We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“palace on water”
Review of Jal Mahal

Jal Mahal
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Private Tour: Amber Fort from Jaipur
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Guided Tour of Jaipur City
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Jaipur from Delhi by Car with Lunch
bhubaneswar
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“palace on water”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Jal Mahal Palace of Jaipur, built in 1799, is noted for its intricate beauty and architecture. Situated amidst the picturesque Mansagar Lake, the palace has the Nahargarh hills forming its backdrop. Jal Mahal of Jaipur, Rajasthan is a five-story palace, with the first four floors being submerged under water. The Nahargarh Fort situated nearby offers a splendid view of the lake as well as the palace.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank niharswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    943
    780
    122
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Photo Opportunity”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's difficult to know why you should line up to take exactly the same shot that professionals have been taking for years. But in the right light this is a very picturesque spot and worth a five minute leg stretch. The lake, until recently the terminus of the Jaipur sewage pipe, has been cleaned up enough for it to have fish in it now but it's still full of litter. I'm still not sure I'd want to be rowed across it to reach the palace even if that were an option, which it isn't.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gandhistreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, lovely photo, postcard shot”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Our driver stopped here so that we could take a few snaps. The reflection of the palace with water all around on a hot sunny day is superb. You just want to get a boat over and visit, which is what I wanted to do but unfortunately not an option.

All you can do is take a 15 minute break, take some lovely photos, buy something from a vendor if you want or further along you can get a camel or elephant ride.

Helpful?
Thank sparkyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another great sight.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Another worthwhile sight. From the promenade you get a great view of this sight and its worth spending time there, however, like many monuments it is infested with trinket sellers, scammers and pickpockets. The road side approaching the monument seriously lets it down and while I was there the drains were flushing up from the manhole covers.

Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Gorgeous to see from the outside, sadly, you cannot go inside but stop by for a quick photo!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Make sure you put a drive-by of Jal Mahal on your Jaipur itinerary. Our driver told us many stories about Jal Mahal: it was used as a summer retreat from the heat of the city palace as Jal Mahal was engineered to capture the wind off the lake to cool the rooms inside. When it was too hot to be in the city palace, the Jaipur royal family would escape to Jal Mahal to cool off.

If you jump out of your car to snap a few shots - be mindful that you will be swarmed by locals trying to sell you trinkets and baubles. My driver stopped at a great photo spot away from the crowd of vendors so as they made their way over to me, I snapped some great pics and jumped right back in to the car!

A sight to behold for certain but it is too bad it is not open for touring.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jal Mahal also viewed

 

Been to Jal Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing