We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis”
Review of Hotel Meghniwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meghniwas
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Managua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true oasis”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Meghniwas is a true gem in the jungle of private hotels in Jaipur. Stylish, yet unassuming, it offers true comfort and peace in a chaotic city of Jaipur. We spent a long weekend at Meghniwas in August with our two young children and were delighted with our experience: a beautiful old (but extremely well kept) house with a front lawn and a wonderful little pool, stylish and spacious rooms and a simple but delicious food, most of which is organically grown in their roof-top garden-terrace. Wonderful Mr. and Mrs. Singh (owners), as well as helpful and discreet staff, made us feel relaxed. In addition to the off-season discount, at the end of our stay we were surprised with an additional reduction we received, as a token of generosity and good will by the owners. It is a stylish, yet relaxed and child-friendly place, and we will certainly, certainly visit Meghniwas again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    113
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
113
118
41
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

At first we did not realize that it was a hotel- we thought it is a private bungalow. we went there once we could not find space at the adjacent Jas Villas. Megh Niwas (written Meghniwas) is a very nice place with a sprawling green lawn and a nice swimming pool and Cafeteria. Probably, as it was off season we got a nice discount there. If you can find a room on the ground floor front side facing the lawn it is a great value of money you spend. Rooms are spacious, neat and clean and well maintained. Food is average. I do not find the Indian food very good. You must try the lemon they serve with lunch. It has a very different and strong aroma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achyut_Hatimuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a team of 12 students and 3 staff, we stayed at meghniwas for 4 nights for our final R&R phase of a 6 week expedition before we went back to the UK. Mrs Singh the owner is a kind and welcoming lady, who goes out of her way to help you make the most of your stay. If I came back to Jaipur again this is where I would stay without a second though, I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraKHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We wanted a well located 'non hotel' property to stay for a weekend in Jaipur for our family, and found Meghniwas on TripAdvisor. It's a haveli kind of residence that has been converted into a hotel. It was an overall good experience. The location is excellent on wide road with ample parking the rear of the Hotel. The place is clean, with well maintained lawn in front-where the kids played and a pool at back to lounge around. There's even a resident cat that kept the kids entertained! The staff was attentive and helpful, going to extent of making bookings on our behalf, and giving us directions and tips to places around Jaipur. I would like to make a special mention that, some gold jewelry that I forgot behind in the bathroom in the morning was left untouched (despite the room being cleaned) when I returned at night. The food available is nothing to write home about, but neither was it bad. The rooms are big and comfortable. Definitely recommended as a nice place to stay in Jaipur, if one is happy with simple fare on the hotel menu or willing to explore the many food joints in Jaipur, besides this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank D_Nallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Staying at Meghniwas was such a wonderful experience. The hotel is super clean and the staff is very efficient and knowledgeable. Rickshaws were easy to find outside of the hotel and could take us easily for 50 rupees (<$1) to any restaurant on MI road. I have a great memory of swimming in the pool while my friend skyped her family from the swinging chair right to the pool and having two mango shakes brought to us (including to me in the pool!). How luxurious! For such a clean, and comfortable hotel it has great charm and personality. The owner of the hotel is always sitting out on the lawn and happy to talk to guests about India, Jaipur and his children. Recommend 100%! They even let us drop off our luggage early while we took a three day train trip to Jodhpur! Powerful AC and great restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here along with a party of English ladies during a textiles holiday. Stepping off the coach after a 7 hour trip from Delhi where the roads are noisy, dirty, busy, and crazy with traffic, was like stepping into paradise. As soon as you are through the main gates and head towards reception the noise and busyness just melts away. Colonel Fateh Singh's wife Indu greeted us all personally with a garland of flowers, and the staff were very welcoming fetching us refreshing cold drinks. The room I stayed in overlooked the pool, was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had an enormous bathroom. I enjoyed wifi, air conditioning and a fridge in my room, and it was cleaned every day and fresh towels left out.

The restaurant and food were an unexpected delight. At every meal time there was a banquet style selection of gorgeous foods, much from the owners own organic farm. We couldn't praise the food or the staff enough, in fact I didn't want to eat anywhere else. Outside the restaurant there are tables and chairs and garden swings to sit in and relax. There is also a computer room and a library of books.

When we sent out our laundry, it was back the same day, all neatly ironed and folded beautifully, I felt really pampered by my experience and would love to go back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minarety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in this family run hotel. The hotel is situated close to a street, but we were surprised how less noise you could hear. The rooms are clean and spacious. The garden gives you a fantastic possibility to relax and recover from the hectic in the city. In addition Hotel Meghniwas offers the guests a small swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cako2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 386 in Jaipur
1,873 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,574 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghniwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghniwas

Property: Hotel Meghniwas
Address: C-9 Sawai Jai Singh Highway | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meghniwas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meghniwas is small twenty four rooms Boutique Hotel in Jaipur Rajasthan. It is a family owned & managedHotel run by Colonel Fateh Singh & his wife Mrs Indu F Singh.Meghniwas is an ancestral family home converted into a Hotel. It is built on a 2500 sq yd plot with a pool & extensive gardens. Our USP is personalized services,Warm, friendly , relaxing , clean & unpretentious atmosphere with a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meghniwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghniwas Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing