We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is an oasis in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Narain Niwas Palace
Ranked #139 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hotel is an oasis in a busy city”
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and loved our stay at the Nairwain Palace Hotel! What an impressive place to stay at whilst visiting the beautiful city of Jaipur. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    97
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
67
72
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A lovely property, spacious and green yet so close to the heart of the city. The room size is huge with all amenities required including a large, clean bathroom. The room has a lovely heritage feel with painting on the ceiling and on the walls. The best part of the property is the fact that you can step out of your room onto gardens beyond and watch peacocks prance around. The food is good, particularly breakfast. In short, this place is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VRashinkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

One of the highlight of my India trip. An old haveli with huge grounds, isolated from the city chaos. The main building is filled with antiques, like a colonial house. Two newer side wings have big rooms with traditional furniture, high celings, big bathrooms that could be a bit cleaner. The first night, we had a room in the pool wing...all went well till the peacocks started to chat at 3 am ! The door and the windows are rather rudimentary, so no phonic insulation ! Earplugs are essential. The following night we switched to another room in the opposite wing (still in the garden) and it was much quieter - the door was made of glass, with sealing insulation, wich brought light into the dark room. In the evening, you can eat outside (real tandoori oven). Do not order food at the central bar, in the old house, at night - the bill comes very expensive. Also in the old house, the de-luxe room that we saw was smelling of mold. There is a music and dance show (no sound system, therefore bad acoustics) and a funny puppet theater ! The breakfast is not one of their forte (the food is a bit stale, not much variety). Friendly staff helped us with everything.
The garden feels like the Arch of Noe - there a plant nursery with hundreds of pots. Hundreds are also the bungees in a big cage. Add the proud peacocks walking in the front gardens and a family of monkeys visiting in the morning to eat fruits from a tree! Don't miss the baby monkeys jumping up and down on the improvised roof covering the nursery manager's desk. Pigeons are coming around the pool to drink. Butterflies float in the wind...Is this the Paradise, or what ?

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms in the old house or in the pool wing because of the peacocks. Stay in the opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arciboldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Arrived after 4pm and had a speedy check in, very welcoming, stayed in the Kanota Suite which was very luxurious, fairly basic bathroom but the bedroom had all mod cons, even sky tv! Breakfast was fairly average and we didn't eat dinner there, the garden, with free roaming peacocks, is a definite selling point, even though the pool was cold after a long day sightseeing it was a welcome refreshment (along with a cold beer!) I would definitely stay there again for my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Reached around 1 in the afternoon and was taken into our room in about 10 mins which is slow as per my expectations. We travelled with two kids and considering we had come by road and the hotel knew it they were not in any hurry to give a room. No welcome drink no warm smiles ... sad start !! The place looked good, we had one of the larger rooms.
Perhaps a little fruit or cookies in the room would have been nice. The staff had a strange attitude of " take it or leave it" when one asked them for anything. I asked if theres something for the kids "no" came the prompt reply,only to discover later that there was a beautiful bird cage and a jhoola (swing) which "hello--is ENOUGH to keep a toddler preoccupied."
The grounds were well maintained and the pool was good. The restaurant staff was good but the food was terrible. Dinner the first night was average and it tasted of only garlic and there was a hair in the food. When I pointed it out (no point complaining as expectations had hit bottom by that time ) I was told in the broadest smile possible it is the first time that this has happened in "our hotel". What killed the friendly disposition of the restaurant staff was their eagerness to make us fillout the feedback form .
Breakfast next morning was bad- another hair in my pancake ( so apparently only the second time it ever happened in the hotel !!) . The breads lying near the toaster were crumbling and dry, the omelette was good , cappucino cold, fresh orange juice was the only saving grace. The Chef came out and instead of apologising for the hair said, " What can I do for you ... can I give you another pancake or anything else complimentary?" I found that very complimentary bit very offensive especially how it was said.
The housekeeping was fine but everything looked very much like an effort and a big favour on the part of the staff. They need to really do something about the attitude of the entire staff.
The two boutiques on the property were extremely good. The location of the hotel is bang opposite a shopping mall and is very central.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank straveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Lpvely place to stay in this fort city of Jaiselmer.
From your arrival in the Palace courtyard to you entering your room you will really feel like you are royalty,
Has well laid out open courtyard and covered roman style swimming pool and roof top cafe with excellent views over the city and of the fort.
Rooms and bathrooms are large and clean and beds and pillows soft and cosy.
Good buffet breakfast concluded an excellent stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigertraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genoa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

we stayed there two days and we enjoyed the place. very nice room and very good service.
i particularly loved the dining room with its ancient colonial furniture
a pity that it was still winter so we couldn't enjoy the swimming pool.
the only thing we didn't like was that wi-fi connection wasn't free and that the two "2 hrs connections" we bought were finished after only one hour of effective use.
btw, when i complained about it, they let me use the reception's pc with internet for free......

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzstudio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 381 in Jaipur
1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#69 of 381 in Jaipur
476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 381 in Jaipur
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
0.2 mi away
Taj SMS Hotel
Taj SMS Hotel
#16 of 381 in Jaipur
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narain Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narain Niwas Palace

Property: Narain Niwas Palace
Address: Kanota Bagh, Jaipur 302004, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#46 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Narain Niwas Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Narain Niwas Palace Hotel, a Heritage Hotel, provides a good example of history amalgamating with modern times. Centrally located in Jaipur, the Pink City of India, the palace was built in the 19th century by General Amar Singh Ji, the then Thakur of Kanota. Designed in a fanciful version of The Anglo-Indian style popular in the Victorian Era, the palace now serves as a hotel. The Palace has all the modern amenities and a place where one can enjoy traditional Rajput Hospitality. Decorated with Rajput Flourishing, Rajasthani Furnishing and Traditional Jaipur painted wall decor in a typically bold colour palette; Narain Niwas was built in the 1928 by General Amar Singh, Thakur of Kanota, and Commander of the Jaipur State Force. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Narain Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narain Niwas Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing