We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Hotel”
Review of Clarks Amer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarks Amer
Ranked #41 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Family Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed at Clarks every time I visit Jaipur - and it's always been a pleasurable experience. The hotel is run by a family that actually LIVES in the hotel so they're hands on to fix problems if need be. Everyone from the doorman to the bellboy are polite, courteous and more than willing to help if needed.

The rooftop bar, Tablu, is one of my favorite places in Jaipur - you can see the highway and parts of the city stretch from all around, the music is great and the food (mostly starters) is pretty good. Try the Ginger Chili Chicken - its yum! From the Indian food, try the laal maas (red mutton) it's one of the best in Jaipur.

I've stayed in different rooms all over the hotel and I do love staying on the 8th floor which is their penthouse suites. The rooms are divided, the sitting area is below and the mezzanine is a quaint bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolemody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Coming from some who is as well traveled as you are, I am delighted to read that you would have liked to "stay at the Hotel Clarks Amer for your all future reservation.

Thank you ever so much for your very kinds words and appreciation, as also for sharing your experience with other travelers. I will certainly convey your comments to my wonderful team who made the magic happen.

We do look forward to having you back with us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    250
    176
    87
    62
See reviews for
286
161
57
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was on leisure trip to jaipur for three days . I opted to stay in Clarks Amer. Located very near to airport and city center. overall services are excellent. very helpfull people in the hotel. when we arived welcome was done in very traditional way with aarti tikka and welcome drinks by a beautiful lady which was very impressive. quick check in and prompt response for everything we enquired. King size bed was proper king size as compared to other hotels where a queen size bed is available. we went to Dhola maru for our dinner which was such a great experience. beautifull ambience such a great view. adjacent to it was ta blu open air cafe where we didn't went but it was looking great. we will love to come back to this hotel if we will visit jaipur again...thnxs to overall team of clarks amer..cheers!!!

Room Tip: you can opt for any room . all rooms have great view of city and pool/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameer4386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to post a review of your experience at Hotel Clarks Amer, Jaipur.

Creating unforgettable memories while taking care of guest’s needs is indeed our motto and we as a company strive constantly towards this purpose. Your praise and recommendation of our hotel is a huge inspiration for the team in their endeavor to exceed guest expectations.

We hope to continue being your preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location was excellent. All staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was huge & the bed and pillows were perfect and clean. i like the Clarks hospitality, hotel decor is just awesome specially the lobby arrangement & the color combination.Overall we had a wonderful stay and would love to come back.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are too beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prabal304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to post a review of your experience at Hotel Clarks Amer, Jaipur.

Creating unforgettable memories while taking care of guest’s needs is indeed our motto and we as a company strive constantly towards this purpose. Your praise and recommendation of our hotel is a huge inspiration for the team in their endeavor to exceed guest expectations.

We hope to continue being your preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

stayed in this hotel last month. We loved the place a lot. stay was comfortable front desk was very helpful check in was quick.room was comfortable very well appointed. loved the roof top bar. we have enjoyed our stay a lot and would like to come again when we are in jaipur.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shubham6671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to post a review of your experience at Hotel Clarks Amer, Jaipur.

Creating unforgettable memories while taking care of guest’s needs is indeed our motto and we as a company strive constantly towards this purpose. Your praise and recommendation of our hotel is a huge inspiration for the team in their endeavor to exceed guest expectations.

We hope to continue being your preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night. Not a pleasant experience. Located very close to the airport it has a huge lawn/garden in front. So the entrance is impressive but once you enter you get a feeling of being in an old rickety place. Old lifts, cracked paint, chipped/cracked sanitary fittings greet you as you enter the room. Furniture in the rooms is old and the towels were smelly.

I stayed in room 718 and could not get a proper sleep. It is located close to the lift lobby and the service entrance. There is a bar or restaurant above. A telephone kept in the lift lobby is a source of irritation as it kept ringing at odd times. Continuous dragging and knocking sounds from above kept me awake till late night and again early morning. To top it all, the house keeping staff moved about noisily chatting among themselves.

I was happy with the room service and house keeping as both were fairly responsive. Food ordered through room service was nice but very expensive compared with similar hotels. The breakfast was not too great with a limited spread and not much variety.

Overall it was not a great stay. I wonder why this is rated 5 Star. Definitely needs a huge make over. Unfortunately Jaipur being a big tourist destination gets a large number of tourists and the hotels are assured of good occupancy and this is the reason they are complacent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravimark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Clarks Amer among luxury hotels in Jaipur.

I am pleased at your appreciation for our hospitality, product and team members and look forward to welcome you on your next visit.

We will definitely look into the points mentioned by you pertaining to the Noise and other things.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

horrible experience from the start.It took 40 minutes to check in even though it was prepaid through Agoda. Even after checking in they called to ask me to ask me more questions about filling in this stupid questionnaire, such as when did I ride in India even though all this information was in my passport. The infrastructure of this hotel is horrible. Even the walls in the dining room are falling apartt. The second night we got a call at 930 telling us that we owe them an additional $30 per night because we had 2 people instead of one person staying..I would give this hotel 2.5 stars at most.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to review your stay over Hotel Clarks Amer.

It is a pity that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have checked feed-back of other guests who stayed with us on the same dates as yours and all had a great time, including the two earlier posts on Trip Advisor.

I would also like to mention that we met at your departure and explained you that why second person will be charged to you. Since you were carrying a prepaid voucher and it was clearly mentioned over the voucher that room is been booked for 1 person only. Globally it is a standard that the tariff for single and double occupancy are always different for base category of rooms hence the difference was told to you to pay. If you remember we were discussion over the discount as well which was honored by the hotel whilst you were looking at to make it without any charge which was not possible.
Regarding few mandatory details on to the check in form Read it registration card, is a regulatory requirement hence has to be asked at the time of check in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent 5 nights 4 days in Hotel Clarks Amer and not a very good experience at all. Next time I will never visit this hotel. Only in the pen and paper it is 5 start but actually not. Old building renovated , poor quality cleaning, dirty towels and old rusted damage sanitary fittings, no luxury at all, very very expensive food, only plus point staffs are very good and cooperative, but totally it is a commercial hotel. Compare with price rooms are not good at all. Cheating the travel agent, Taxi dirvers in side and near the main gate. They are misguiding the tourist by soft talk and taking them to very expensive tourist point for shoping and earning hand some of money as a commission. Be care of them. Avoid them , requeted to the tourists mangae to visit your self own only Government approved shop for marketing. Always avoid private shop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Ranjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITINGUPTARDM, Manager at Clarks Amer, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to post a review of your experience at Hotel Clarks Amer, Jaipur.
I would like to thank you for your encouraging word for the team.

We have noted your comments on our product. Whilst apologizing most sincerely for any inconvenience caused, we would also like to thank you for sharing your views.

We are planning major renovation in the public areas of the hotel like the lobby, coffee shop and banquets.

Few rooms are already in renovation and should be completing this month end.


We hope to continue being your preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Orchid, Jaipur
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#39 of 386 in Jaipur
1,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lalit Jaipur
The Lalit Jaipur
#36 of 386 in Jaipur
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Jaipur
Golden Tulip Jaipur
#55 of 386 in Jaipur
463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jaipur, City Square
3.8 mi away
Ramada Jaipur
Ramada Jaipur
#38 of 386 in Jaipur
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarks Amer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarks Amer

Property: Clarks Amer
Address: U.P. Hotels Limited, Jawahar Lal Nehru Marg, Jaipur 302018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarks Amer 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years Clarks Group of Hotels has Defined a benchmark of fine living and has expressed high standards in the art of hospitality in Jaipur, Rajasthan and other parts of India. It has retained the spirit and charm of the traditions of India and has blended these with the latest technology that the industry has to offer. A hotel which is indeed classic as well as contemporary. For more than three decades, the Clarks Group of Hotels is having the continued honor of serving many distinguished guests who have their appreciation of the high standards of hospitality and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarks Amer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Amer Hotel
Hotel Clarks Amer
Clarks Amer Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing