We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Ranvijay Singh of Umaidbhavan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware of Ranvijay Singh of Umaidbhavan”
Reviewed January 10, 2009

If you book this hotel and contact with Ranvijay Singh, the owner, BEWARE! He OVERBOOKs and throws you in lower grade hotel.
We booked 5 rooms for 4 nighs with this hotel 2 months before our arrival. This guy kept telling us everything is all confirmed. The day we were to reach Jaipur, he told us he had "accomodated" us with one of his other establishments. So for higher rate, he made us stay at lower priced hotel. We had no choice as we reached there 11pm at night with small kids and luggage.

STAY AWAY from Ranvijay singh and his heritage hotels.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank thekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    949
    202
    50
    35
See reviews for
829
853
114
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
desi abroad
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

It's really hard to eat badly in India, but this hotel's restaurant had the worst food ever. Plus there was a cockroach in our room. We left the next morning, having booked for four nights, and went to the Rajputana Sheraton, which we adored. Tourist trap.

Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mangoqueenrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

This hotel is very flashy with ornate wall paintings and posh furnishings in the public areas. However, our first room was cramped and had no outside-facing windows. When we returned to the hotel for our last night in Jaipur, we were upgraded to a nicer room, but the fan made some very angry noises.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Stayed in Umaid Bhawan for 3 nites - Single airconditioned room for Rs 2000 INR ( $ 40) - The room was clean & so was the bathroom. They had complimentary breakfast included as a part of the package
The rooftop restaurant was good for dinner - In case you are dining in the hotel & like freshly prepared food, then its a good choice. The lamb preparations were very nice - The only downside is that the food takes a lot of time to come - So if you have good company & a lot of time, then its enjoyable

The location of the hotel is great - Thats another plus point for the place

The not so good part was the breakfast - It was quite sad & tired -Infact the food used to be displayed in such an uninspiring manner that one never felt like eating a lot there - So I guess it works for the hotel people. The other was the w-fi which supposedly works only in the lobby of the hotel but for the three days I stayed there, it didnt work

If I am going back to Jaipur again, wouldn't mind staying again
Soumyo

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank frisco3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

It's a well maintained hotel with the interiors carefully done up in Heritage style. Rooms and toilets are clean. The pool though small is clean and functional. Wish there was some more space around the hotel. It now feels like you'r just sitting in a differently painted apartment with other modern apartments at a stone's throw (especially from the rooftoop restaurant).

The negatives are:
Staff seem to be inexperienced and not capable of handling guests in a friendly manner. It was also surprising that hardly any of them could understand or speak English. Food was not good either. In fact, I ended up with uncooked chicken in the gravy and I asked it to be re-cooked. The bearer's attitude was rather cold and I was served the 'redone' gravey. That too was no good and I ended up not touching the uncooked chicken - and paying for it! It was also disappointing there was no A/C or indoor dining available and it was horrible sitting out on the terrace on a hot day (the air cooler didn't have water and was blowing hot air! the bearer refused to fill up the air cooler for whatever reason).

  • Liked — Clean interiors and well chose heritage furniture
  • Disliked — Unfriendly attitude of staff and poor food quality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Beautiful hotel and great staff. The room was lovely and very reasonably priced and the city of Jaipur is a lot more relaxed and friendlier than either Delhi or Agra.

Very helpful front desk sorted out trip to Amber Fort with a superb tuk tuk driver Mansud for only 300 Rs (£4) and the stay was generally excellent, really enjoyed it.

  • Liked — Luxury after a spell in Delhi!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

A group of us were going to visit Jaipur and heard this charming little ’’haveli-ish boutique hotel’’. Having visited Jaipur innumerable times and having stayed at the likes of the Taj’s and others before, staying in an old quaint haveli was an endearing if not adventurous thought!

I decided to be prepared and make an informed decision about where our group (which included first time India travellers) would stay. I “Googled” it. I “Lonely planet-ed” it and was convinced it was an excellent choice.

I had heard of this hotel before and was convinced it was going to be fantastic! What I didn't know was that the real Umaid Bhawan Palace is several kilometers away from the monstrosity that I booked with. So travellers, beware! This is a very very horrible copycat hotel! The original one belongs to the "Leading Hotels of the World" category...
..!I’m telling you – there is something to be said about being photogenic! This place looked like an idyllic retreat for a post Jaipur city tour flurry! So, I booked. I emailed the hotel and decided to book the Royal Suites – what the hell – if I ‘aint gonna stay five star, may as well get the best in an old haveli…

Imagine our shock when we reached the hotel and realised it was much more decrepit than the pictures we saw online! Anyway, we decided to brave it, went in and were unceremoniously informed that the Royal Suites were unavailable as its previous occupants had all got food poisoning and were all in hospital so they hadn't checked out! While we felt bad for the poor poisoned souls, it didn’t get us out of the sticky situation we were in. Alarm bells starting “gonging” in our heads but due to a full tourist season, we were forced to stay one night as all other "acceptable’’ hotels were fully booked.

What can I say about this place? Said to be run by a retired Army Colonel & his family, I expected a little bit of the "perfectionism’’ one associates with the Armed Forces. What we actually got was a whole different story! From regurgitating toilets and shower drains to foul smelling interiors and an exceptionally indiscreet staff, not to mention- extremely rude, the place had the charm of skunk! The bellboys showed us the room disinterestedly and then pulled off the bed covers and dumped them in a heap on the floor! We were given the next category after the Royal Suites so I expected some decent quality.... sigh... The room, while large enough had a double bed with a thin worn out mattress. The lights i the rooms were not working and they assured us they would have it fixed (it was still unfixed when we left the next day) and that they would provide us with candles! Needless to say, there was no hot water and the cupboards had mould!!!

The "pool" is basically a pond which was filthy! The whole place had a very damp smell to it and there was construction going on so there was debris lying around everywhere! The sound of the construction was deafening! In an attempt to placate us, we were invited to a cultural evening on their rooftop, which incidentally was adjoining one of the rooms we got. Our friends had to listen to un-melodious music till midnight and were rudely awakened at 5 am when the staff decided to wash the dirty dishes of the previous night outside their room door, all of course while they were chatting loudly about mundane everyday things.

I refuse to recommend this hotel for the sake of sparing you the horrors of it. If you do decide to brave it even after reading my comments, all I can say is: good luck and don’t forget to pack a good medical kit equipped with stomach pills and the likes.

And oh yes, some ice water to cool you down after your obligatory fight with the mis-management.

  • Liked — That I could check out the next day!
  • Disliked — Hmnnnn where should I start?? Everything!!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank soulmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 386 in Jaipur
1,809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
2.9 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
842 reviews
3.7 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Property: Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Address: Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best run Jaipur hotels. Umaid Bhawan Jaipur is a modern heritage hotel with a budget hotel tariff providing world class Rajasthani style accommodation. Our hotel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's go, Foot print travel guides on Jaipur Hotels and Jaipur Budget Hotels.Run by a family of Rathores, Hotels Jaipur - Umaid Bhawan is one of the finest hotels in Jaipur. Built in traditional style, there are beautifully carved balconies, attractive courtyards, open terraces, lovely garden and comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Umaid Bhawan offers unique exotic traditional Rajasthani ambience found only in some of the Hotels in Jaipur.Ranked as one of the best run budget hotels in Jaipur by the Lonely Planet international travel guide book, Umaid Bhawan offers guests a pleasant and comfortable home away from home with traditional Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Jaipur
Umaid Bhawan Palace
Hotel Umaid Bhawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing