We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peaceful and comfortable base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meghniwas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meghniwas
Ranked #7 of 354 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and comfortable base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a lovely little spot, an oasis of calm in a busy city. It's also an excellent value: The same tranquility and comfort at other heritage hotels (in slightly fancier quarters) would cost twice as much. The rooms are comfortable and clean with many charming features. The setting of the place is intimate, with many shady places to sit. The pool is nice for a swim on a hot day. The staff is responsive and afternoon tea a nice treat. Many friends have stayed here and all have enjoyed it. The place garners a devoted following.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topaz1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEGHNIWASJAIPUR, Owner at Hotel Meghniwas, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I wish to Thank you for all the kind words you have to say about Meghniwas.We are grateful to you for using our place. We will try to always have a room for you we are here because of you.Love. Indu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    92
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
94
35
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had two very pleasant nights at this hotel which proved to be an island of tranquillity in a busy city. The owner, Mrs Singh, exudes quiet charm and gave good guidance on practical matters. The accommodation was clean and, whilst not luxurious, more than adequate. The food was tasty and abundant. The evening meals on the pool deck were warmed by braziers. Our needs were catered for at all levels. The hotel is within a few minutes' walk of a number of ATMs. Laundry was done promptly and efficiently. The hotel had been recommended to us by friends and we, in turn, recommend it as a place for a relaxing and refreshing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Meghniwas will not let you down be it rooms, services or the food. The booking is meticulously reviewed and confirmed. The rooms are cosy and clean, though it may not be fancy and highly spacious as few heritage hotels boast of. I could walk to any place I wanted during my stay as it was conveniently situated in a busy area - Bani Park which is highly accessible from anywhere. It gives a tough competitive to its next door hotel, Jasvilas (which is equally good). Honestly speaking none is less than other. Though menu is limited during Breakfast, but well organised and quite filing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Trip-advisor review and turns out to be good as expected. We booked a suit, which was neat & clean rooms as well as spacious to accommodate a family of 4. Breakfast & Dinner was also very good. A complete homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night, after the reception had closed. And yet, just as the owner Mrs Singh had emailed, the gate was open and our room key was waiting for us with a big welcome sign. That was so nice to see.
We stayed in a large beautifully decorated and furnished room, with a balcony overlooking the rear garden and swimming pool. Breakfast was great - real coffee, fruit, eggs cooked to order, etc. Really friendly staff.
This is such a good hotel. Just perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolandsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Reading the various reviews of this hotel, we had fairly high expectations and the hotel didn't let us down. We had booked a suite for three days, changed our itinerary to arrive a day earlier and the management accommodated us immediately, despite it being the peak tourist season. Having read many of the earlier reviews advising visitors to try for poolside rooms, we wanted one too. But they were all taken and the only suite was on the ground floor facing the road. The traffic noise wasn't too intrusive once the windows were shut. Further, one could just step out of the suite and on to the lawn, or the swing, to cosy up with a book or for a cup of tea anytime of the day. Jaipur was much warmer than Delhi, so the heater in the room nearly cooked us :-D till we reset the temperature a bit lower.

The restaurant is pretty decent, with buffet and a la carte selections. But we had come looking for authentic Rajasthani fare (but that's in a different review), so didn't dine here often. The poolside sitouts were pretty nice. Would have loved a dip, but for the temperature outside. Now for the suite itself...for about USD120 a night, the place is a steal. Our suite was very spacious, airy and had a lot of natural light. The suite was done up with a period theme and the furniture's also been chosen tastefully. Awesome bathroom with a full length tub. If you're planning to stay in the room for any length of time, there's a 32" Flatscreen and oodles of channels on Cable. The staff was very responsive and attentive to our requirements.

Little issues faced, the parking out front can only accommodate two cars. So if there are already two parked there, you need to take your car out to the back, which is a short ride away. Again, since we only had to do this once, we didn't have a problem with this. But had we had to do this time and again, we'd have probably hated it. Second, the water is heated by a solar water heater. By the time the third person entered the shower, the water was more tepid that hot. It went from hot to warm to lukewarm to brrrrr-get-out-of-the-shower-quick rather too fast for my comfort. The brochure and map they keep in the reception really came in handy.

You would be well advised to hire a Govt approved guide for sightseeing. At INR550 (USD10) for an 8-hour duration, the guide really augments the experience. We had a car, so the guide was instrumental in helping us find good places to eat, parking slots at all the spots and local news and tidbits...To conclude, a great stay at a very reasonably cost. Will I stay here again? HELL YES!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms may mean less traffic noise, as other reviews mention, but even the suite facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaD0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A real relax Place with beutiful garden and a real swimming pool.
Room are elegants.
Food is excellent and at good price.
People are really nice too.
Try and you will be' happy!!
Find a good tuc tuc driver and your vacation in Jaipur will be' perfect

Room Tip: If you really look for a silent place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 354 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.7 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#12 of 354 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#8 of 354 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#3 of 354 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#6 of 354 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghniwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghniwas

Property: Hotel Meghniwas
Address: C-9 Sawai Jai Singh Highway | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meghniwas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meghniwas is small twenty four rooms Boutique Hotel in Jaipur Rajasthan. It is a family owned & managedHotel run by Colonel Fateh Singh & his wife Mrs Indu F Singh.Meghniwas is an ancestral family home converted into a Hotel. It is built on a 2500 sq yd plot with a pool & extensive gardens. Our USP is personalized services,Warm, friendly , relaxing , clean & unpretentious atmosphere with a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meghniwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghniwas Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing