We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely furnished rooms, a real treat.”
Review of Hotel Madhuban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Madhuban
Ranked #67 of 389 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Loved our beautifully furnished room. arrived tired & dusty late at night & there was still plenty of hot water. Breakfast is in a very nice lawned garden (not a muddy yard) surrounded by trees, flowering vines & potted plants. Puppet shows & entertainment is sometimes laid on here in the evening & the aroma from the roses is heavenly. There is a nice small pool to cool off in, we swam in it & it was perfectly clean. If you bother to explore there are other seating areas to sit & relax. We ate at the restaurant each night & had no complaints exept possibly that they don't appear to serve beer (maybe we should have asked), but the lassi's were great. The hotel is in a fairly quiet location, just a short rickshaw drive from the Palace & bazaars.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 432 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

We had a really very nice room with a fantastic bed into a great decorated building & a nice garden. The breakfast in the garden was very good & the dinner room was very nice too. It was not so central as we thought & we didn´t have seen the swimming pool, they show in internet. The staff was very polite & friendly & we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viaxeiro_solar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The hotel is beautiful and completely reach western standards. The rooms are nicely decorated, large and very, very clean, and the beds are really comfortable. However some of the staff seemed haughty and unfriendly, which was a shame - this stopped me feeling completely relaxed and at home here.

There is a garden to eat/relax in, and a beautifully decorated restaurant, although I thought the food only average, and fairly expensive, (we preferred Gayatri's nearby, basic decor but better food and enormous portions at a fraction of the price - turn left out of the hotel, left at the crossroads, and the restaurant is a short distance down on the opposite side of the road).

The hotel is a little way out of town, which makes it very quiet and relaxing, and there are plenty of autos in the area to zip into town (about 10-15 mins).

The hotel will also arrange drivers/trips for you, but these again are very expensive, compared to directly negotiating with a driver. I'd much do the latter - not so much to save myself money, as to spread the tourist wealth around a little!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaugoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Madhuban was my find online and also having seen it on Alistair Sawday's review......I THINK I MADE A WONDERFUL DECISION for my family and friends to stay here (we had taken a suite and a deluxe bedroom). When in Jaipur the beauty is to experience a haveli (nothing like it if family run) stay......
One should not expect a "typical formal hotel hotel ambience"...(which we are doing most of the time we travel)
My family n extended family was amazed by the extremely courteous and helpful staff (that never frowned inspite of work pressures we saw), Mr. Dicky's personal care and interaction on a daily basis with all the inhouse guests incl. us was a wonderful experience. In terms of guest amenities and cleanliness we would give a 9/10.....:) Wifi was an eye opener with its speed and easy connectivity. We would also rate the staff 9/10 for their prompt response and EVER-smiling service. Madhuban is definitely the place to stay while in Jaipur!! Frm Kathmandu-Nepal!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarshaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The hotel was nice, no frill room but we booked a lower cost one. No hot water. Wifi which was nice. The food was great, and the garden a nice oasis and the pool would be nice in warmer weather. The staff, although not unpleasant, were not overly friendly either. I saw Mr SIngh around all the time watching the staff like a mother hen and he never once talked to us or smiled. He seemed to be very stern all the time, not warm and friendly and that translated to his staff as well. You just never got that warm feeling like you did at other hotels we stayed in in India. That being said I would stay there again, the room was good value and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Having thoroughly investigated many hotels in Jaipur, based on cost, location and other traveller reviews, we eventually chose Madhuban after reading about it in the guide "Alistair Sawday's Special Places To Stay".
Well... all I can say is it must have changed a lot since Mr Sawday visited.
Our room, whilst clean and reasonably spacious, was basic in the extreme and noisy too (the hotel is located on the corner of two side streets which are NOT quiet). Furthermore, a pigeon had taken up residency on the air con unit so we were constantly hearing it cooing and calling. There are millions of pigeons living at this hotel, so as a result the pool was FILTHY and definitely represented a health hazard. I wish I had taken photos to show you.
The concierge was helpful enough, but nothing to write home about. In fact we felt as though we were being a nuisance with our requests. The owner, far from showing the welcome Mr Sawday described, was hardly to be seen and did not provide information he had promised at the time I made the reservation. I had thought that having written to him in advance of our visit, he might be more caring, but it was not to be!
The garden is a muddy yard, surrounded by trees housing all sorts of creatures like pigeons and squirrels (Indian squirrels are not like English squirrels - they are more like chipmunks). To reach the garden one must walk through what seems to be the service areas of the hotel. Breakfast was poorly cooked and eating in the garden was unpleasant.
Dinner is offered at the hotel, but the menu is limited and basic and I would not recommend eating there. We tried to order at 9.30pm and were subjected to foot tapping inpatience due to the kitchen closing. We opted for a cheese toasty and downed it in a rush!
The hotel location is not walking distance from the Pink City - more like a hike.
All-in-all this was a real waste of money. At least it was somewhere to rest, but was definitely NOT the haven it's described as, which would have been nice in such a busy city as Jaipur. I wish we had stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

the staff are very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable with good beds. Although not in a 'budget' pricerange, the rates are reasonable considering the level of service. No complaints! There is also a nice garden area and the small pool must be a bonus in hotter months of the year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jems_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 389 in Jaipur
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#105 of 389 in Jaipur
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 389 in Jaipur
1,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khandela Haveli
Khandela Haveli
#43 of 389 in Jaipur
347 reviews
2.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#97 of 389 in Jaipur
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madhuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madhuban

Address: D - 237 Madhuban Bihari Marg | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#39 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#51 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $41 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madhuban 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madhuban is the home of Rao Digvijay Singh Patan and his family. Madhuban has been designed with the guest in mind. We have tried to create an atmosphere that makes you feel truly at home. All the rooms have been furnished with period furniture and designed around the royal heritage of Rajputana,Showcasing the skill and expertise of the Rajasthani artisan. The rooms are large and airy, and despite the hustle and bustle of the city being less than ten minutes away, the rooms are also very quiet. All our rooms have clean and well designed bathrooms, with hot and cold running water. The royal suite comes with a whirlpool. And our suites and super-deluxe rooms have bathtubs. You can also enjoy Free Wi FI access everywhere in the hotel. And we have an in-house generator for 100% power back up whenever needed . Hotel Madhuban and the Patan family tries its best to make sure you have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Madhuban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madhuban Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing