We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you are an Indian civilian”
Review of Shahar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shahar Palace
Ranked #91 of 530 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2009

To be fair - the positives first. Very nice surroundings, well-maintained, quiet and clean. We even had a peacock outside our room one morning.
Beware, though, if you are an Indian and not an army person. The owner, being an ex-army man, has scant regard for civilians of his own country. His wife takes on the same attitude, and, not surprisingly, so does the cook, and the attendants! Find fault with anything (we did with cold, very late food) and they will literally slam the door shut in your face unless you are a white or an army person yourself. Have a problem in your room and ring the call bell? You can lie in solitude waiting for help. We escalated this rudeness and indifference to the owner and his attitude was simply that "our civilians only know how to complain despite being so well taken care of by the armed forces". They know which side their bread is buttered - they know the whites get them the $. Beware of attitude problems here!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DrRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

We had a fantastic time staying with Mr Singh and his wife at Sharar Palace, they have an amazing house set in tranquil gardens and very accessible to the city. Mr Singh was very helpful and friendly and collected us from the airport (for free!). We had a super room overlooking the garden with a lovely terrace where we had breakfast and a "sundowner" drink. heir regular tuk tuk driver took us around the city which made sightseeeing much easier and stress free. I would highly recommend staying here, it's wonderfully quiet and the Singh's are a really lovely, interesting family. A wonderful stay, we only wish we could have stayed longer.
Becky (London)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mew_becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

It’s a gem of a place to stay, especially in Jaipur which can be an exhausting for the even the most robust tourist…. It’s a small hotel, owned by a retired army officer and his wife, so it is not surprising to find that everything runs like clockwork. The rooms are pristine, everything works, beds are comfortable, service is impeccable and the food is good. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. What makes the hotel stand head-and-shoulders above its competitors, however, is the ambience of the place. You are given a non-intrusive warm welcome and made to feel like a real guest of the household, not just another paying customer. The hotel is in a tranquil garden setting –each room (I think) has a patio or balcony allowing you relax in peace watching the plethora of birdlife. It’s a haven of peace which is what you need in Jaipur where the touts are particularly aggressive. There are differing categories of rooms – clientele seemed to be both young and not-so-young. Have a look at their website, www.sharharpalace.com. It was the best value-for-money we found in Rajasthan and the nicest place too (and we stayed at some pretty nice places).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank babyboomerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 6 week holiday in northwest India. We had a lot of hassle and problems with touts in several of the places we stayed in but this place was completely different. The couple that run it are delightful, very helpful and not at all pushy. The rooms are spacious and clean and well-equipped and the hotel is set in a wonderful garden with peacocks and some chickens. They also have a lovely shih-tzu dog, Buddy! We had several meals there either in our room or in the lovely dining room. The food was excellent, vegetarian and gently spiced. It was excellent value for money and I would strongly recommend this place to anyone that was visiting Jaipur as despite feeling that you were somewhere remote you were only 3km from the centre of the city and 2km from the railway station.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Baz_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ileny87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaharpalace, General Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: en haut le petit balcon style palais est agreable et vous pouvez admirer les peintures sur les murs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lavasoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaharpalace, General Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natdumbadze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
Ginger Hotel Jaipur
#43 of 393 in Jaipur
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#25 of 393 in Jaipur
1,232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#79 of 393 in Jaipur
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#36 of 393 in Jaipur
1,497 reviews
0.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 393 in Jaipur
3,826 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#13 of 393 in Jaipur
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahar Palace

Address: Barwara House Colony, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 530 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $21 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shahar Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shahar Palace is owned by the formal royal family of Shahar, Colonel Virendra Singh (retd) and his wife Nalini.The Heritage Hotel provides some of the finest accommodation in Jaipur, with a host of comforts and services in a truly regal ambiance.It's exterior design and gardens all reflect the spirit of Rajasthan, its heritage and royal traditions. Besides the grand residences of Chief Minister and Governor of Rajasthan, the area is renowned for its greenery, peace and quiet ambiance. Hotel Shahar Palace has also been recommended as one of the best budget Jaipur Hotel by the Lonely Planet Guide to Rajasthan , RoughGuide Jaipur , Love Jaipur by Fiona Caufield , German & Japanese guide book to Jaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shahar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing