We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With such a fort, Rajasthan should have been invincible”
Review of Jaigarh Fort

Jaigarh Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Half-Day Jaipur City Tour of Amber Fort with Jeep Ride
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Tour of Jaipur Forts and Beyond
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Jaipur from Delhi
Ranked #15 of 236 things to do in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“With such a fort, Rajasthan should have been invincible”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

For the entire duration of my Jaipur trip, this was the thought that ran through my mind.
Rajputs had everything: invincible forts, their own canon making factory..what more was needed? Why would they need to marry off their daughters to Mughals to ensure that their throne stayed intact?

The Jaiban is the largest canon in the world. Its USP is that it was used only once!
There is a museum where you can read about the canons, and the wars in which each canon was used. It is saddening to read that Hindu Rajput kings fought against Hindu Maratha kings.

There is a canon factory which is a must see. There is a point from where you can see Amber fort. There is a 1600 year old mandir on the fort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deepika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    707
    259
    33
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good to see”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Love to see the architecture and everyrthing and really good feeling to see , and the view is coll and awsome.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MughalCaravanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“So much more than a big cabbob”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

So pleased we went to visit this fort, we started at the famous canon that apparently was forged in the fort grounds took 10 elephants to drag it up to where it is now. It was fired once and they discovered a flaw in the barrel and it has never been fired since.

Our guide who we had for our whole time in Jaipur then took us to explore the rest of the complex and we are so glad we did. The are some stunning views esp down onto Amber Palace we are glad we went there first as being able to see it from above was great so we could see how it all ‘fitted’ together.

The gardens are beautiful to look down on but are private so you can’t explore them sadly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a bit overrated.. only the huge cannon is something to look forward to”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was disappointed as the walls were carelessly whitewashed and hence, stripped of the charm the old forts exude.. Compared to amer, it does not stand a chance but of course, it was built mainly for the royal troops so the architecture is almost absent.
This fort is still with the royal family of Jaipur, so there were no proper markers or information present.. not much maintenance is done and if done, it is careless and shabby. Missed the careful restoration that ASI does. Spectacular views but still, was not truly awed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank priyanka_chaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Badly maintained, rogue tour guides, rude guards”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Badly maintained, rogue tour guides wander around and try to show you stuff while the guards just sit and watch and don't help harassed tourists at all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thoran13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaigarh Fort also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Jaigarh Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing