We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other place gives you a better view of Jaipur”
Review of Nahargarh Fort

Nahargarh Fort
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Private Night Sightseeing Tour of Jaipur
Ranked #17 of 232 things to do in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No other place gives you a better view of Jaipur”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have spent initial 10 years of my life in our ancestral house on Nahargarh Road. From the house, the fort is not more than 30 minutes of walk. So I have seen it changing its colours from bright golden to post 'Rang de basanti' era. We would go there early morning every day and spend hours there. But after a bollywood movie 'Rang De Basanti' was shot there, the site that we assumed to be our secret place, started attracting all kinds of people. It is no more safe to visit Nahargarh post 6-7 in the evening.

Nahargarh is full of such sites which would give you amazing and breathtaking views. To experience 280 degree view of Jaipur, one should visit Nahargarh at different times.

One of the lesser known paths is the walk way to Nahargarh that goes up from the old city of Jaipur. Nahargarh Road inside the walled city takes you straight to the fort. The Mohan Nagar area where which is the starting point of the uphill path is not very clean, but once you are on uphill walkway, it is just fine. Watching sun rise from Nahargarh is one of the best moments in Jaipur for me.

If your visit is coinciding with Diwali festival, I would suggest to go to Nahargarh and sit in Padao restaurant post evening hours to see Jaipur at its full glory. For this take the tar road that starts from Kanak Vrindavan.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaipandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    580
    267
    46
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Views like balloon ride located in a scenic backdrop of the Aravalli Hills”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

"Along with Amber Fort and Jaigarh Fort, Nahargarh once formed a strong defense triangle for the city. From the top of the fort, enjoy the breathtaking views of the hilly milieu like balloon ride located in a scenic backdrop of the Aravalli Hills" - Quote about Nahargarh Fort in Jaipur by Sachin Kumar Gupta

After visiting lavish Amer and Jaigarh Fort, we approached towards the 'Nahargarh Fort', which formed a strong defense for Jaipur city. It is built by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II in 1734. Nahargarh Fort is connected to the Jaigarh Fort through its fortifications. This Place was a picnic spot for the Royal family. One can easily reach Nahargarh Fort of Rajasthan from the city by taking local Buses or by hiring local Taxis.

More interesting photos and info at:
http://sachinkgupta.com/2013/09/nahargarh-fort-jaipur.html

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sachinkguptadotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice fort”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a super nice fort to visit. Nice view of Jaipur, especially at night. A good look at history, some good photos can be taken. Guilds were cheap and very helpful. They had a restaurant that had cold beer and the food wasn't that bad. Worth waiting for the traffic to die down before heading back too your hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zult2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing views”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

it has the most spectacular views from whole of jaipur. it is right next to the Jaigarh fort, drive is very nice especially at the evening time when the trafiic is less. but during day, road is full of traffic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mposzwa216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“breathtaking views..”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

a very modern fort. offers a picturesque view of the entire city. one can gauge the huge scale of the capital city. very symmetric architecture. popular for film shooting and its bawdi (step well) which is well featured in 'Rang De Basanti'
sadly we could not find a proper guide here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m_m_17589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nahargarh Fort also viewed

 

Been to Nahargarh Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing