We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arya Niwas - Home Away from Home”
Review of Arya Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arya Niwas
Ranked #21 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arya Niwas - Home Away from Home”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

t has always been a pleasure staying at Arya Niwas. This has been my fourth stay out there but the last stay was after a long time gap. Despite that I found that they have maintained the Hotel, rather improved the same. The staff out there is very polite. The food at the restaurant is good & tastes like home food. Relaxed meals taken in the garden are a must. Once more stay at "Arya Niwas" is home away from home and great "Value for Money" i would always like to stay out there when in Jaipur.

Room Tip: Front Garden Facing Rooms on the Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinksrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Arya Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked our services. Thank you for your continued patronage also.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    471
    71
    11
    14
See reviews for
314
281
163
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travelled t Jaipur for a trade show in Feb' 2013 & after reading several reviews on Trip Advisor, booked at Arya Niwas for 2 days.

As we reached the hotel at around 9.30 am, we were asked to wait as the room allotted to us was still occupied. In the meanwhile we decided to have our breakfast & tea in the lawns of the hotel. The self service system meant we had to go to order & were allotted a token which had to be displayed on the table. In about 15 minutes we were served. The breakfast was standard fare as everywhere & we had no complaints.

After breakfast we checked into our room. The front desk staff were efficient but brusque but later on the lady was far friendlier. Our room was on the 1st floor & in a one corner (see pic) in a courtyard running through top to bottom. If you see the picture, you'll see it cheek by jowl to the next room.

The room itself was compact & clean with TV, A/C & heater provided. Just enough space to walk around the bed to reach the closet at the other end (from the door) of the room. Bathroom was clean with running hot water. Kettle with tea bags/coffee provided. No complaints about the cleanliness but the room itself had no ventilation unless you opened the window which opened onto the courtyard. As the room was jutting into the next, if you sneezed, the occupant next door would probably say 'bless you'. Bathrooms had the same problem, clean but no ventilation!

Food at the cafeteria was unexciting but if you had no time to go anywhere at the end of a tiring day, you would probably end up there. Basic fare. Nothing more, nothing less.

One thing must be said, the hotel is in a lane off the main Sansar Chand Road, which is a very busy road at most times. The lane leading up to the hotel has a dirty approach & the entire lane is full of small hotels. You cannot escape the fact that location wise, it isn't something great.

Overall, a good budget hotel with clean but compact rooms, average food & not so great location. Tourists on a budget will love the place.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the courtyard are not that great. Look for rooms facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Arya Niwas, Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you too for the kind words.


Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I arrived in early morning (about 6am), the reception on night shift received me with smile, but he said I need to wait till 7am to check in; otherwise I need to pay for an extra day. The reception allowed me to rest in the hall and to take a shower there which is great. But the reception is the way too talkative, and he even said “I’m free tomorrow night, all night” with erotic smile which made me very uncomfortable. After I checked in, he opened my door himself (I closed the door but didn’t lock) which made me even more uncomfortable.
At night, he locked my door several times and phoned me (there’s a phone in the room), I pretended I was not there.
Anyway, the hotel is great with nice garden. The room is clean, but the reception ruined my stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlicePiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from Arya Niwas Jaipur.

I am very concerned with the difficulty faced by you at our reception. Can you please give me the dates that you stayed with us? Also, all of us wear badges with our names. do you remember the name of the staff member.

This is the first time in my 20 years of work here that I have heard such a complaint and I would like to get to the bottom of this, with your help.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013. We made booking through email and also confirmed over phone. We travelled from delhi by road. The entire journey takes 5 hours if u have an early start and avoid all the traffic up-to Manesar. We reached the outskirts of Jaipur at one in the afternoon but it took almost another hour to reach the hotel after making multiple no. of phone calls to them for directions. The traffic is jam packed in the city with many one way diversions, so it was very difficult to find our way. Reached the hotel and we were immediately checked in. We went for a late lunch and it took about 20 mins to serve our order. Then we took the help of the travel desk to book a cab for our sound and light show at Amer fort and sunset at Nahagarh. We left at 4. 30 pm for nahagarh and reached at around 5.15 pm as the traffic was heavy. We bought coupons at the restaurant there so as to have access to the sunset point. We couldn't wait for the sun to set as the sound and light show was to start at 6.00 pm. We took half an hour to reach Amer so the sunset at Nahagarh is not a sunset but a sun dip!!!when we reached Amer the announcements were already on and managed to seat ourselves when the son et lumiere began. It was one hour show and entertaining with little facts and more of songs. It took almost an hour and half to reach the hotel after battling the traffic woes. We went to the hotel cafe Chitra and ordered our dinner. Now they have the system of dispensing a token once the bill is paid. There is no display of token nos. that are being served. U r absolutely clueless about ur dinner and keeping looking at the neighbours for their token numbers. We made three orders and each had different token numbers and the first order was the last to be served and which meant we had our desserts before the meal. The restaurant was only filling up when we made the order and we almost spent an hour plus to have simple home cooked meal. This was the same affair at each of the dinners we had. We skipped breakfast at the cafe and packed some sandwiches for our day trips. Now contrary to the cafe service their room service is prompt. The room was clean, tidy, compact and decent with abundant provision for natural light. Generally the staff are good but little hassled as we had to inform that we had already confirmed our booking with another person when we got a call enquiring about our booking. The free wifi connectivity was good even at the second floor. They have good library and lawn where u can spend hours reading or waiting for your order. The languid pace at which the restaurant serves may be something leisure travelers would appreciate. But not every traveller is a leisure traveller which is why though the food is good on the palate the pace of its arrival on the plate makes it debatable. It appears that the establishment is little understaffed not only in the restaurant but also in the lobby. This is apparent from an harried waiter handing over our packed breakfast in the lobby even after being requested to hand it over in the room especially when both hands were full. Even while checking out the reception did not send anybody for luggage despite being informed. However over all, the trip advisor reviews and the experience on ground conformed to expectations.

Room Tip: For families with small children choose rooms in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anubrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Arya Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words.

I am sorry for the mix ups in order at the restaurant. We are trying to train our service staff better. As guests have the freedom to sit either in the restaurant or in the large garden outside, it sometimes does become a challenge to find out the guest. In a more formal restaurant this problem is less. However, it is a problem that we need to and are trying to work on and improve.

Thank you for the detailed feedback, it is feedback like these that show us where and how to improve on!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arya Niwas Hotel is probably the best value-for-money stay in Jaipur. Centrally located, just 5-10 minutes from the Railway Station / main bus stand, this Hotel is well-managed and great for the budget traveller. The rooms are spartan but neat and clean and air-conditioned for the summer months. The restaurant food is self-help from a choice of tasty vegetarian fare after paying for the selection. There is no room service available except for tea/coffee.
There is a well manicure lawn along the front of the hotel with a rather colonial touch of cane chairs along the verandah ! A small in-house shop sells books and bric-a-brac.
Staff is matter-of-fact but helpful when required. Taxis and Auto-rikshaws are available at hand.
I have stayed here several times and always come away happy and satisfied .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Arya Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked our services. Thank you for your continued patronage also.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel has really treated me to my expectation (as read on TA). I traveled with my family and in-laws and all of us appreciated the nicety of Arya Niwas. We have stayed on several hotels in Jaipur, but I think Arya Niwas takes the cake.
We all enjoyed our breakfast in the lawn under the winter warm sunny morning ... felt like staying in a 4-5 star hotel. You'd be surprised to find this peaceful, serene and clean environment amidst the hustle and bustle of central Jaipur. I would definitely recommend anyone to have a one hand experience at Arya Niwas.
The down side are - the bathrooms should have good ventillation/ window. A fan is installed, which is a good idea, but I feel a window would be better. A smile by your staff especially at the receptions would light up the day.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel staff while doing the booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Arya Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and also for the kind words. All of us are glad that you liked our services and facilities.

We have installed fans in the bathroom as they are more comfortable than an exhaust in the summer months. We can put an exhaust as well, I will look into it. Thanks for the suggestion.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with beautiful decorations and all appliances, including air conditioners and electric heater, quiet yet convenient location, efficient and helpful staff, tasty food with reasonable price, no fuss, just pure enjoyment. What more can you ask? This is a haven in chaotic Jaipur. Highly recommend it as an independent hotel.

Room Tip: It's behind a high building and by a quiet street so all rooms should be fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schneetag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Arya Niwas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Arya Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and also for the kind words. All of us are glad that you liked our services and facilities.


Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#24 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#37 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arya Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arya Niwas

Property: Arya Niwas
Address: Sansar Chandra Road, behind Amber Tower, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#21 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#29 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arya Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Jaipur, award-winning family managed hotel in a renovated old mansion. Arya Niwas offers pleasant environment, open spaces and garden in the heart of the city at great value for money. Arya Niwas is a Government recognised Three Star Hotel. A heritage hotel in Jaipur, it has a 125 year old traditionally decorated lounge. Our popular restaurant serves vegetarian food plus eggs in North Indian and Continental cuisine from an open kitchen. We make food using very little oil and chillies. A family friendly hotel we offer an in-house bakery. FREE Wi-Fi Internet, same day laundry, foreign exchange, doctor on call, ticket booking, taxi service, travel desk, Eco logical practices like rain water harvesting. Lift, Cable TV, wheel chair friendly room, In room electronic locker, fridge and electric kettle. Pressing board and iron, hair dryer on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Arya Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arya Niwas Hotel Jaipur
Arya Niwas Jaipur
Hotel Arya Niwas Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing