We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners Ignored Us”
Review of Hotel Madhuban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Madhuban
Ranked #67 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    160
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
78
168
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

The place is fine for the price but I think it is overrated. We stayed here in Feb 2007 in the Royal Suite ($60). This and other sites make a big deal of a 'friendly and warm' staff and owners. Well, no-one talks to you. I did not even get a hello from Mr and Mrs Dicky although I ran into them several times. They were very warm on the phone and email, however.

The breakfast ok but not freshly cooked. We avoided the restaurant for lunch or dinner as it looked very empty and devoid of life.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable.

They sent us their own driver (Mr Sethi) to pick up at the airport (Rs 350). I highly recommend Mr Sethi, we hired him for the next two days in Jaipur. He was very patient, speaks very good English and was a great guide as well. If possible book him in advance for your out of Jaipur trips.

He was unavailable for our Agra trip. So we hired a driver from Mr Chetan. Driver is Mr Kishore. Avoid this company and this driver ! They set us up with a 'free' guide at Taj Mahal who was only interested in steering us to his 'Star of India' diamond shop! Mr Kishore is also a terrible arrogant driver and we had near misses at several spots while driving. At one point he was so close to an oncoming vehicle that the vehicle knocked out the driver side mirror ! Very frightful.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank BostonMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

I found my experience at the Madhuban strange. When I booked this hotel the manager Dicky couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Since I returned I have had an email hoping I had a good time but I have to say that apart from the owners charming wife who we would meet at breakfast we found this the most unfriendly place we stayed during our 17 nights in India.

Having had such gushing emails from the owner I at least expected him to say hello but although he could clearly be seen around in the background he made no attempt to speak to us at all. In fact one morning when I asked a member of his staff about exchange rates for travellers cheques, the member of staff asked Dickie (the owner) who was standing next to him and after telling the member of staff the low rate to offer me he walked off without even making eye contact. I also found this the only place in India where if I smiled at members of staff they didn't smile back.

We had an OK meal in the restaurant made unpleasant by a row of staff literally standing in front of us and staring and no attempts could get them to smile. If you use the restaurant sit at the back where you can't be stared at.

To be fair the room was spotlessly clean but the smallest we stayed in, in India and certainly not the best value or welcoming.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We (family of three with a teenager) stayed here for 4 nights in two separate suites and were impressed with how clean and comfortable the rooms were. The hotel is in a three storey building and the location is a block off the main road (near the Collector's Circle) so noise levels are relatively low. The suites had private bathrooms which were clean and functional with running hot water (solar powered on sunny days). The suites have marble flooring with storage areas and a comfortable king sized bed (you can request an additional bed if needed). There is a couch, some chairs and a TV, though if you care, the signal strength was weak for some channels.

There is a lovely garden to sit, sip tea and read the paper, or check out the local wildlife - pigeons and chipmunks mainly. There are some peahens in the neighboring yard (not visible from the garden) which you see from higher vantage points like the patio/terraces at different levels. This is also great for watching the sunset or take in views of the city.

The restaurant serves a nice breakfast as well as lunch and dinner if you don't feel like going out every day. They also have a car and driver you can engage to see the sights. This is a much better alternative to taking an auto-rickshaw which, in my opinion, given the craziness of the local traffic, can be very stressful!

All in all an excellent, reasonably priced hotel.

--Suresh

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SSMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Loved the Madhuban. We were travelling with a six-month old baby, and Madhuban kindly provided us with a basinet. The Bani Park is a quiet neighborhood, though not distant from the city. Very clean and elegant and will definitely stay here again. This hotel has a combined gratuity system, where you can give the whole amount at the cashier. But this causes a lot of grumbles, as the employees don't seem to have bought into this.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank musicandarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

Me and my friend stayed at Madhuban last november and loved it. After being in terrible hotels in Delhi and Agra this place was heaven. I loved the garden, I think you really need some green in a overwhelming and dirty place like India. The restaurant was fine, delicous banana lassi! Our room was very nice too, great bed, nice bathroom. The staff was somewhat grumpy though.

I would definetely recommend this place to my friends!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Traditional Haveli Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#100 of 382 in Jaipur
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#124 of 382 in Jaipur
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dera Rawatsar
Dera Rawatsar
#20 of 382 in Jaipur
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#10 of 382 in Jaipur
458 reviews
2.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#102 of 382 in Jaipur
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madhuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madhuban

Property: Hotel Madhuban
Address: D - 237 Madhuban Bihari Marg | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#39 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#51 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madhuban 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madhuban is the home of Rao Digvijay Singh Patan and his family. Madhuban has been designed with the guest in mind. We have tried to create an atmosphere that makes you feel truly at home. All the rooms have been furnished with period furniture and designed around the royal heritage of Rajputana,Showcasing the skill and expertise of the Rajasthani artisan. The rooms are large and airy, and despite the hustle and bustle of the city being less than ten minutes away, the rooms are also very quiet. All our rooms have clean and well designed bathrooms, with hot and cold running water. The royal suite comes with a whirlpool. And our suites and super-deluxe rooms have bathtubs. You can also enjoy Free Wi FI access everywhere in the hotel. And we have an in-house generator for 100% power back up whenever needed . Hotel Madhuban and the Patan family tries its best to make sure you have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Madhuban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madhuban Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing