We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful water palace”
Review of Jal Mahal

Jal Mahal
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Private Tour: Amber Fort from Jaipur
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Guided Tour of Jaipur City
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Jaipur from Delhi by Car with Lunch
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful water palace”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On the way to Amber Fort, stop and take some pics of this beautiful water palace. Can’t access the palace, so only worth a brief stop for the clicks from the road.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank am_gill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    959
    796
    126
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good but can see from far”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Jal mahal is located in between the lake and you can only click photographs from far as it is not accessible

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeenaG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing to see, even if you can't enter”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On our way out to Amber Fort, we saw the most amazing site: a palace floating in a lake. From the guidebook, I was confused. Was the palace flooded? Was it built on an island? What was it doing there? Built in 1799 as a summer resort by the royal family, Jal Mahal was built to resemble the Lake Palace in Udaipur (where we went next), as one of the royals had previously sent time there. It was a beautiful building, no hint of hand underneath so the whites of the walls were reflected from the lake. All of these buildings spoke to the extravagance that was once within the Rajput’s capabilities. The building is currently not opened to tourists. The Indians have not yet grasped the capitalist tourism bug, as anywhere else there would be boats that would at least go around the building. I wish we could have wandered around inside, imagining the lifestyle is once held.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ABD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Labirynth”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Inside it is like a maze - many rooms, corridors and passages. Nice architecture and do not forget to see the facade from the street side.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kokosowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very well built”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its very well built but sad thing is we cannot go inside. We have to look at this place from a distance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jal Mahal also viewed

 

Been to Jal Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing