We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but...”
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samode Haveli
Ranked #12 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place but...”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location is great, close enough to hop into an auto to go shopping at Bazaar but secluded enough to screen you from the bustling city. The rooms were great bathrooms clean and spacious. The resturant is got lovely windows that allows you to enjoy the lovely garden view with birds and plants. But this place is deffinately not a visit in the Summer. The room was emitting heat from the floor and the walls. The A/c was stuck at 18 deg remote was not working. The Tv was placed so far from the A?C with pillars blocking the view from the bed and due to the heat, it was comfortable to sit at the seating provided. The bathroom was no better with heat coming out of the Bathtub too. Had to sleep in a funny angle to just to get the A/C to waft by you!!! This room I stayed in needed serious planning to counter the Heat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nidberera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    293
    64
    21
    14
See reviews for
216
635
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After a long drive from Agra we stayed in this lovely hotel, which is a real oasis. Great room - lots of stairs though. Great service, and a lovely and relaxing courtyard. The restaurant is in the most beautiful room - having breakfast in there is a real treat. The breakfast has not got the greatest variety, which could be better but good and very friendly service. The pool is lovely - with great bar service. Having a cocktail out there in the evening was gorgeous. Rooms are all individual and well furnished with air conditioning. Slept very well!. Great all round in the centre of town. do stay here - you'll probably love it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but go for the best you can afford as it will probably been even more in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for a few days and enjoyed it very much.

The haveli itself is 400+yrs old with a pretty courtyard where meals are served, a very colonial looking bar/lounge area and a good shop. Wifi is free in this area.

There are lots of rooms but we opted for the best room: the Sheesh Mahal suite or mirrored room reserved for the Maharaja.

This is THE room that had we not been staying in would have had some of its doors open for guests to view as its a massive part of the hotels heritage.

It is huge with pillars and walls all mirrored and adorned with original gold plated framed paintings as far as the eye can see.

The ceilings are quite low and it is dark with no natural windows so bear that in mind. If you want mod cons and a view or balcony don't book this room!

The bed was huge and really comfortable. It does have all the other things: tv/dvd/minibar/AC/shower but they are slightly dated and faded but to be honest I didn't care as to strip this room of any of its glory and turn it into just another room would have been sacrilege.

The hotel pool is lovely with a nice bar attached and a good ayuverdic spa.

Of all the places we stayed this was probably the least exclusive and had the most families with children so the pool was noisy and busy and they were eating their pizzas and chips at night. Nothing against kids, its just had a different feel but clearly a great option if you have children.

The restaurant had a good selection of indian and international dishes and although the dinner was great (although quite pricey) the breakfast was very disappointing and I'd say the worse we'd come across.

I felt slightly let down by the front desk and travel desk too.

In some hotels it seems unless you book their trips and use their cars and opt to go alone and use tuk tuks, they get irritated. We asked what there was to do at night and they said nothing (ie.stay in and eat in our restaurant). We ventured out the next night and were taken to beautiful historic sites lit up at night which any photo fanatic would love.

Thanks only to tuk tuk drivers we also saw an elephant home, monkey temple and flower market : none of which the hotel mentioned.

It was also the Rama Festival one night with fasting finally over and thanks to our tuk tuk guy who pointed out a celebration street we had the BEST experience. A Rio style carnival with floats, processions of beautifully dressed elephants and camels, children and bands. Why would the hotel NOT tell its guests about something like this?

We were also due to drive to Ranthambore the next morning and ddespite checking many many times how long the driver would take, we were absolutely assured it would take 3hrs. 3.5hrs max accounting for bad traffic. We made it really clear we'd need to be on the safe side as we had a safari pre-booked which if we missed they would not wait for. Given that this was the ONLY reason we were going to Ranthambore I'd be fuming if we missed it due to bad planning on their part.

The journey took 4.5hrs and that was only because we stressed the driver into driving fast to get us there otherwise I reckon it wouldve taken 5hrs+

We made the safari but ONLY because the safari was running an hour late!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at this property. They upgraded our room upon arrival and offered us complimentary masala chai ( Indian Tea ). That night we ate at the hotel's restaurant candle lit courtyard which is very romantic. They even had a complimentary cake for us because it was our 19th anniversary. Overall we had a great stay though the price was a bit too high.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The staff are here are so friendly and courteous, nothing ever too much trouble.
Super swimming pool with poolside bar.
Very good choice of food all times of the day.
All rooms are individual and air-conditioned, very comfortable and well furnished.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brigsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe ,Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Samode Haveli ,Jaipur

In April 2012, whilst on a 10 day tour in Central India, I had a fascinating and memorable 2 night experience staying in this Luxury Heritage Hotel tucked away inside the old city walls of Jaipur.

After a week of visiting Central India on a escorted private tour by Castle and king, Tour Operators of New Delhi I had enjoyed every possible type of luxury hotel. This unique establishment a former Rajasthan Mansion house was completely different and most enjoyable. The rooms were former royal staterooms with authentic carvings and photographs of the royals who lived there. I slept like a King for two nights.

The food, served in an open courtyard was fabulous and the service top class. The pool was private and peaceful gardens were available at the rear.

The hotel was just right as a contrast to interesting but hectic street life of Jaipur.

Preti and Buni the two senior local ladies who meet and greet guests could not have done more to make my visit perfect. Thank you.

Thank you also to Arvind of Castle and King for suggesting this magnificent Hotel,

Tony

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor but to the best of my knowledge all the rooms are original from the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 nights here. We were travelling to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday and my brother's recent marriage.
On arrival we were all upgraded to the most amazing rooms and the Honeymoon suite allocated to my brother, was spectacular.
The hotel is an oasis of calm surrounded by the business of Jaipur. The décor made it feel like a family palace (as it once was) and there were lovely personal touches. The breakfast room was just amazing.
The food in the restaurant was really good and a good choice of curry and more international dishes.
The staff were very helpful and really made a fuss of my mum and brother.
We would definitely stay here again, should we go back to Jaipur - really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank supernurse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
3.5 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
1.7 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 386 in Jaipur
1,877 reviews
3.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Property: Samode Haveli
Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing