We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful masterpiece”

Royal Gaitor Tumbas
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Amber Fort and Royal Gaitor Including a Hike to...
Ranked #31 of 230 things to do in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful masterpiece”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It is a beautiful, mesmerizing marble structure that is historically significant. We visited it when we visited Amber Fort during our sightseeing trip of Jaipur. This place emerged as a very popular tourist destination and we decided to visit it. It is not in an inaccessible location and is easy to find. We hired a guide for the day and he took us to this place. It is very peaceful and not that crowded. The structure is a brilliantly crafted masterpiece.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    89
    27
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best preserved of Jaipur's heritage!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Gaitor monuments were located at a walking distance from where we were stating. Strangely these were not a part of most of the standard sightseeing trips on offer. On encouragement from the security guard at our resort, we ventured to trek to Royal Gaitor early morning. We had the monument to ourselves withnot a soul in sight. The helpful sweeper of the place told us which royal each monument was dedicated to. The later day royals have their names inscribed but the older cenotaphs have no names inscribed & are mostly in marble. The carvings are exquisite and some even beat what you see at the Taj Mahal. As with everything in Rajasthan the chattris are so pefectly symmetrical. You can admire the latticed windows here and the perfect harmony of the constructions.
We got told visitors and tourists don't go here as it is associated with the dead-strange for isn't that what the Taj Mahal too is about? Don't miss this for anything!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hidden masterpiece”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The place is mesmerising. Carvings are even better than Tajmahal. A must visit place in Jaipur. It is very close to Jalmahal (not to be confused with Maharani Canotaphs).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janix500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little visited treasure”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Off the main tourist track had the joy of having this place to myself for half an hour. So incredibly beautiful and peaceful certainly worth a visit.
Only thing I didn't like was the pushy guy at the ticket desk wanting to guide far to pushy for my liking. Think the tranquility of the space would have been ruined if her had guided.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canterburylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
195 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The marble structures are very beautiful and well preserved. Definitely not the most popular in the jaipur circuit but definitely worth more than what is being perceived. Maybe because of this, the entire surrounding is very peaceful. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank karikor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gaitor Tumbas also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Royal Gaitor Tumbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing