We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel, but the management is becoming complacent”
Review of Alsisar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alsisar Haveli
Ranked #36 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“charming hotel, but the management is becoming complacent”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this was my third or fourth stay at alsisar haveli in the last four years. It's still charming but the management is becoming complacent. it seems that foreign groups use this a lot and perhaps don't make repeat visits, so anything goes. our room 217 where we stayed on march 16/17 was certainly not up to the mark. The a/c wasn't functioning, the fan stopped in the middle of the night and the screen door didn't have a lock or bolt, so, we couldn't even open the door to let in fresh air. the staff was just ok, more interested in the tip at the end rather than show any signs of proactive service, everytime we had to get their attention. management please wake up and don't lose the goodwill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anukap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You are a regular guest at our hotel and your feedback means a lot. We will definitely look into the areas you mentioned and ensure we provide quality service to all our guests. We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    347
    100
    49
    12
See reviews for
175
339
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were in Rm 301 which was an excellent roof top suite with great views of the courtyard, in this heritage hotel. Good bathroom and shower. Three flights of stairs to climb so if that is a problem think about it. Free internet and computer access but only one and when we were there 4 German men virtually wouldn't let anyone else use it - they need to put a time limit on this ! The food and service in the dining room was excellent, buffet R900 including taxes. Only one choice of dessert, like a carrot cake, very nice but a fruit platter or an other option would not go amiss. They will get icecream if you ask for it.
The staff at reception is what lets this hotel down. The bulb had blown in my bedside lamp, I phoned twice over 40 minutes for someone to bring up a bulb to be told it was on its way - gave up in the end and went down and got it myself, they had done nothing and couldn't care less and no apology. The lunch in the coutyard was slow service and chips were cold. Breakfast was very good. Excellent swimming pool here. Overall pretty good.

Room Tip: Room 301 was excellent and you feel like you are in the heavens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest reply. We appreciate it. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. We will ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The entrance from the street looks like nothing but once you open the doors it is a tranquil feeling. The hotel is within walking distance of the Pink City streets which make exploring easy. The room was ok and issues sorted out quickly. The decor is old colonial style Rajistan complete with old style lock. The breakfast was good and the service fine. Mine was a business trip so It was convenient. The air conditioner was noisy.

Room Tip: The back rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you brought certain issues to the notice of the administration during your stay. We are here to ensure you have a comfortable and memorable stay. Your feedback is very important to us. Thank you so much once again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a spectacular oasis of tranquility amidst the hustle-bustle of downtown Jaipur! Spectacular setting, ambiance, and service, especially by 20-year veteran, "Mr. Mustache".
The food was exquisite, the pool a dream, and the staff extremely personable and professional. I would stay here again at the drop of a hat!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the inner courtyard and enjoy the gathering birds at dusk and at dawn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Alsisar Haveli. It was a pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Alsisar Haveli reminded me of an old Dowager Duchess from a bygone time. This is a really charming hotel, definitely Indian , the wonderful painted ceilings and huge airy bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The service and food good, The hotel is set back off a typical noisy Indian city street, you turn into a little courtyard and there she is hidden from the chaos outside. The splash of colour of the gardens such a contrast from the usual filth of the street outside. The hotel is furnished with special old antiques and reproductions, the over all feel is slightly faded colonial grandeur in a delightfully charming way.
I would have no problem in recommending this as a perfect place to stay for a night or two when visiting Jaipur. I do agree however with a previous review it wasn't always clear trying to get information from the hotel staff as English is definitely not well understood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will definitely try to make our staff more comfortable with the English language so that there are no barriers in communication. Thank you once again for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In November we were in Jaipur, India and we stayed at the Alsisar Haveli. The location is not the best but taking taxis from out the front is easy. However once you step into the grounds of the hotel you feel like you are back in the old India of Maharaja times. It was once a palace and the family still live there on the ground floor of the court yard but use the rest as a hotel. It is truly breath taking.The ballroom is used as the restaurant and breakfast area. There are outdoor tables where you can sit and have a drink while some local musicians and dancers entertain quietly in the back ground. There is a pool however not a big one but it is enough to cool down and is decorated with fountains and tradtitional carvings. The rooms are not big but have ensuites and flat screen TVs.
We had a room on the top floor so we could look over the city and hear the mosques and other festival sounds.
The staff are really happy and friendly which reflects on the owners and managers and it was truly a delight to stay there... right down to their wonderful door knobs..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so that you can hear and see the city. The hotel has only 3 floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality. Thanks once again. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Alsisar and the experience was very interesting. Story and Architecture of the building had - for me - a central role in appreciating the hotel. It is hidden off the main road of Jaipur and consists of various courtyards, around which room are displayed. Each room looks a little different and exits are staight to either public mini-piazas in the ground floor or passages in the upper one.

Hotel is located about 40 minutes from Jaipur's airport and it is not recommended to take other means of transport but taxi. Even though the main street is right there, we used transportation to go everywhere. Climbing up to the mountaintop of Jaipur is about 25 minutes away. Dinners & Breakfasts at the Alsisar were in good quality and dishes were a combo of Indian and British, with an extra option to have international cuisine a le carte. Service was always personal and kind. As always In India, I would check the cleanliness of the kitchen and so I have done in this case as well. The kitchen was clean to the spot.

I would, however, note that the Wifi connection was not fluent and that although the standards of accomodation were really good and had a family feel to it, communication with the staff was sometimes problematic and unclear as English was not well understood.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnietlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We enjoyed serving you and sharing our history with you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you so much for taking out time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 382 in Jaipur
1,187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 382 in Jaipur
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#29 of 382 in Jaipur
1,298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 382 in Jaipur
836 reviews
1.0 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 382 in Jaipur
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsisar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsisar Haveli

Property: Alsisar Haveli
Address: Sansar Chandra Road,, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#35 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsisar Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar Haveli: This charming property in rajput architecture style, originally built in 1892 as a noblemans' home has now been converted to a heritage hotel.Alsisar Haveli is set 5 minutes' walk from the walled pink city and 2 minutes drive from MI Road, the business center of Jaipur. Offering free Wi-Fi, Alsisar Haveli has beautiful courtyards,lawns, and an outdoor pool with Spa and steam facilities.Rooms feature antique furniture and painted arches with modern amenities like air conditioning, complimentary bottled water, flat-screen TV and en suite bathrooms.Other facilities include a travel desk and laundry services.The restaurant at this hotel specialises in Indian cuisine but also caters to an international selection. The roof terrace offers pleasant views of Nahargarh Fort.The Cultural attractions of Hawa Mahal and City Palace along with several shops, cafes and restaurants can also be found nearby.Distance from Airport- 12 kms Distance from railway Station- 1.8 kms Distance from Bus Stand-800 meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Alsisar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsisar Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing