We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like a maharani”
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samode Haveli
Ranked #11 of 389 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

A magnificent room in an old world haveli that remains in top condition and retains all it's charm, to provide a grand oasis in the bustling heart of the old city of Jaipur. After an almost hiccup where the management tried to change one night of my booking to the samode palace 40 km out of town, all was put right and I spent two luxurious nights in the deluxe room I booked. And it was worth it. A long bath in a gorgeous marble tub. Great room and room service and just clean and beautiful. The breakfast included is served in a suitably grand room with small windows overlooking the well kept grounds, befitting the old glory of the haveli. And the food was delicious, both western and Indian. The price was on the higher side for India, on par with the top end hotels but if you can get this deluxe room, it's worth every rupee. The hotel also provided airport pick up that was reliable and put me in touch with Kadir, a great local driver and tour guide who made my stay in Jaipur a wonderful experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Petty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We loved this property. I am not sure how it happened, but we got a double upgrade to a suite; living room, bedroom and a huge bathroom with 2 sinks. It wasn't warm enough to swim, but the pool was beautiful and the grounds were gorgeous. Dinner in the main dining room was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel itself could be a tourist attraction. Beautiful heritage building a labyrinth of passages balconies and courtyards. Lovely on the eye. Add a beautiful outdoor pool with bar set in a lovely garden a nice gym and a useful spa. Not only that but an amazing location right in the centre of Jaipur. We have so far stayed in higher graded hotels than this on our tour but this is easily our favourite so far.

If you need 5 star mod cons in your room then this isn't for you but if you appreciate heritage and history this is one classy place to stay. The guests seem to be self selecting on that basis.

Despite being a big fan of Samode Haveli it can improve. The restaurant is beautiful (or you can eat in the main courtyard) but the menu is rather limited and you won't get a full Indian restaurant offering with the usual accoutrements. Also we wanted to order a glass of red wine tonight and told we could only buy a bottle but we could have white by the glass provided it was Chardonnay ! Having said that its good food and reasonably priced and service was good. We understand there are good alternative restaurants in Jaipur but due to our schedule didn't have time to find them.

The second area would be the spa which needs a bit more investment and the treatments whilst incredible value were somewhat inconsistent with the descriptions on the menu. But for the money we weren't worried.

Great hotel and loved our room (we booked a deluxe one).

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sailork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Turning into the Samode from the dusty outside street I though we'd made a mistake, but I was wrong. It was SO different once inside!
We had a wonderful suite downstairs, which resembled a palace. Vast room, big bathroom, great shower and bath.
We ate here every night, as the food and service were so good. You can get a cooked English breakfast if you want as well, but the buffet is good. Lunch and dinner were terrific, and we ate outside as it was dry and warm. But they do light firepits too!
Poolside area is very impressive, with a selection of canopied beds to lounge on, as well as normal sunbeds

Room Tip: we had a garden view suite (118) on ground floor with a small private courtyard. there is a mosque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

As you drive up you think you could be in for a stay at a run down hotel. Get inside though and it is lovely with open air eating, a good size and private swimming pool/bar, and the staff are very eager to help. Our two rooms were enormous by European standards with a big bathroom, large sleeping area, balcony, sitting room, and a small dressing room. The dining room has a very ornate ceiling and you can tell the original owners were a well to do Indian family. It's a little gem in a very bustling city. Keep your doors shut though or you might be visited by the very inquisitive monkeys (but the staff make this very clear when you arrive).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived late from Mumbai, and were the last people into the hotel. No one came to greet us, or carry our bags, even though we had to walk up a ramp that was quite steep. Once in the hotel, we were given a room with no windows, balcony or view (other than a side door that allowed to walk through the service areas on the hotel ceilings), and, against our sole express request, a double bed instead of a twin. Having complained, we were dismissively told that it was the only room available, and that they could install a bunk bed. The air conditioning was old and non-functional, and he quality of the bedsheet mediocre, so the room was blisteringly hot even though it was cold outside.

Having complained again in the morning, we were then non-chalantly told that some people don't like some rooms, and that they could not please everybody. No compensation was provided (or attempted) for our predicament.

Veredict: incredibly overpriced for such an amateurishly run establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

When you get there you will wonder if your travel agent made a mistake because it looks a bit run down. . But he didn't because he knows about the secrets, and once you are inside its great, . It is a two hundred year old Haveli belonging to the Samode family (minor Maharajahs) which has been nicely converted to a hotel. The decor is fantastic: the dining room alone is a trip back to 18th century india prior to the arrival on the Brits. The staff, less outgoing than in other places (but maybe that's Jaipur) but competent and helpful. We were there during the Jaipur Literature festival, and the place was full of "intellectual" looking people from all over the world discussing Jonathan Frantzen and Ved Mehta. It's in the middle of the old town, one of the only upmarket hotels from which you can walk around.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 15 are a Maharajahs dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essbeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.5 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
6.8 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#14 of 389 in Jaipur
2,031 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 389 in Jaipur
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 389 in Jaipur
1,441 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 389 in Jaipur
1,779 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli - A Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $277 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing