We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic building with a relaxing garden”
Review of Hotel Madhuban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Madhuban
Ranked #70 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our three nights in this delightful heritage hotel. It was a beautfully restored historic building with family souvenirs and photos around. It was very clean and comfortable and the service of the staff was friendly and attentive. We especially loved the garden with its tables and chairs and being able to relax there with a cup of tea at the end of the afternoon. Our room was on the ground floor at the back and was large and comfortable though the bathroom was very cramped. The other problem with it was that every evening when we were there, up till 9 p.m there were drummers just outside our room, literally drumming up spectators for their puppet show in the garden. The restaurant in the hotel was very good . The food was excellent and we appreciated being able to get good European- style food on occasion for a change.We warmly recommend this hptel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Madhuban
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 430 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. It was possible to have a hot shower. The hotel has wifi and internet. The staff were helpful, attentive and not at all pushy. Every day from 4-6pm there was complimentary tea and coffee and newspapers in the pretty and well-tended garden. There was a lonely, miserable looking rabbit in a small cage and caged birds which put a bit of a dampener on the otherwise pleasant garden experience for me. The hotel restaurant was perfectly decent, although without a smidgen of atmosphere. The hotel is pretty calm and tranquil and is a welcome respite from the hassle of going into Jaipur. It is an attractive building and has some terraces which you can sit out on in the evening. It is located in an area outside of the centre of Jaipur and you will need to take a tuk-tuk to move about. There is a useful convenience shop for snacks etc on a side street behind the hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katrina2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is an old traditional building which has been totally restored, so the rooms are beautiful, with large, comfortable beds, a large armoir, marble floors and BR with everything you need (including hair dryer).
The restaurant offers a small but focused menu, and the food is great. Even though is slightly overpriced, it´s still a good choice if you decide not to leave the hotel for lunch or dinner.
Breakfats is buffet (there´s no room service) and it includes eggs, cereal, juice, filtered coffee, toasts, fruit and somosas.
There´s a lovely courtyard where you can quietly hang out, read a book or play with the dog. They serve complimentary tea and coffee in the evening, and there´s a daily puppet show at night (nothing like the puppet shows in the West, let me tell you).
The staff were all very helpful; the hotel offers free pick up from the train station, taxi to the airport (not free), money exchange, free wi-fi.
There are two things I would improve: you have to get a wi-fi access code every 12 hours. Since I stayed here for five days it´s kind of a nuisance going down to the reception to get the paper slip with the code (it can´t be done over the phone).
The other is that use mosquito spray in the courtyard at night, which really smells and stinks up the rooms on the ground floor. We had to be moved to another room, which was noisy due to construction work in progress across the street.
Besides that, the hotel itself is an oasis in the craziness of Jaipur. It´s also easy to find transport to the old city; a rickshaw ride should cost you about 50-60 rupees for the 10 mins it will take to get there (don´t pay more). There are usually 2 or 3 rickshaws right outside the hotel so you don´t even have to walk far.
Additionally, they have a yoga academy next door which offers early morning classes, and they have a deal with an Ayurveda center for massages and beauty treatments which you can get at really good prices.
Overall, a good choice all around for about USD$40-50.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the courtyard, not the street. Those are really noisy since traffic starts earl...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaston3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a charming and inexpensive hotel with a nice yard and breakfast room. I slept well in a quiet room in the back and enjoyed the crepes they served for breakfast. I was surprised at the charm of the house because it was not visible from the street. The painted designs were lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were received very nicely by the manager, the concierge and quite some staff members to help us with the luggage. Staff was nice, attentive and not pushy at all.
Hotel is very silently located in the Bani Park colony, which is a little far to walk, the west gate Chandhipol is about 15-20 minutes by foot, but there are bicycle rikshas and autos around. Nice, small garden with seating possibilities in the back with free afternoon tea.
Nice old heritage building turned into a hotel. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms clean and well-maintained (means in India: shower hot and running, not dropping). Beds were ok, but simple and not the most comfortable. Didn't have breakfast as we left early.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballerstaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our room had a four poster bed with a rock-hard mattress, but we did have a bath with hot water; a rarity on the tour so far!
There is a large lawn at the back.
The restaurant was very basic. We chose a Thali for dinner, which was average, There was no liquor licence. We were disconcerted to see a mouse run across the floor.
Vegetables were prepared in a grubby nook off the restaurant, by boys sitting on the floor, surrounded by heaps of peas etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKI010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

After a long drive from Delhi we were relieved to find ourselves at the Madhuban, a pleasant mid-range property in a suburb of Jaipur. It's a 10 minute auto rickshaw ride from the insanely noisy and colourful centre of Jaipur and while we were initially disappointed by this, it was a pleasure to get back after a hard day's haggling and relax in the peaceful garden before gearing ourselves up to prepare for the evening. Breakfast was fine although I would have liked Indian food over a Western offering. The room was clean and furnished authentically and it was one of our favourite places to stay throughout our 3 week trip to India. There's an ATM a short walk away which came in handy. Travelled in Dec 2011, only just getting round to reviewing now.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#110 of 383 in Jaipur
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#98 of 383 in Jaipur
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#10 of 383 in Jaipur
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Traditional Haveli Hotel
0.3 mi away
Om Niwas
Om Niwas
#73 of 383 in Jaipur
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madhuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madhuban

Address: D - 237 Madhuban Bihari Marg | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#39 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#51 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $40 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madhuban 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madhuban is the home of Rao Digvijay Singh Patan and his family. Madhuban has been designed with the guest in mind. We have tried to create an atmosphere that makes you feel truly at home. All the rooms have been furnished with period furniture and designed around the royal heritage of Rajputana,Showcasing the skill and expertise of the Rajasthani artisan. The rooms are large and airy, and despite the hustle and bustle of the city being less than ten minutes away, the rooms are also very quiet. All our rooms have clean and well designed bathrooms, with hot and cold running water. The royal suite comes with a whirlpool. And our suites and super-deluxe rooms have bathtubs. You can also enjoy Free Wi FI access everywhere in the hotel. And we have an in-house generator for 100% power back up whenever needed . Hotel Madhuban and the Patan family tries its best to make sure you have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Madhuban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madhuban Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing