We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suffocate to Death”
Review of Hari Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hari Mahal Palace
Ranked #140 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suffocate to Death”
Reviewed November 18, 2007

This was my third stay at this hotel in last one year. I myself have referred this hotel to many a foreign tourists from my office also, but won't recommend it any longer. This time it was the worst of all. Firstly, this is a nicely decorated and maintained Heritage Hotel. I always stay in the heritage section of this hotel, which is very tastefully decorated and maintained. The biggest problem here is that since this hotel is next to a railway track there was a huge disturbance at nights. So what these people have done is closed all of the windows and made them soundproof. This step is sounding very good, but they never ever thought of something called "VENTILATION" in the rooms. Worst of all the exhaust fan installed in the bathroom (which could have helped) had just the outer covering installed but not the FAN. It was awfully suffocating. At night when we complained about it, the hotel staff were so reluctant to admit their faults and were least cooperative. They told us that's the way it is and we've to stay in these suffocating CELLS for the rest of the night. I took a drastic step and checked out at that time only. Above all they never even cared about calling back and apologising. Firstly it was the hotel and now its the staff. So, my recommendation would be to never ever have this hotel, rest if someone wants to only enhale CARBON MONOXIDE then most welcome..

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SumitSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    23
    19
    15
See reviews for
91
37
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed at the Hari Mahal Palace for 4 nights, and were really pleased with the overall experience. The hotel has a nice heritage feel to it, and the suites in the main building are really big and nice. The service is smart and meets your expectations most of the times. The staff was always friendly throughout the stay

  • Liked — They also have a beautiful pool which is not heavily advertised
  • Disliked — Some noise of trains
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We were looking forward to our stay at this hotel, as we booked it via the internet and the description and photographs of an elegant colonial mansion set in beautiful gardens was very appealing. The approach and the hotel itself were very grand you could imagine the Maharaja living there in splendour. The first impressions were great, until we heard the horrendous loud noise of a train approaching, and in India, the trains certainly let you know they are there! We then discovered the hotel backs onto the main railway station. The noise continued all through the day and night at regular intervals, so we had very little sleep, and were forced to move on the following day.

A great shame, as the hotel itself was quite unique and would have made an interesting stay. We did, however, discover a lovely restaurant at the entrance to the hotel, called The Spice Court. It's an old colonial pavillion and meals are served on the terrace and in the garden with delicious food and good service.

  • Liked — Spacey, characterful, interesting
  • Disliked — NOISE
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Stayed one night (29 April 2007) and would not wish to stay again.

The hotel shows promise but was generally disappointing. Rooms are large but need some refurbishment, a good scrub, and some maintenance work. The high ceilings, historic pictures and big comfortable beds are rather let down by the tacky plastic clock on the mantelpiece. The air-conditioning equipment also seems inadequate for the size of the rooms.

Don't even dream of using the internet here. It's four times the price of local cybercafes and the printer on the table next to the computer is just for show - and they don't tell you it's not connected until you've wasted half an hour trying to print an important document followed by constant unfulfilled promises that someone will come to fix it in ten minutes.

Oh, and the railway line with 24-hour rumbling and sounding of the trains' horns will disturb your dinner with music and puppet show, your breakfast, and your sleep.

On balance, find another hotel!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

My husband and i were really looking forward to staying here after reading the positive reviews, however we were very disappointed by our stay and would certainly not return here. Like a previous lady reviewer who indicated that the staff appeared to be judgemental we were made to feel guilty about selecting a double rather than twin room because they assumed we were not married (i have not taken my husband's name).

Jaipur is a hectic and dirty city and i had hoped that our hotel would be a refuge from which you could relex after a busy day of sight seeing. Unfortunately the individuals who put on the second rate entertainment (music and puppet show) simply put the miminmal amount of effort required into their performance in order to earn rather than beg for your ruppees. Again like another reviewer the train noise was difficult to ignore at times and even the puppet guys stopped to let the trains pass before resuming their "act".

We stayed in the King Suite and the bedroom looked exactly as featured on the website which is very nice, but there is a reason that the bathroom is not shown. The bath was a second/ third / forth-hand which was ill fitted and looked as if it was just dumped in the corner of the room. It was originally white but was grey with dark grey streaks all over it. General bathroom cleanliness was also questionable (but we were in India). Given the other reviews i can only trust that no-one else had this bathroom. We probably should have complained but we were just too stressed out on arrival to make a scene.

We ate in the hotel and the food was good - no tummy trouble which is good going given my senstiive disposition.

Checking out was a nightmare it took nearly 25 minutes. The owner knew we had a train to catch but did not hurry. He then appeared to go through a pantomine of unsuccessfully putting our cards through the machine (we had no trouble with them at any other time during our trip). We believe this was probably done to make us pay cash. There were no apologies for the inconvenience this caused despite us having to stop by a bank to get more money before catching our train.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Bathroom, train noise, front desk staff & "entertainement"
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Stayed here for two nights in a huge room. Our family had all three rooms on one floor of the building. The place has retained its old features and is still very comfortable.

My major complaint is that the railway line runs behind the hotel and trains run all night. They blow their loud horns as they enter Jaipur for approximately 1 minute each hour. This bothered most of my family!

Other than that, I concur with other reviewers - a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadwell_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed at the Hari Mahal Palace for 4 nights, and were really pleased with the overall experience. The hotel has a nice heritage feel to it, and the suites in the main building are really nice. The service is smart and meets your expectations most of the times. Just one thing to take care of while booking this place - the hotel has introduced apartment rooms as well, which are in no way "heritage" like, and are in a new building behind the main hotel building; so if you want a heritage feel i your holiday, please make sure that you are getting the suite rooms in the main building, and not the apartment rooms.

  • Liked — nice heritage feel to the entire place
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holidays_r_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.0 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#99 of 382 in Jaipur
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 382 in Jaipur
852 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khandela Haveli
Khandela Haveli
#42 of 382 in Jaipur
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fortune Park Bella Casa
Fortune Park Bella Casa
#132 of 382 in Jaipur
643 reviews
18.3 mi away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#78 of 382 in Jaipur
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Traditional Haveli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hari Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hari Mahal Palace

Property: Hari Mahal Palace
Address: Jacob Road, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#47 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#49 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#65 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hari Mahal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hari Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hari Mahal Palace Jaipur
Hari Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing