We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Tranquil”
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samode Haveli
Ranked #12 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the few good hotels inside the city walls.The staff in the hotel can't do enough for you. The restaurant with it's lovely water features is delightful. The menu and food was excellent. The spa treatments were very good but the pool was freezing at this time of year. Our room was huge and charming.
A really lovely place to chillax with the frenetic city only moments away.
A gem.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are in a quiter part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrip_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Samode Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Checked in and asked for an upgrade which we were given. We had Room 308 and you could not have asked for anything better. It consisted of a very large bathroom with a free standing bath and separate shower under an arch way from the bedroom was a large lounge area with lots of sitting places and TV.Also TV at foot of bed, bath robes, slippers and toiletries. The Restaurant was outside in a Courtyard and there were Patio heaters and Gel fires with burning wood. The food and service were excellent.One or two groups were eating in a dining room. WIFI was free in the swimming pool area and bar and in the Courtyard area..

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade and room 308 was outstanding
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place is a dream. It's sort of like staying at your (wealthy eccentric) great uncle and aunt's home... if your great uncle and aunt were maharajas. The 'small' palace was converted to a hotel. The rooms are spacious, and decked with old world charm and fitted with quaint and quirky fixtures. All VERY comfortable. There is real local art on the walls, as well as family photographs of your Maharaja relatives. Arriving here was like getting to an oasis of comfort after a long drive from Agra. Our only regret was arriving late and sightseeing the entire day, then leaving the next morning. It would have been great had we planned a day to lounge around the beautiful ...and I mean BEAUTIFUL pool.
The reception, by a charming manager named Gori, was cordial and welcoming. She invited us to make ourselves at home, and even checked in with us the next day to make us feel like royal guests. We asked her to make a reservation at another city restaurant the next night, which she said 'certainly... That is a fine restaurant, but I do hope you'll try our restaurant as well tonight, because you'll want to stay again tomorrow night." She was right. (We'd been to another hotel in Delhi which thoroughly and curtly dissuaded us from making outside reservations, and in fact informed us (deceptively) that the restaurant we wished to reserve didn't take reservations. Gori's method was far better... and much appreciated! The gift shop was small, but well stocked with the most perfect souvenirs and curios of the highest quality and fair prices. The gentlemen manning the shop were charming and didn't pressure us in the slightest.
There were charming paper kites hanging in most of the trees, from the 'kite wars' that the local neighborhood boys apparently have; almost looking like ornaments that had been intentionally placed. The door man instructed me how to say kite (patang), so I could purchase a few in a nearby local market. The immediate neighborhood, although not touristy in any way shape or form, seemed a little daunting at first. One little boy named 'Vidit', around age 12, was thrilled to help me find a kite shop and show me how to string up a kite. He wouldn't let me buy him one and insisted I was a guest in his country and it was his pleasure. So... not only the hotel was welcoming... but the immediate neighborhood as well. (I also got a haircut and a shave at a local barber kiosk. Altogether the hospitality of Gori, the other staff at Samode Havelli and the residents of Jaipur was a highlight of our two weeks in India. The next time I return, I shall stay much longer!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Simply put, we loved Samode Haveli. From reception to checkout, we had nothing but excellent experiences and service. It was nice to stay in a smallish historic building that has been updated with modern bathroom necessities and electronics (free wi-fi!) yet still maintains its character and soul! Since the owners live on-property, everything is kept tip-top and staff attention is superb. We were upgraded to one of the suites, and it was large and atmospheric. We loved our poster bed! The pool area is lined with day beds and chaise lounges, a perfect way to unwind with a beer from the pool bar and watching the kites and sunset. And the old city is just outside the hotel's door. Step out, and you're in the middle of the old city...walk one way and you have touristic shops, walk the other way and you're surrounded by friendly shops catering to locals. Our first dinner outside in the courtyard restaurant was superb with live Indian musicians. We liked it so much that we ate there every night of our stay! No need to leave...that's how we felt. Other pluses...breakfast in the lovely historic dining room, the hotel's shop which has the very best of Indian handicrafts at fair prices. Just writing this review reminds us that we want to return, soon!

Room Tip: Get a historic room with a view of the gardens and, if lucky, of the old town
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hekili98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a unique experience that we would love to repeat ... Every single night. Perfect place with perfect service and also perfect restaurant. We had the chance to sleep in the maharadja s room and I honestly felt as a maharadja for this night. An unforgettable experience !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We love our stay in Samode, from the beginning to the end.
the staff were really great and helpful.
the two rooms were fantastic and beautifully decorated.
the dinners and breakfasts in the courtyard were delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's like jumping into the past, and experience a wonderful palace in Jaipur. The heritage hotel is wonderful, rooms are spacious, very clean and fully equipped. The restaurant is good (excellent breakfast), and common areas are wonderful. Perfect location to visit jaipur during the day, and detox at the pool in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.5 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
5.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
694 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#18 of 383 in Jaipur
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 383 in Jaipur
1,919 reviews
2.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
3.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#17 of 383 in Jaipur
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $156 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing