We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a privilege to stay at the Diggi Palace Hotel.”
Review of Diggi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diggi Palace
Ranked #68 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“It was a privilege to stay at the Diggi Palace Hotel.”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were three sisters and our husbands from South Africa on a trip to India. We chose the Diggi Palace in Jaipur for it's garden - a calm sanctuary teeming with birds (hoopoos, peacocks, parrots, plovers - even kites) in the heart of the city. ( Johari and Bapu Bazaars are particularly MAD - chaotic, frenetic and jam-packed with vehicles and people and touts - plus the odd cow or two!)
But the Diggi provided more than that: yes the grounds are tranquil, the rooms, patios and courtyards cool and spacious, service good and al fresco meals a delight. However it was the extra dimension that made our stay special - more so perhaps for a foreign visitor. It is a haveli - we might say a princely manor-house complex, and the extended family who still own and run it are proud to share their rich traditions. Photographs, fabric art and wonderful pieces of antique furniture are placed so guests can enjoy them; walls and architectural features are stencilled/painted with interesting designs - even the double doors to our bathroom boasted beautiful stained glass panels.
Shakti Singh is the nephew, a friendly welcoming chap who joined us on our first evening. Subsequently we met his children and also the lovely owners - a warm refined couple from whom we gleaned some understanding of Rajasthani social structures and responsibilities. Most of the staff are from rural villages connected to the owner's family; they are kind, friendly and keen to please, and told us proudly of "their' dairy behind the house right in the heart of the city!
If you plan to visit India, make a special trip to Jaipur to see the Amber Fort/Palace, the Pink City Palace and be sure to stay at the Diggi Palace Hotel for several days.
*Fridge and kettle in room

Room Tip: Courtyard room with shaded patio and fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    182
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
120
129
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The Diggi Palace is a lovely place and provides much needed respite from the hustle of Jaipur. The garden was our favorite...we spent quite a few evenings enjoying sitting out in it and smelling the jasmine. Food was excellent as well. The place is, however, a little quirky. Although everyone was very nice, the service leaves a bit to be desired. No one could book a train ticket for me (I did it on my own with quite disastrous results), the internet is terribly slow and there is a man selling paintings who is a tad pushier than I would like in a hotel. But the manager was lovely and very helpful, and we enjoyed our room quite a bit, although our air conditioner did leak fairly badly one night, leaving our socks and underwear soaked. The place is definitely cool, just don't go expecting luxury.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladams_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Beautiful, just beautiful. Staff are great, if a little eccentric. Rooms are stunning (though not budget), grounds are gorgeous, food yummy, gin and tonics served as well! If you are going to treat yourself for a night or two then do it here, it was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_N_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2011

very nice hotel, an quite and relaxing oase in a busy city but still close to the city center. Nice room and a beautyful garden to have a rest, breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markusj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I first visited this hotel back in 1996 and 15 yrs on, it has not only retained its character but has added more beauty to it. Our stay at Diggi palace was the highlight of our trip to Jaipur "the pink city". It is a little jewel hidden amidst the hussle bustle of pink city. Hotel is hidden in a small side street. Architecture of hotel reflects the royalty of the city and its serenity is just a contrast to the busy streets just outside the walls. Rooms were simplistic in nature and the decor was a reminiscent of its former glory, and offered every necessity one could ask for. Restaurant food and service was just fantastic. We didn't even want to venture out in the city; we were just happy in our lilttle cacoon of a hotel. There were peacocks around, which was just beautiful to see in the morning. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Jaipur. After 15 yrs of first visiting it, it was my highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: King size bedroom facing the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nee0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I am looking forward to visiting them when I am there in future. Manager Wilson is a pleasure to talk to and i think they will be a family of yours when you visit them

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Kripakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the Diggi Palace with my boyfriend and four friends for 2 days/3 days during our first trip to Jaipur. I'm so glad I listened to my friend who recommended it. This place turned out to be a great haven from the city bustle. The hotel featured a restaurant overlooking a large garden courtyard. The rooms were clean with unique touches and furnishings. The only downside may be the location, but there were always tuk tuk drivers right outside the gate so we had no problem getting to places.

But overall, the service was amazing. Everyone was super helpful especially when I left my iPod at the Taj Mahal! Wilson, the General Manager, went out of his way to help me get my iPod back from Agra to Jaipur. It was an epic relay that involved four people and by the end of the day, I was reunited with my gadget. I'm still in shock that it happened. I now believe that anything is possible in India. I can't say enough about Diggi Palace's staff and hospitality. I highly recommend them when you visit Jaipur.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pink8uttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.0 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 386 in Jaipur
859 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
686 reviews
1.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Narain Niwas Palace
Narain Niwas Palace
#141 of 386 in Jaipur
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#106 of 386 in Jaipur
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diggi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diggi Palace

Property: Diggi Palace
Address: Diggi House, Shivaji Marg, Sawai Ram Singh Road | C-Scheme, Jaipur 302004, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#50 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diggi Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Diggi Palace is an oasis in the heart of Rajasthan's famous Pink City of Jaipur. Surrounded by acres of beautifully manicured gardens, this converted haveli built in the 1860s is a haven of peace and tranquility located 5 minutes from the bustling Old Walled City of Jaipur.Owned by the Thakurs of Diggi who occupy the main house to this date, Diggi Palace offers visitors a unique taste of Royal Rajasthani Hospitality combined with facilities which include a Multi-Cuisine Restaurant, Royal Gala Dinners, Internet Access, Money Exchange,Swimming Pool, Ayurvedic Massage, Excursions, Jeep / Camel Safaris, Horse-Riding & Yoga. Its 70 rooms, each with its own unique character, range from cottages facing the lawns to luxurious AC doubles with en suite bathrooms set around courtyards & gardens."...drove in through an arched gate into a short driveway...large leafy garden...polite porters...family property of the diggi thakurs...happy feel about it...bright yellow and blue painted walls...pleasant lighting...courtyard where a couple of pre-dinner hours were happily spent...cheerful rooms, clean functional, frills-free bathrooms...quite enough space to spread about...hungry from wandering around, we tucked gratefully into soup, parathas, tikkas, biryani and raita...breakfast...in the charming terracewith bougainvillea draped over our shoulders...fortified ourselves with crepes and coffee...a world away from the chaos...this place breeds cultish loyalty...high number of returnee guests...some stay for long periods of time...great option for a stay in a heritage setting in Jaipur..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Diggi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diggi Palace Hotel Jaipur
Diggi Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing