We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far, the best place in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samode Haveli to your Saves list
Samode Haveli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 331 Hotels in Jaipur
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“By far, the best place in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We loved this hotel. From the minute you walk in, you know you're somewhere special. The building has been lovingly restored from top to bottom, and contrary to what other reviewers say, the service is terrific. We had 3 rooms, all very different. The character in the rooms takes you back to a day when this could have truly been a part of Indian history. I was lucky enough to be in a room with archways and color that was truly astonishing.

The food at the hotel was very good and on par with some of the great restaurants we ate at in India. Lots of choices, and both the outside area and the dining room options were difficult to decide on where to eat. The dining room as so full of character and details, that we loved being in there. But the patio space was set up so well with outdoor heaters and candles overlooking the haveli's great details.

I suppose it all depends on what room you actually get, but with 3 different rooms in our groups party, we loved them all, especially the ones in the old part. Grand suites were less interesting, but they were enormous.

Don't hesitate. Stay at this Samode Hotel. The pool will take your breath away and you'll find yourself lost in the corridors around the place thinking about the history. It's clean, friendly and the way every Indian hotel should be. Authentic and restored with class.

Room Tip: Go for a suite in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceman003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
toronto ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Samode Haveli for 3 days in mid December. The dining room and pool area are very nice but we were less pleased with other aspects of our stay. Overall we rate it as the least satisfactory of the 5 hotel properties we stayed in during our trip to this part of India. The food generally was weak with exceptionally poor breakfast. We stayed in a grand heritage room and, unlike the pictures of other rooms we have seen on tripadvisor, was low in character although decent in size. The feature of the hotel which most upset us was the theft of a necklace from the room. Take care to place all valuables in the safe. We did not for a one hour period when we were out for dinner and the necklace was stolen. Finally although others have mentioned that the property is a haven in the middle of a busy marketplace it is not located in a particularly good location. As two women we felt somewhat conspicuous and a little unsafe, a feeling we didnt experience elsewhere even when we were off the beaten path.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank borntotravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We very much enjoyed our three nights stay at the Samode Haveli. Our rooms were located in the new annex and was fairly large. Both also had had their own private terraces. But for a more authentic experience, request a room in the original building. The courtyard is gorgeous lit up at night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. We had the special Samode roast lamb that you need to preorder on two of the nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed her for 2 nights as part of our tour of northern India, it is a great hotel with real character, the courtyard where dinner or breakfast can be served is wonderful as is the beautifully painted dining room. We stayed in a suite in the old part of the hotel which was enormous and like a maze to get to it, it was a little plain in comparison to some of the rooms on the website, but didn't really detract from our stay. The hotel is full of nooks and crannies with old furniture or inner courtyards and the pool was a lovely setting for a pre dinner drink in the evening. As it is inside the city walls it is pretty central if you want to go out and eat in the evening. The staff and service was pleasant but I wouldn't say exceptional in comparison to some of the other hotels we stayed in. Nether the less an enjoyable stay and I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were spoilt by the staff here , the food was excellent and the hotel decor from another world definately the best hotel in Jaipur, a great place to visit all the sights from , the suites are wonderful and all different ,the dining room is real old India and the outside courtyard was cosy even in freezing January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quintaSimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

During a stay in Jaipur spend 2 nights in the Samode Haveli hotel.
It was a nice experience.
We stayed in the 'new wing' (being a -more recent- add-on next to the old building).
The reception area is small but nice and 'real indian' (giving on an interior court).
The swimming pool area and the swimming pool are nice (with the bar nearby). This was also a nice area to sit and have a drink after dinner at night.

Our room was of a very decent size and everything was working perfectly well but given that it was located in the new wing it did not have that much of 'indian charm' to it (compared to the old building).
Breakfast -weather permitting being served in the interior court of the hotel- is adequate but service could be improved.
Dinner - equally served in the interior court - is equally adequate but service could be improved.

All in all a nice experience in Jaipur and happy to have lived the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very kind woman who offered us tea in the courtyard. It was nice to enjoy a little downtime after our drive from Agra. We were shown to our room - as we walked up it looked like the door to a hobbit house - -with a big latch and lock and door frame where you needed to duck your head to enter. Once inside the room was literally a masterpiece. Mirrored walls, murals - absolutely amazing. The one thing that didn't fit was a two person jacuzzi -- but don't JUDGE! We of course used it we had hoofed around Agra the day before so it was nice to enjoy a little bubbles. Doesn't fit the decor but does fit the need of tired travelers. Breakfast in the morning was a nice spread of both Indian and traditional breakfast items. Staff were attentive, we wish we would have stayed another day. One additional tip if you are doing Dehli, Agra, Jaipur, Dehli - we would recommend you fly the leg from Jaipur to Dehli - traffic was insane. Save yourself the trouble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikergirlzRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
3.0 mi away
Taj Rambagh Palace
Taj Rambagh Palace
#2 of 331 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#3 of 331 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 331 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#19 of 331 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 2,167 reviews
2.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Trident,  Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#18 of 331 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#