We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely BnB in Jaipur”
Review of Khatu Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khatu Haveli
Ranked #17 of 507 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely BnB in Jaipur”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the Courtyard Rooms at Khatu Haveli for 4 nights. This was our first time together in Jaipur and we eschewed staying at a 5 star hotel to stay at this family run BnB. We could not have made a better choice! Khatu Haveli is run by Brigadier Amar Singh and his lovely family. When we arrived at Khatu Haveli, we knew we had discovered something special. The Haveli is Mr.Singh's family home and has been around for about 150 years. The Haveli has been recently restored with beautiful mirror work and traditional courtyards and wall decorations. Our room was nice, clean and comfortable and with a large bathroom attached. However the best part of our stay was the warm and generous hospitality showered upon us by the Singh family. Every night we were served the choicest Rajasthani dishes - each meal was better than the last one! The family would sit down for the meal with us and we would share our daily escapades with them. Breakfast was as per choice and every night we could pre-order a breakfast of our choice. Mr and Mrs Singh arranged a car for our sight seeing. Since they are old timers, they gave us some good sight seeing and shopping tips which we would not have figured out using our guide books. Come new year's eve, the family invited us for their celebrations. We had an amazing evening gorging on traditional meat barbeque, drinking and dancing. We were really made to feel like we were a part of Mr. Singh's family. When we were settling our bill, we felt very odd paying them cash as our stay at Khatu haveli felt as if we had stayed with our relatives. Khatu Haveli is located inside the old city walls of Jaipur. The old city is quaint and charming but also has narrow lanes and can be quite, as some might put it, "characterful". Let this not put you off. The Haveli itself is very peaceful and quiet and is a slice of real India!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    28
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
78
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very comfortable haveli in Jaipur, The hotel is very clean, with good furniture and all modern optionals (wifi, tv, coffee or tea in room, AC....) in an ancient charming structure well-restored. The Owners belong to a noble family of the region and are very kind, full of attentions to make your stay the most pleasant they can. Don't give up to try the excellent cuisine of the restaurant, full of very tasty traditional dishes. The breakfast is rich and very good.
In this haveli you feel like a Raja

Room Tip: We stayed in the normal room at the ground floor, is big and confortable. The suites at the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gioby65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Haveli is Strategically tucked in the middle of the bustling streets where one can experience the local bazaar, culture and colour of the Pink city of Jaipur but once inside the resort it still gives you the peace and serenity one would expect on a peaceful holiday.
Being a family run establishment we experienced the best hospitability of the Shekhawat family and experienced the best Jaipur cuisine ranging from the authentic Laal Maas to the Daal baati served in an absolute royal style in the Silverware cutlery where one can completely experience living the life of Royalty. The rooms are designed with complete esthetics , with each and every room having its own personality exhibiting the royal look and feel of an olden day Haveli still having the modern day facilities.
My husband and myself where looking for a peaceful yet fun getaway for our New Year and this place was just the perfect pick. Celebrating the New Year with the Shekhawat family on the terrace with a barbeque serving the best Marinated Sula meat on the cold Jaipur winter evening will be an experience we will always treasure.
One our request to visit the local markets and the city palace the family were kind enough to arrange for the local cycle rickshaws which took us around the lanes and the bylanes of the city helping us pick some rare and local artifacts which we could bring back for our friends and family.
This would definitely be a place we recommend for travelers who want to visit and experience Jaipur in royal style.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitiSJagdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If holidaying for you is living in the bygone era of rajputana, in the midst of old world jaipore, in the shadows of a centuries old fort like nahargarh, within close vicinity to the best shopping for local crafts, to being able to taste the local food whilst you hear the slight jingle in the air surrounded in general by a pink hue of the old city, to experience how rajputana's old cities lived like and to be able to do all that whilst being a stickler for attention to detail, to coming back to a haveli ,much the same way as old aristocracy did, to a luxurious bath, to a hot meal full of delightful Rajasthani aromas, to a heritage room with a century old bed fitted with finest Egyptian cotton, Persian rugs, et al, and not to forget to come home to the most charming family that runs this elegant,tasteful piece of history, then you can't stay anywhere else in jaipur BUT at the Khatu Haveli. I may be sounding poetic but I fear my experience sure has stirred a poet in me. I miss the views of nahargarh fort in the morning from my room window, to the walk up the hill to the fort with the owners son early in the morning to watch the most breathtaking sunrise, to the hearty breakfast to fuel up for a mad day in chaos of the jaipur markets and streets and then finally to come back to the lap of luxury every evening for a beautiful evening in rajwara. Thank you to thakur sahib and his kind family for this most wonderful of my experiences. I'm coming back for sure but this time with a bus load of friends. Incredible India just got kooler with Khatu haveli. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the season in jaipur gets quite busy in the winter months to avoid disappointment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adityavishal_chauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was our first trip to Jaipur and our travel agent recommended the Khatu Haveli for a conveniently located B&B..we were not disappointed. Room and bathroom were clean, bed was comfortable and breakfast & dinner were delicious! Very centrally located. Even had a chat with the charming owners, who shared interesting stories of their family history, and Jaipur. They told us about a trek to the Nahargarh fort, which can be seen from the terrace. We tried it out the next morning and immensely enjoyed it. Proved to be a great workout.
Will surely return... highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N_U2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Khatu Haveli for 4 nights from the 19th of December. As the name suggests, it is a haveli or a mansion that has been converted into a quaint B&B.

We took two interconnecting rooms so that our boys (10 & 8) had their own space, which was very comfortable. Each room had its own attached bathroom, TV and an additional area to change/keep luggage so that no space of the room was compromised. Hot water was available throughout, which was a blessing in the cold weather.

The décor is lovely, with several pieces of the impressive tikri mirror work from Udaipur, and blue pottery, in many areas of the haveli.

The dining hall (that can seat upto 15 at a time) is especially impressive with its original black and white checkered floor, and a tikri work adorned arch.

The owners have successfully upgraded many areas of the haveli without compromising its old world charm.

Breakfast was good with continental & Indian options. We were also able to enjoy an authentic Rajasthani dinner.

Location is very convenient – a 10 minute drive from Bapu Bazaar for great bargains, a 10 minute drive from City Palace & a 20 minute drive from Amber Fort. We arranged for a guide through them, who was good.

A definite thumbs up for a cozy homestay Rajasthani style!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABAN_Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you are looking for a short getaway from Delhi or a nearby city with an unforgettable experience, Khatu Haveli is the perfect place. Truly the kind of rustic experience we were looking for with all the modern amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RuchiShantanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#23 of 386 in Jaipur
1,199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 386 in Jaipur
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khatu Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khatu Haveli

Property: Khatu Haveli
Address: Chandpole Bazar, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khatu Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khatu Haveli was built in mid 19th Century. Since then, six generations of the Khatu family have lived in the magnificent Haveli.Khatu Haveli was built by Thakur Sobhag Singh. (Thakur is the title given to the ruler of the fiefdom) His son, Thakur Hari Singh was the Commander in Chief and Chief of Police in Jaipur during the pre-independence era; his only surviving grandson amongst six brothers, Brigadier Amar Singh and his wife Sushma Singh presently run a portion of the Heritage Haveli as a small boutique property. A haveli is a structure typically built around a courtyard. A large haveli comprises of two or more such structures with the courtyards interconnected. Khatu Haveli comprises of three spectacular courtyards and like most haveli's is characterized by magnificent arches, verandas, galleries and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Khatu Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing