We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Narain Niwas Palace
Nearby Hotels
$67
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clarks Amer(Jaipur)
$46
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kalyan(Jaipur)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umaid Mahal(Jaipur)
$74
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$52
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
74
116
58
23
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
116
58
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelpeacocks wanderingmain buildinggarden restaurantold mansiondance showswimming poolhotel groundslovely poollaal maasstayed one nightan oasisnahargarh fortreception staffrooms are spaciousdinner buffetwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 290 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Travelling with my children, we stayed here 3 nights and I was ready to move out the first evening. The building and the grounds are quite nice and this seems to be an oasis in the bustling city, although after a closer look everything about the hotel was shabby. Our room was large and over furnished and seemed to fit in with what we thought a heritage hotel to be. The worst thing about this hotel is the service, which is dreadful in particular at the restaurant - although if you manage to get some food, it is actually not bad and not too pricey. We had wanted to stay at the Samode Havelli which was fully booked and our travel agent suggested this. Please stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Nanouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Our stay was brief and thankfully so. This is a pretentious property and the management tries to let its history do their work for them. This has potential to be a fine hotel but they do not look after it and there is no visible excuse for that. The grounds are in terrible shape in places and the entrance to the grounds/ hotel is practically falling down.

Rooms are fine but a bit musty and certainly overpriced. They were quirky but hardly an exercise in luxury.

The restaurant was hilarious it was so annoying. The staff, all dressed up in traditional garb ,were oddly rude. When we placed a pretty substantial order for an afternoon meal, the waiter rolled his eyes and said 'is that all?' and that we should order more. This was really curious and maybe he was seeing thing- ghosts at our table, who knows! The food when it came was fine and we didn't get to finish it all because it was that substantial. I think the waiter was expecting us to start throwing back cocktails or something. Again they seemed to think in the restaurant that they were working in some kind of super classy joint and pranced around like snobs. Someone should really tell them it's not the Om Restaurant, which is far better on so many levels in Jaipur.

The experience so far has the hotel heading for a 2/5 rating but the guys at the swimming pool were great. They were really attentive and respectful. The pool was okay, again the way they refer to it you would think the olympic trials were held there. It's cute but nothing more and it's very clean so credit there. And the staff were very good there. Decent guys. You could tell that they were lower on the hierarchy than the snobs in the restaurant but they handled their job with more class and I'd advise the management for the pool guys to give a team talk to the restaurant staff!

Overall, I would say it was not worth the money at all. There are far more decent hotels all over Jaipur where there are greater efforts made.

Biggest complaint here is the customer service, which amounted to Nothing. Paul Newman said once 'sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand.' Not so here!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribesman_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful old hotel. The entrance to the hotel and grounds are beautiful, with peacocks wandering round. The swimming pool seemed clean enough and the children enjoyed it. The rooms whilst large and clean, were dark with hardly any natural light. The breakfast was disappointing. We ate at the hotel garden restaurant on both nights and found both the food and entertainment - traditional Rajasthan dancing very good. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were very helpful and friendly. The best way to describe this hotel is faded grandeur in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hastings20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We spent 4 nights at the Narain Niwas. To be fair, we heard that there other rooms were nicer. Ours was #48---a set of 3 small cold and dank rooms with no real window. It was the coldest season (Dec. 30-Jan. 3) and we had 2 space heaters running whenever we were in the room and even with an extra blanket, we slept with fleeces and socks on. The bathroom had been cleaned but the tiles and fixtures were stained and the toilet leaked. There was a water source somewhere nearby outside and we saw several mosquitos in the room each night. (Nowhere else did this happen on our 2 week trip.) The bed was one of the hard Indian beds--the towels were grey and rough. The common areas were what I would call "shabby palace" with antiques and photos of dead majarajahs---it felt authentic and charming. There was a pleasant patio out front. The desk staff were not gracious and gave us a torn bill when exchanging money. (We didn't know to look out for this until we were told it was no good at a restaurant.) The porters and waiter alternatively were very helpful.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank portiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Doncaster
17
Reviewed March 25, 2006

stayed at this hotel 14/03/06 for 2 nights. Set in lovely grounds with a pleasant swimming pool. Accommodation in traditional style and staff highly attentative. No need to leave the hotel in search of restaurants as food fantastic and great value. Really enjoyable stay!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews