologies for the disturbance caused by the trains passing by on the railway tracks close to our hotel premises. We have also noted your comments about being provided with two single beds joined together in lieu of a double bed , and we apologize for the discomfort thus caused. We look forward to your next visit , when we assure you that a proper king sized bed shall be provided., and we shall be happy to look after you once again.
Yours Sincerely
Andrew Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There's a lot of difference between the deluxe suites and the service apartments. The deluxe ones are really amazing in the main heritage building in front of a gorgeous lawn and the service apartments are pretty clean with all necessary facilities.

The morning breakfast in the lawn and the evening cultural shows are the main highlights. The location of the hotel is quite pleasant, a posh area in Civil Lines, pretty near to the railway station.

I recommend this to most people who want to go on a budget trip to Jaipur, but want to have a comfortable stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeshan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewjaipur, Manager at Hari Mahal Palace, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadviser. Your positive comments of our hotel as well as your appreciation of our facilities & services have been shared with our staff . We all look forward to your next visit, which will give us an opportunity to serve you once again
Yours sincerely,
Andrew Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Flute Boutique Hotel
Flute Boutique Hotel
#126 of 386 in Jaipur
227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#105 of 386 in Jaipur
286 reviews
8.5 mi away
Talaibagh Palace
Talaibagh Palace
#2 of 4 in Amer
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Traditional Haveli Hotel
1.3 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 386 in Jaipur
858 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#99 of 386 in Jaipur
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hari Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hari Mahal Palace

Property: Hari Mahal Palace
Address: Jacob Road, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#44 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#49 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#64 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hari Mahal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hari Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hari Mahal Palace Jaipur
Hari Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing