We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Monkey Temple (Galta Ji)
from $300.00
More Info
Reviews (1,700)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveler rating
481
327
208
73
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
327
208
73
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey man monkey food love monkeys friendly monkeys monkeys running feed monkeys camera fee holy water holy place tuk tuk take pictures interesting place visit this place jaipur city peanuts priest cows
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The incredible thing about the money temple is the monkeys and the fact that the temple is in the mountains. It was beautiful to see all the colours and people and monkeys! All in harmony. Beware if you have flowers around your neck, the monkeys will jump on you and eat them!

Thank Eureca4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Forget the priestre who ask a lot of money for his benediction and thirty wears which the pillgrins let at place, after ablutions...it was a magique place which I recommand...

Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the monkey temple with a guide, who showed us around the huge complex, where approximately 2000 monkeys live. The monkeys are used to being fed by people and do not bother anybody. Therefore we had an enjoyable and relaxed stay. Feeding the monkeys with peanuts is fun and also watching them swimming in the basin of water or climbing on the rocks is amazing. Pilgrims come to visit this place for the holy water coming from a spring above the temple.

Thank BirgitG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Intresting place and have lots and lots of art and hand work goood place but have lots of monkey and also have water storage. Callds in hindi kund

Thank jaskaran00791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A intressting place with a lot and lot of monkeys. U can feed the monkeys and walk around the Temple and do puja. Its a nice sometimes relaxing place

Thank M3169GEannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The monkeys here are very different from the ones in the city. The monkeys in the city are wild. The ones here are relaxed. It may be the setting or probably the fact that they are fed. I witnessed a number of persons feeding them. We went with a guide and he was feeding the monkeys as well and they were all over him in very humourous ways.

We had to pay in order to be able to take pictures. I advise that you do as you can get quite a number of interesting pictures with the monkeys. The temple is beautiful but it is also dirty. If you are interested in going inside the temple itself, you will have to pay the priest. They were praying when we went so we opted not to.

There were also a few persons bathing in the springs. The water looked enjoyable especially because it was a very hot day.

You should pay this place a visit if you like monkeys.

Thank Ladykyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went just before sunset, so the sun was behind the range and it was cool. You need to pay 50R to be able to take photographs at the car park entrance. Monkeys are very friendly, if overwhelming slightly. Keep walking all the way up to the top of the range to the next template.

Thank jaxor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had heard about the Galtaji temple in a few blog posts and being an avid photographer, decided to check it out. There are two ways to get to it - one is via the Galta gate, which is close to Hawa Mahal. If you take this route, you will have to hike up a path for a couple of kilometers. Note that the temple at the top of the hill on this hike, is NOT the monkey temple. It is the smaller Sun temple. I see that a lot of reviewers on here, hiked up to this temple, felt disappointed that the temple was small and lacked monkeys and turned around. To get to the Monkey temple, you have to hike DOWN further to the chain of temples and pools.

I strongly suggest that you take a tuk-tuk and go the other way (via Sisodiya Gardens). That route takes you to a parking lot that is right next to the actual Monkey temple - you would thus avoid doing the 1.5 to 2 km hike to get to the monkey temple if you had taken the hiking route.

The temple is beautiful and is a photographer's dream. I couldn't believe at the number of monkeys roaming around. They are docile and will eat off your hands and climb on you if you wish. IMO, the best time to go (for photography) is early morning, or my preference, two hours before sunset. Going in the evening is better, as by that time the sun is not casting harsh shadows in the monkey pool area, and you can get some breathtaking shots with amazing color. I spent around 2 hours yesterday and am going again today to do some more photography. It's simply outstanding.

Entrance is free, but they charge you Rs. 50 (less than $1) for a still camera and Rs. 150 for a video camera. You gotta love these folks on here moaning about paying that money - same folks who will buy a $5 Starbucks, eat $20 meals, spend over a $100 for a day pass to Disneyland, Universal Studios or Six Flags, but can't bear to spend $1 for a location like this. Hilarious! And for those that find this place dirty - newsflash! This is India - did you not do more research into India? If you want to check out spotless places, go to antiseptic places in Europe or the US. However, if you truly want to experience something magical and are not a wuss about dirt and cleanliness, then check this place out. You won't regret it.

In summary, try and go from the back side and NOT via the hiking trail. If you do go via the hiking trail, remember that the temple at the top is NOT the monkey temple. You have to walk further down until you hit those three pools. The best photos of the monkey frolicking around can be taken at the bottom pool and the best time is around 2 to 2.5 hours before the sun sets until sunset.

I am attaching some photos to give an idea of the place and the kind of shots you can take. I used a 200 mm lens for these shots. You can find more shots on my Instagram with the handle 'thelightexplorer'. Have fun if you do go there.

2  Thank TheLightExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was a bit skeptical about going to this temple. But it was tremendous fun.

The temple itself is interesting, but for me the monkeys were the star attraction.

They are somewhat tame, so if you feed them, you'll quite likely end up with a friend. A close friend.

A few climbed on me (I encouraged it, they are a bit timid) and I found it hilarious.

Beautiful setting. Funny monkeys. What else do you want? :-)

Oh...the "VIP Bathroom"? It's actually nice and clean.

Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest I was not too excited about visiting the temple as was unsure about the monkeys.

However we got a guide & had a great experience.
The monkey's were pretty gentle when feeding them peanuts. The guide lived at the temple so was more than informative about the monkeys & temple..

Well worth a visit...

Thank katgreenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews