We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaipur hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Umaid Bhawan. It's a beautiful hotel set in the back streets and an absolute oasis from the city hustle. The rooms are oldy world and wonderful, the restaurant is great (rooftop) with a good selection of lovely food, the staff are the gems, they cannot do enough to help you and really friendly. We are holidaying with our 12 year old, other guests were mainly couples and small groups. We would certainly recommend to anyone and we'd come again.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine folk being disappointed with any of the rooms. But if you want to be certain of a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,563 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very interesting place, each room is unique and has its own features. We had four rooms in total among us and it was good to compare and none of them were same in any way. I would definitely recommend it when you are in Jaipur but due to its location car is must. there is always taxies standing outside if you do not have your own ride.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My friend booked us in at the Umaid Bhawan and I am so glad she did!

Seriously, read all the 5* reviews on here and it is testament to this amazing hotel. Walking off the street, the reception area is nothing like the beauty that lies within. The rooms are HUGE and beautifully appointed. The pool is stunning (and I know this is not on the tourist brochure, but there were monkeys jumping around near my room - that in itself is cool, coming from Australia, but not quite accepted in India more generally, so the staff were scaring them off) and the upstairs restaurant is grand. Great food, and amazing service. Not to mention it's very stunning.

An amazing array of food for breakfast, and the hotel was able to give us rooms earlier than the scheduled check in, which is always appreciated. it's a little bit further from the fortified city than the map gives away, but to be honest that's a really good thing. I think the pink city itself lacks charm (in terms of dining and accommodation, not in terms of how amazing it looks), so it's lovely to come home to the Umaid Bhawan, rest a bit, have a swim and then dine upstairs before retiring to an amazing room. As mentioned by others, this is practically Euro hostel prices to live like a Maharaja!

Loved it (as did my friend, in a separate room). Jaipur is stunning, so do yourself a favor and stay at a stunning hotel! And yes, as Oshino points out in their review, the dogs out the front had beds - so sweet to see them snoring in comfort whilst waiting for an early cab to the airport. Loved and enjoyed, just like our hounds at home!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and my three night stay was quite comfortable. The included high speed Wi-Fi was an added bonus. My room was at the end of the third floor and didn't have a private balcony, but there is seating all along the way and up a few stairs, there is a larger sitting area. I was traveling on my own and the front desk can help arrange guides and transportation. The hotel is on a quiet street and the roof top restaurant was quite nice. They have entertainment in the evening and the musicians and dancers are wonderful. I had an early train to catch on the day I left and they allowed me an early check out. They were also very nice to accomodate my request for a couple of bananas as I would miss breakfast and they included a small sandwich as well--a nice bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel is a truly distinct experience, especially during your first visit to India like it was in my case. The rich, colorful Indian decorations, the paintings, the statues and the mosaic in the interior yard just add a kind of magic that makes India so special.
The rooms are clean and modern, with an LCD TV and air conditioning and all the amenities you would expect in a decent hotel. My room also had a balcony, overlooking the Collectorate district of Jaipur. In the evenings you can enjoy a good meal and the company of friends in the very nice rooftop restaurant.
I am happy to give this place a well-deserved 5-star rating and recommend it to you because it has so much character which you simply don't get in other places that all shortcomings - like the less than average breakfast options - just pale in comparison. And, let's not forget, you get all this for hostel money by European or North American standards...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucibitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Complete with a delicious roof top restaurant with traditional music and dancing, this hotel was one of the highllights of our trip. Large very clean rooms (ask for a balcony), friendly staff with reasonable command of english, free wi-fi, air conditioner (a bit clunky but quite serviceable), comfy bed, front desk access to well priced and readily available transport, and architecural and design character that goes on and on... this place was much more enoyable --and way more affordable -- than several 5 star places we stayed in. (One tip: in the morning. let the hot water run for a minute or two before stepping in the shower. It's there but it can take a little time to get to the room. Also, it doesn;t hurt to be generous when tipping the dinner entertainment. They put on a good show and work hard.)

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. A balcony room on the 4th floor is best but keep you doors and windows closed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just got to say this hotel is fantastic!!!
Spotlessly clean very comfortable beds fantastic rooms, amazing decor fantastic staff!!! fantastic food fantastic entertainment Everything about this hotel is fantastic.... We couldn't fault it , from the moment we got off the train we felt at ease , our free pick up was waiting for us , a very happy chappy indeed!!! And so were we!!
Check in was smooth and trouble free our luggage was taken to our rooms by the boys who never stopped smiling.
Complimentary tea & coffee with a kettle and cups in room , mini-fridge , safe , en-suite bathroom with super powerful hot shower!!! shower gel shampoo soap tissues hairdryer the list goes on!!!! Towels&sheets were changed daily rooms cleaned daily too
A/C worked fab if you wanted it. tv if you wanted it on also
Writing desk if you wanted to do any writing!! The whole place was just perfect...
Of an evening the food was served in the gorgeous open top roof terrace restaurant( I put on about a stone in four days the food was that delicious) ;-) and between 7pm&9pm they had fantastic entertainment two girls dancing while their brothers played music totally fab!!!! Kebabs were cooked on MASSIVE skewers by the chef while you waited.
Buffet breakfast was delicious and a personal chef cooked you omelet , scrambled egg , fried egg if you wanted
The Indian breakfast was perfect.
Swimming pool was lovely we had a few swims and sunbathed on the loungers just got nothing negative to say about this hotel
From the usher greeting you at the door to the staff working non stop to the comfy beds the food the whole experience of this stay was FANTASTIC!!!!!
A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO THE LOVELY PRABHU DAYAL

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 385 in Jaipur
1,838 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 385 in Jaipur
1,599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 385 in Jaipur
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 385 in Jaipur
851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#38 of 385 in Jaipur
888 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Address: Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best run Jaipur hotels. Umaid Bhawan Jaipur is a modern heritage hotel with a budget hotel tariff providing world class Rajasthani style accommodation. Our hotel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's go, Foot print travel guides on Jaipur Hotels and Jaipur Budget Hotels.Run by a family of Rathores, Hotels Jaipur - Umaid Bhawan is one of the finest hotels in Jaipur. Built in traditional style, there are beautifully carved balconies, attractive courtyards, open terraces, lovely garden and comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Umaid Bhawan offers unique exotic traditional Rajasthani ambience found only in some of the Hotels in Jaipur.Ranked as one of the best run budget hotels in Jaipur by the Lonely Planet international travel guide book, Umaid Bhawan offers guests a pleasant and comfortable home away from home with traditional Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Jaipur
Umaid Bhawan Palace
Hotel Umaid Bhawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing